Fresh is Best

2 Comments

So, my mom and I decided to meet for lunch yesterday.  I typically eat lunch between noon and 12:30, but since we were having a late lunch (not until 1:30), I was in desperate need of a healthy snack (those office doughnuts were so tempting though!).  Luckily I resisted temptation (reluctantly!) and had a Luna Bar that I had stashed in my desk drawer, and  some carrots and snap peas with homemade sun-dried tomato hummus that I brought from home.

If you’re wondering about the hummus, I combined one can of partially drained chickpeas, tahini, fresh lemon juice, a tiny bit of olive oil, 2 garlic cloves, sun-dried tomatoes and sea salt in the blender (FYI…I didn’t measure anything).  Oh yeah…I made the hummus on Monday and I think it tastes even better once it sits in the fridge a day or two to let the flavors come together.  It turned out super delicious!

Snack

Despite my snacks, by the time 1:30 rolled around, I was completely famished.  We decided to go to the local fish market and grill that we went to a few weeks ago.  Luckily, the restaurant wasn’t too busy, so our food came quickly!

My lunch…the fish tacos (I’ve been on a fish kick lately)!  It was two tortillas stuffed with fish, napa cabbage slaw, avocado and mango salsa with baked sweet potato fries.  Yummy!!!!  I’m not sure what type of fish were in the tacos, but it was a white fish that had a mild flavor.

Lunch

This meal was so fresh and I loved how colorful it was.  I enjoyed every bite!  This restaurant is def starting to become my favorite lunch spot in the area.  This is my 3rd visit there.   I think they’re starting to get to know us now…lol!

2 thoughts on “Fresh is Best

  1. I love colorful foods…looks very appetizing! Love lunch dates,too! (=

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,247 other followers