Weekend Recap

10 Comments

Monday is here again!  I can’t believe it…this weekend just flew by (it seems like every weekend does that lately)!  Despite the fact that I blinked my eyes and it was over, it was an awesome weekend and a great time to celebrate our mom’s.

On Saturday, we celebrated Mother’s Day a little early and went to visit my parents.  My brother, Russ and his girlfriend, Crista, and her dad were there too.  I was so excited to go because we hadn’t been there in a while, so this was the perfect time to get together.  On our way there, it literally rained cats and dogs.  It was pouring so bad, we could barely see, but luckily that didn’t last too long and we got there safe and sound.

Russ made ribs for dinner…yummy!  I did a two-hour Zumba class in the a.m., so it’s ok to cheat every once in a while, right? ;-)  We don’t eat them often, but let me just say that ribs are my fav!

Russ

Russ smoked them first then finished them off in the oven.  They were amazing, and it was the consensus that these were the best yet!

Ribs in Oven

The rest of dinner…Russ made coleslaw and my mom made carrots, roasted brussel sprouts (so good!) and fresh asparagus from the garden.  Justin and I brought the pasta salad.  So I’m thinking all the veggies counter-act the unhealthy stuff…wishful thinking, right? lol.  Anyway, I had to have a little of everything!

Dinner

After dinner, the sun came out for a little while, so this was the perfect time to hop in the car and go to the local nursery to get some flowers.  Aren’t they so pretty?

flowers

Then it was time for dessert…

Dessert

I made Peanut Butter Coffee Cake with Chocolate Chip Streusel (you must check out this recipe!).  Wow…was this amazing and super easy to make!  It was a huge hit with the family!  My brother, who rarely eats sweets, even had a piece and loved it!  Crista made Sinless Samoas.  These were so good too!  My mom and I were hooked (I ate a couple of these)!

What an awesome day! :-)

Yesterday, the weather was much nicer.  It was quite breezy, but at least the sun was shining and there was a beautiful blue sky (not a cloud to be seen).  We didn’t have any formal Mother’s Day plans, so since it was sooooo nice out, my mother-in-law came over and she, Justin and I took a long walk to the park.  It was so nice to get out and enjoy the weather, and catch-up with Justin’s mom.

We didn’t eat anything too exciting for dinner, so I didn’t snap any pics, but here is what I ate for dessert (Justin wasn’t into it)…

ice cream

This is Vanilla Avocado Banana Ice Cream (again, you must check this recipe out).  OMG…was this delish!  It’s super creamy and flavorful (I made it non-dairy by using unsweetened coconut milk).  All ingredients go into the blender and you’re done.  No ice cream maker required!  I think I’m in love…lol!

Well…that’s it for now.  Hope you all had a good and relaxing weekend! :-)

10 thoughts on “Weekend Recap

  1. Thanks again for trying my avocado ice cream recipe and linking up! Ironically (and I told this to Dorothy) I have a cake recipe coming that’s a PB/coffecake/streusel that you’ll probably like too :)

  2. I had such a wonderful time on Saturday! It was great seeing you guys and wow was the food amazing! Russ really outdid himself with those ribs and I honestly could have eaten that entire cake. It was AMAZING! That ice cream looks really good, too. I’ll have to give it a try.

  3. All of your veggies on that plate look awesome!! I LOVE carrots, brussel sprouts, asparagus, AND coleslaw! Yum :).

  4. I love ribs too but we rarely have them. One of our friends has a smoker and funny enough made some this weekend for us all to enjoy. They were amazinggggg

  5. That sounds like a lovely weekend with the family. Food, fun and flowers. Ribs are my Hubby’s favorite too. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,259 other followers