Our Weekend in PA Dutch Country – Day 1

10 Comments

Happy Monday!  Hope everyone had a wonderful weekend!

Justin and I spent our weekend in Lancaster County, PA.  This long weekend getaway had been planned for months now, and we were so excited that it was finally here.  We were in desperate need to get away from work for a few days and just have time to relax.

We were staying at the Swiss Woods Bed & Breakfast Inn (more pics below).  We had previously stayed at this B & B back in October and loved it so much, we decided to go back.

B&B

Check-in wasn’t until 3 p.m., so we had some stops planned along the way.  We left for our trip Thursday a.m.  It was a rainy start and we were hoping the weather would clear up by the time we get there, as we had a lot of outdoor activities planned.  It was about a 2 hour drive, and luckily, by the time we got to our first stop, the rain stopped and the weather started to clear-up.  Hooray!!

Our first stop…Kitchen Kettle Village in Intercourse, PA (quite a name for a town, huh!?!).  It’s a quaint little town with lots of shops.  Our favorite shop is the Canning Kitchen where they have homemade canned and baked goods.  I picked up some raw honey (my fav!), a few grilling sauces for us, and some blueberry and blackberry preserves for my mom.

KKV

After the Canning Kitchen we were more than ready for lunch, so we headed for The Kling House Restaurant.  I ordered the ginger chicken wrap, which had ginger chicken, fried noodles, field greens, peanut vinaigrette, sliced almonds & snow pea shoots in a spinach wrap.

Wrap

I was pretty excited when I got my wrap, but was thoroughly disappointed once I started eating it.  It was so bland and somewhat unappetizing.  It seemed like the fried noodles were stale.  I couldn’t even finish it. :-(  Luckily, I had a Luna bar to hold me over until dinner.  Justin, on the other hand, was more satisfied with his meal…a BLT sandwich.

After lunch, we headed for our 2nd stop…the Strasburg Railroad.

EngineTrain

We took a 45 minute ride on an old steam engine train through the beautiful countryside.  It was so peaceful and beautiful…

IMG_5598Train Viewfarm

After the train ride, it was time to head for the Swiss Woods B & B.  It’s such a beautiful and quaint getaway…

B&BB&B1B&B2

Our room was so nice!  Look at the canopy bed…!

IMG_5610

After unpacking and relaxing a bit, we headed out for dinner to the General Sutter Inn in Lititz, PA.  It was such a nice night, so we decided to sit out on the patio, and it just so happened that there was a band playing too.

I was super hungry from not eating much for lunch, so I ordered a turkey burger with brie, a portobello mushroom and cranberry sauce, and a side of sweet potato fries and Justin got a Po-Boy with fries.  I was excited for this meal…

IMG_5617

It was delicious!  You may notice that there is no top to my burger…well, the waitress dropped it on the ground by accident while bringing it to me.  Oooops!  At least she brought me a replacement! :-)

After dinner, we decided to walk in the park nearby the restaurant.  It was so nice…

Pond1Pond

By this time, my allergies were driving me crazy and I couldn’t stop sneezing, so we went back to the B & B and called it a night.

All in all, it was a great start to our trip!  More to come…

10 thoughts on “Our Weekend in PA Dutch Country – Day 1

  1. Looks like you guys had a wonderful trip! I can’t wait to hear more! What beautiful and quaint places! So pretty!

  2. How fun! That bed and breakfast looks beautiful!

  3. Sounds like so much fun! We need to take a little weekend getaway – I’m desperate for a mini break / vacation! lol.

  4. It sounds like you had a great trip! Those sweet potato fries look killer.

  5. That B&B looks so adorable! What a great weekend you must have had. I totally understand needing to get away- I’m ridiculously excited for a little trip to California I have coming up :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,277 other followers