Power Foods Friday – Pomegranates

15 Comments

Yay for Friday!! :-)  I’m especially excited to start this weekend because Justin is coming home today from being away on business all week, and on Sunday we’re going to see Cirque du Soleil!

Totem (Cirque du Soleil)

Photo Credit: Wikipedia

Yippie!!!  I’m super excited!!!!  I’ve always wanted to go!!!  I can’t wait to tell you all about it next week!

Okay…back to topic.  So since I started the blog, I seemed to have been posting about power foods on Fridays (not intentional!), so I think from now on, I’m going to start calling these posts Power Foods Friday.  All the foods I post about on these Fridays are ones that I eat regularly and are my favs!  They may be your favs too, so I’ll do the research and let you know what their health benefits are…sound good?  Oh yeah…if they’re any foods in particular you want to know about, let me know and I’ll look them up and do a post on them.

Lets get started on today’s fav…pomegranates.

Pomegranate

Photo Credit: Wikipedia

I LOVE pomegranates!!!  The seeds are absolutely beautiful…they’re like little red jewels.  They’re sooooo juicy and full of flavor, but they also have some great health benefits…yes!!!

  • They are a low-calorie fruit that are high in fiber, which can help with weight management, as fiber keeps you fuller for a longer period of time.
  • They are chocked full of vitamin C and vitamin K.
  • They are a good source of antioxidants.
  • They may help protect you from certain types of heart disease.
  • They may also help reduce the build-up of artery-clogging plaque and possibly lower your levels of LDL or “bad”  cholesterol.

Cut Pomegranate

I think that sometimes people shy away from pomegranates because they aren’t sure of the best/easiest way to get to those delicious seeds.  Well…here’s my tip…cut about a 1/4 inch off the top and bottom of pomegranate.  Then with a sharp knife, make four scores around the outside of the pomegranate (only cut deep enough to get through the red outer lining until you hit the pith or white part just underneath the skin).  Submerge the pomegranate in a large bowl of cool water and gently pry apart the sections and seeds with your fingers.  The seeds will fall to the bottom and the membrane will float to the top.  Once you’re done stripping the pomegranate seeds from the skin and membranes, skim the membranes from the top of the water and strain the seeds.  The juicy seeds tend to stain (clothes, counter-top, etc.) easily, so by removing the seeds under the water helps keep the pomegranate juice contained.

Eat immediately or store in an airtight container for 2-3 days in the fridge.

References:

Health Benefits of Pomegranate Fruit by Alicia Miller

Pomegranate from Wikipedia

15 thoughts on “Power Foods Friday – Pomegranates

  1. That’s a great method for removing the seeds – thanks for sharing! :)

  2. We saw a Cirque du Soleil show a year or two ago while on vacation – so so so cool! You’re going to love it!! I was seriously fascinated the whole time and even my husband liked it (and he hates any type of “shows” or theater type things)! lol

  3. Yay for coming home from a business trip! My husband is travelling a lot this year for work and it really stinks so I feel ya!

    I love pomegranates. I always feel so healthy when I am eating them or drinking pom juice.

    I use the method you describe to cut up my poms but I still managed to stain our kitchen walls with squirting jucie! Oops!

    • Yes…it’s so hard! He’s in flight now, so I’ll see him when I get home from work. Yay!

      Yeah…that pomegranate juice really makes a mess. It do whatever I can not to get it everywhere, but it’s hard!

  4. Cirque! You’re going to love it :D I’ve seen a handful of shows on my trips to Vegas, and I’ve loved them every time. Seriously crazy to imagine that people can actually move like that. Definitely awe-inspiring.

    It’s been a while since I’ve had pomegranates… They usually only really come out around here during the fall time, and then I’m usually glued to apples or pears. I do like them though… as long as someone else does the peeling ;)

    • I’m sure I will! Sunday can’t get here fast enought! :-)

      I love apples and pears, especially apples! I’d rather not have to worry about th peeling either, but they taste so good it’s worth it!

  5. I definitely don’t eat enough pomegranate but absolutely love them! so glad I came across your lovely blog xxx

  6. Pingback: Weekend Recap |

  7. Yay for your hubby coming home and yay for Cirque du Soleil!! I hope you had a blast! And I love pomegranates!

  8. Learning how to cut/prepare a pomegranate without making a huge mess changed my life! They’re so tasty!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,276 other followers