Weekend Recap

11 Comments

Justin’s back from his business trip…yay!  We were a bit concerned on Friday that his flight would be cancelled because of the  tropical storm, but luckily that didn’t happen!.  His flight got in late afternoon and I decided to leave work a little early, so I could be there when he got home.  Justin was tired, it was literally raining cats and dogs and I had a super busy work week, so we had leftovers for dinner and enjoyed a relaxing evening.  We watched a movie, I browsed around on the Internet (specifically Pinterest!)…it was great!

So my Friday evening Internet browsing lead me to the the discovery of The Fitnessista and found some great looking recipes.  The one that caught my eye was this recipe for Breakfast Cookie Dough Cereal.  My eyes light up whenever I hear/see anything cookie dough related, so naturally I had to try it out for breakfast Saturday a.m.  Well…let me just say, I loved it SO much that I had it for breakfast Saturday AND Sunday a.m.  Mmmmmm…

Oatmeal Breakfast

I used my favorite PlantFusion vanilla protein powder, crunchy peanut butter, sweetened it with agave and topped it off with chia seeds, unsweetened coconut flakes and organic dried cranberries. My milk of choice was unsweetened coconut milk.  OMG…was it deeeelicious!  I could probably eat this all the time….actually I know I could! :-)

After breakfast, I was off to Zumba.  Usually on Saturday mornings, I double up and go to the regular Zumba class and right after is the sculpting classs.  What a workout!  I was sweating so much, I had to change shirts in between classes (thanks goodness I had brought an extra!).   But it was tons of fun and I know I got a great workout because I’m still feeling it today!

Justin was hungry for lunch when I got back, so I made his favorite one pot meal…Creamy Brown Rice, Chicken & Spinach Dinner.  I make this meal quite often.  It’s super easy to whip up and tastes delicious!  I follow the recipe exactly, except I use fat free zesty Italian dressing instead of the Italian Roasted Red Pepper Dressing to help cut some calories.

Brown Rice Lunch

We didn’t have any plans for Saturday either, so we just took it easy and enjoyed the fact that we didn’t have to go anywhere or do anything.  It seems like we’re always running around on weekends, so not having anything to do was a nice change of pace!

For dinner I made a turkey meatloaf (will post the recipe later today).  For the sides, I made roasted eggplant combined with sauteed onion, garlic and tomatoes and I also made barley with sauteed onion and garlic.  Don’t mind the meatloaf pile…the first piece is always hard to get out whole. ;-)

Saturday Dinner

After dinner, Justin and I were craving a little something sweet.  I was feeling pretty tired and my muscles were screaming from my a.m. Zumba fest, so I didn’t feel like doing much baking, but I remembered I had found a recipe for Two Minute Pumpkin Pie on Pinterest a couple of weeks ago.  I’m a huge pumpkin fan and eat it pretty much all year round, so this recipe sounded like a winner.  Plus, it was exactly what I had in mind…not too many ingredients and not too much work!  You combine all ingredients in a bowl and pop into the microwave…easy peazy!

It turned out great!  It tasted like pumpkin pie (minus the crust) and had a custard-like texture (and it’s paleo).  I added some cinnamon, nutmeg and a touch more honey.  Yum!

Pumpkin

Sunday was an exciting day for me because, as mentioned on Friday’s, we were going to see Cirque du Soleil!  On Valentine’s Day, Justin had surprised me with tickets to go see the newest show called Totem, and after waiting for what felt like an eternity, we were finally going!

Totem (Cirque du Soleil)

Photo credit: Wikipedia

The show started at 1 p.m., but we left the house on the early side because it was going to take about 1 1/2 hours to get there and we didn’t know how traffic would be.  Traffic on the highway wasn’t the issue…it was getting into the parking lot that ended up being the problem.  Ugh!  There were so many cars being funneled into a small area, but we found a parking spot and quickly made our way to our seats.

Unfortunately, we weren’t allowed to take pics once we got into the tent, but here’s a look at the tent from the outside…

Tent

I don’t want to give too much away in the event that you decide to go see the show (which I highly recommend!), but Totem is based on the evolution of the human species (from the original amphibious state to the ultimate desire to fly), which is performed through acrobatics and interpretive dance with very little dialogue.

So my thoughts on the show…AMAZING!  We had front row seats (a perfect view) and it was just spectacular!  Justin’s isn’t typically into theatrical type shows, but he was even into it.  The acrobatics were truly mesmerizing…I can’t believe the performers were even doing some of the things they were doing.  I found myself holding my breath in amazement! Being in the front row was an experience in and of itself.  Usually in any type of theatrical performance, we are sitting farther away, but the performers were so close, we could see every facial expression, which made the show and their performances so much more real.  Overall, both Justin and I had such a great time, I’m already looking into when we can go again! ;-)

Have you ever been to Cirque do Soleil?

Did you do anything fun over the weekend?

11 thoughts on “Weekend Recap

  1. Ooh I’ve never been to cirque du soleil but it’s definitely on my ‘must-see’ list – I don’t think of myself as a ‘circus-y’ type person but have heard so many positive things about the show, I’ve got to try it out! Also on my list of things-to-try is the 2 minute pumpkin pie, mmm!

  2. My parents went to cirque du soleil last summer and said it was something that needs to be on my bucket list! I went out of town for a high school leadership conference this weekend which was really fun, but I had no access to the internet! Missed reading your blog!

  3. Meatloaf is so hard to get out of the pan! And in most cases, it never looks very pretty anyways. All that matters is that it tastes good, right? ;)

  4. mmm all of those food pictures are making me hungry! I wanna try that pumpkin pie recipe! I used to watch this show on Cirque Du Soleil and I always wanted to see one of their shows live. Glad you guys had a great time!

  5. You’re definitely right – cookie dough anything is pretty much a winner in my books. I still haven’t tried Fitnessista’s cookie dough cereal, but based on how many people rave about it, I can imagine it tastes pretty amazing. And speaking of amazing, it’s so great to hear tht you enjoyed Cirque! And I know, right?? Like HOW do peple actually move that way?? one of the best cirque shows I’ve ever seen was O in Vegas, and I’m seriously thinking about going to see it again when I’m there this summer… it was just that good.

    • Oh you have to give it a try! I had it again for breakfast this a.m. It’s super addicting!

      As far as Cirque…I asked myself the very same question the whole time I watched the show! Crazy! I can’t wait to go again! :-)

  6. Pingback: Things I’m Loving Lately |

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,139 other followers