Calorie Explosion

25 Comments

Okay…I’m really so over this rainy weather!  It’s not even just a little bit of rain, it’s downpours.  When I was driving yesterday a.m., it literally looked like this…

English: rain

Photo credit: Wikipedia

I obviously didn’t take this photo because I was driving and couldn’t take a pic, but this is a pretty good representaion of how it was.  Ugh! When will it be like this again…!?!

Outdoors1

Okay…I know…enough complaining, right!?!

On to today’s topic…

This past Sunday I did an at-home workout because the Zumba studio is closed .  I had a lot of energy, so I wanted to do a workout that was super challenging and made me sweat.  So, I went through my pile of DVDs (I have a ton!) and came upon Calorie Explosion by The Firm.

Calorie Explosion

I hadn’t done this one in a while, but I remembered it to be pretty challenging.  Well lets just say, I remembered correctly…it was SO hard!  Jeesh!  I was sweating so much, I was dripping all over the floor and could barely walk up the stairs when I was done, but at least I know I got a good workout, right!?!

So, here’s a general breakdown of the DVD (check-out a short video clip here)…it runs about an hour-long, but it’s broken down into four 12-minute segments, so you can do the entire DVD or just pick the section(s) you want to do (I like this option).  It begins and ends with a short warm-up and cool down, and the four main segments are as follows:

Kick-Butt Athletic Drills

“Kick-Butt” is no lie!  This is a pretty intense segment and I’m always so glad when the 12 minutes end on this one!  You alternate between weight training and intense athletic drills.  I hate the football shuffle…so hard!

Explosive Power Moves

This segment definitely gets your heart pumping (actually all the segments do!), but this one in particular leaves me feeling breathless for sure.  It combines lower intensity sculpting moves with powerful cardio moves.

Cardio Kickboxing

Essentially, this segment is exactly like it sounds like.  No weights required!  There is lots of punches, jump rope, crescent kicks, knee chambers, hitch kicks (super hard!), round house chambers, etc.  I would have to say that the kickboxing is probably my favorite segment.  It’s a great way to let some aggression out, especially when you’ve had a stressful day!

High-Intensity Moves

This is a progressive segment done in sets of three.  You do short bursts of high intensity moves (with weights) with a short recovery after each set.  Each move starts off slowly then progressively gets more intense.  The 1st set focuses on form, the 2nd set focuses on speed and the 3rd set is the power set that should be as fast, if not faster, than the 2nd set.

**********************************

Another plus…you only need a pair of dumbbells (I use between 5-8 lbs depending on the exercise), and you don’t need a lot of room.  I wouldn’t characterize this DVD as a beginner workout.  Despite the modifications, the workout is super challenging and some days I can’t even do the whole thing (depending on my energy level), but it’s proven to be worthwhile purchase for me.

On the days that I do finish the whole DVD, I always feel a sense of accomplishment that I DID IT!  In the end, the pain and sweat are worth it!

Sore today, #strong tomorrow. #tribesports #fi...

Photo credit: Tribesports

**********************************

Have you tried The Firm workout DVDs?

What at-home workout DVDs are your favs?

25 thoughts on “Calorie Explosion

  1. I love Jillian Michaels DVDs. I started with the 30 Day Shred, like lots of other people, and it was really good. Now I’ve progressed to No More Trouble ZOnes (really tough!) and 6 week 6 pack. I really like DVDs for my days when I don’t have time to do something more like a long cycle, or on days when I don’t want to run :)

  2. I’m so sick of this weather too! Luckily I was home when it started pouring rain, but it would have been awful to be stuck in it. As for DVDs, it really depends on my mood. One of Jillian Michael’s I’ve done is good, one of Denise Austin, etc. I really like YogaDownload.com’s free yoga podcast though. Totally recommend it!

  3. It’s really pouring in Texas today too! I started a run and ended up back home around halfway through ugh! I do a lot of yoga workouts when I have to stay at home, but Jillian Michael’s is the best when I want a really hard workout!

  4. Can you believe that I’ve never tried any workout DVDs? I keep hearing really great things about Jillian Michael’s at-home workouts, btu I have yet to try one out. And on man… that rain is crazy. I was complaining about the sort of nasty weather that we’ve been having around these parts lately, but it’s nothing even close to that. Hopefully the weather acknowledges the fact that summer is in about a week or so!

    • I love workout DVDs. They’re a good back-up to have when the weather is so awful. You should def give one a try.

      There was a little sun here this a.m., but the clouds are starting to roll in again. So annoying!

  5. I’ve never tried the firm workout video, but it sounds like an amazing workout! and its soo rainy and dreary here too I just want the sun to come back out! i have so much more energy when its sunny. enjoy your day!

  6. Those workout videos sound awesome! I’ve never tried that particular one, but I’ve been doing some tone-it-up videos recently. I’m not super into workout DVDs but they definitely come in handy when I’m too lazy to go to the gym!

  7. I’ve never tried The Firm workouts but I’m a big fan of at-home workouts. My favs include Physique 57′s DVDs, anything by Jillian Michaels, Turbo Jam, and Les Mills Pump. I find DVDs are great, especially for people who say they don’t have time to workout. I was in a routine for 2 years where I would set my alarm for 6:50 am and be working out in my living room by 7 am!

    • I have a few Jillian Michaels DVDs and they’re great. Thanks for the other suggestions though! I’m going to look into them. I’ve been doing workout DVDs for years. They’re super convenient. It’s great to get into a routine! At least if you get your workout done in the a.m., you won’t have to worry about it for the rest of the day! :-)

  8. These DVDs sound awesome! Thanks for the suggestion!

  9. Hehe I personally think the sweatiest workouts are the best! Such a satisfying feeling afterwards :) A lot of workout DVDs are ‘below sweating level’ to be honest, and I sometimes think they are a bit of a waste – I once tried out a friend’s Davina McCall’s video and it felt more like airy fairy dance moves at one point – but I think you’re right and it all depends the level you’re at as something easy for one person is a real challenge for another. I used to love the Tae Bo videos/DVDs – partly for its harder sweatfest-inducing moves, but also for Billy Blank’s awesome co-ordinated spandex outfits ;) Hope the weather improves for you soon!

  10. I’m so sick of this rain too! On Friday it rained ALL day long!

    These DVDs sound awesome!

  11. I hear ya on the rain … the last few days it has been just constant downpours! I need to try a workout DVD … I feel like I’m in a workout rut lately – just so bored with everything.

  12. I think I would like to trade a day or two with you, because I really MISS THE RAIN! lol!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,240 other followers