Totally Random Bits of Info #1

44 Comments

It’s Monday again and it’s July 1st!!!  I don’t know how you feel, but what the heck happened to June!?!  Yikes, it went by quickly!

FYI…this post is on the random side and includes a little bit of everything…hope you don’t mind.  Guess I’m in just one of those moods today. ;-)  Oh yeah, I’ll apologize in advance for not having many pics.  For some reason I really wasn’t in the picture taking mood, and I’m ashamed to say I pretty much have NO pics of the weekend, so I’ll just write about it instead.

On Saturday, Justin and I got to spend time with our good friends and their new baby (so adorable!).  We try to get together as often as possible and when we do, we always have a blast!  After they left, Justin and I went to see fireworks!  Believe it or not, I haven’t seen fireworks in quite a long time, so this was a special treat for me, and they were amazing!

Fireworks

Sunday was fairly uneventful for us, but I did decide to go for a run!  This was my first real run since I did the Thanksgiving Turkey Trot (5k) last November.  I wanted to do a 5k to get ready for the Color Run in August, so Justin mapped it out for me.  I’ll get to the details of my run in a minute but before I went, Justin stumbled upon this pic while we were eating breakfast…

He so artfully captioned it as…”This is Going to Be Holly in a Little While!”  I couldn’t stop laughing and it pretty much captured how I felt after my run! ;-)

Okay, back to my run…I didn’t really have any major expectations.  I was hoping to clock-in at 30 minutes, but it ended up being just shy of 34 minutes.  I was okay with that given the fact that it was the first time I’ve run a long distance in quite a while.

The weather was overcast in our neck of the woods, but it was super humid, which made breathing a bit difficult.  I did pretty good the majority of the time but about 3/4 into the run, I really started to feel the exhaustion and my left knee was starting to ache a bit (not sure what that was all about).  My only real goal for this first run was NOT stopping and I’m happy to say I succeeded!

Running Quote{image source}

Overall, I’m happy with the results and am looking forward to running again to see if I can beat my original time!

********************************************

Okay, on to a little blogging inspiration…being new to the blog world, I’ve discovered some amazing blogs, inspirational posts and delicious must try recipes.  Since it’s July 1st, I felt it would be fun to link-up to some stand-out blog posts and recipes from the month of June.  So, here we go…

Diet/Body Image

The Perfect Diet for Everyone – Here Lisa discusses that, contrary to the title of the post, there is NO perfect diet for everyone.  Diet is based on the individual and most importantly, on what makes you healthy and happy.

For [body] Shame – Gina talks about body image, and the need to be happy and confident in your own skin.

Feel the Weight Don’t Fear the Weight – Cori writes about how the number on the scale shouldn’t define you.  Healthy living is all about balance.

Recipes

Healthier Sundaes (Whole Grain Peanut Butter Cookies + Peanut Butter Banana Ice Cream) – Okay…all I can say is this sounds seriously amazing and I NEED to try it asap!

Chewy Peanut Butter and Chocolate Cereal Bars – Ummm…yum!!

Crunchy Coconut Chicken Fingers with Peach Honey Mustard – Oh yes!!!

Other

Worry Free Friday – Lindsay discusses the things that keep us from pursuing our dreams, and provides suggestions to overcome those fears.

Dear High School Self – Victoria goes “back in time” to give advice to her high school self.

On Failure – Sara discusses failure in relation to fitness and everyday life.

********************************************

On to my final bit of random for the day…my Chocolate Mocha Protein Smoothie (inspired by and adapted from this recipe).  I made this one a.m. for breakfast and was instantly hooked.  It’s so smooth and chocolately!  I mean…I feel like I’m eating something really bad for you, but I’m not!  I promise…you’ll never even know that there are veggies in this.  Mmmm…so good!

Chocolate Mocha Protein Smoothie

Ingredients:

  • One banana
  • 1 cup of baby spinach
  • 1 carrot
  • 4 grape tomatoes
  • One scoop of PlantFusion vanilla protein powder (or a protein powder of your choice)
  • 2 tbsp powdered peanut butter
  • 3/4 of a tbsp instant coffee
  • 2 tbsp of unsweetened coco powder
  • 1 tsp honey or agave
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup of unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/4 cup water

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in blender.  Enjoy!

********************************************

Thanks for putting up with my randomness today! ;-) And now I’d love to know…

What did you do over the weekend?

What are your totally random bits of info?

What are your favorite blog posts and recipes from the month June?

44 thoughts on “Totally Random Bits of Info #1

  1. That cat picture is hilarious!
    On the running- I’d say not stopping is a pretty good goal :) You’re so inspiring- I might even go for a run in the rain in a few minutes! (after checking out those links, of course ;)

  2. Happy July to you and thanks for the shout out. Getting back into running is hard, but the first run is usually the hardest. You deserve major high fives for getting out there!

  3. I can’t wait to check out those blog posts! I’ve seen a few of them, but I love finding new ones! nice work on your run!! getting back into it is. not. easy. way to be! those cats are hilarious omg soo cute!

  4. I’m getting ready to do my 2nd Color Run in a few weeks! The awesome part of that run is that there’s no pressure to get it done fast, they don’t even time it. So just have fun and get as much color junk on you as possible! lol Stopping by from the SITS Summer community builder :)

  5. Yay for a cute weekend! I totally feel you on your run – it’s mostly a mind over matter thing and that’s awesome that you accomplished your goal of not stopping! The Color Run was a lot of fun for sure, that’s a good race to train for! I love reading blogs for all those good ideas! :) Have a fabulous day!

  6. I’ve been an awful blog reader the past several months. So I just now finally made my way over here to see what you’re all about and find not just one, but two links to my recipes! Thanks for linking to me. :)

    And what a fun sounding smoothie!

  7. I’m a new blogger as well, so this month I was excited to see Losingweightinthecity’s post below:

    http://losingweightinthecity.com/2013/06/make-your-blog-awesome-and-the-workout-i-hate/

    She is offering consulting services to help develop blogs. I was excited to see this because I may need that kind of service in the future and I love how she is making her blogging experience into a business.

    Love your smoothie recipe-I will be trying that for sure!

  8. I seriously had to do a double take when I saw tomatoes in the smoothie recipe. I’ve heard of spinach, but tomatoes and carrots are definitely new to me. I won’t complain as long as I can’t taste them though :P

    That quote about running is so, so true… and I hate that the part of my mind that wants to give up is usually the part that wins. Bah! That’s definitely something I need to work on.

  9. Awww I love that kitty picture! That’s basically me after legs day haha ;).

    Keep up the running! The first couple of runs are always the hardest, but you’ll get back into it quickly!

  10. I totally feel the same way about running! Give me a Zumba class any day and I’ll be happy! :) Good luck with your color run! That sounds fun!

  11. My cat does her own version of that pose when she wants attention, so I definitely laughed when I saw it! Good job on your run- I’m always in a mental battle with myself cause I’m really bad at focusing. Keep it up!

  12. You know, I don’t think I’ve seen fireworks in a really long time either! The weather has been so humid by us too … it puts me in such a bad mood haha I need to snap out of that!

  13. That picture of the kittens almost made me fall out of my chair laughing! Not good considering I’m at work! Great job running this weekend. The first time out is always the roughest.

  14. I love the cat picture! That is exactly how I feel after a long run! Way to go for your first run starting back up running again. I think starting is so hard!

  15. Haha. Those cats… :D

    Great-sounding smoothie! You are so adventurous with adding in the tomato. Most people just stick to the greens but I bet you can barely tell those little red guys are there.

  16. Those cats are adorable! I just got back from a run, but I could’ve used your bits of inspiration! I love all these random bits! I’m off to read your links!

  17. haha I love the cat picture!!

  18. random blog posts are my favorite! they capture everything!! And good job on the run. Slow and steady easing your way back. <3

  19. Look at those kitties! So cute!

  20. THIS YEAR… FLYING BYYYYYYYY LIGHTENING SPEED!! Freaking crazy!! I had so much more I wanted to accomplish, but no no, cannot think that way – there is so much more of 2013 and lots really has happened since Jan. 1! ;)

    Random Fact: Quercetin is a natural anti-histamine. If you’re allergic to cats &/or dogs… Take this and you will feel JUST FINE!

  21. Thanks for the shout out lovely! Appreciate it!
    And that smoothie recipe – oh my! You know I’m all over that one :)
    Getting back into the running groove can definitely be tough – well getting back into any workout groove. I can relate – but I’m glad you’re taking it slow and steady.

  22. Pingback: WIAW #4 — No Smoothie!?! |

  23. Pingback: Power Foods Friday + 4th Recap |

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,145 other followers