Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

41 Comments

I feel like its been a while since I posted a recipe, so I thought I’d share a favorite in our household…Slow Cooked Chicken Cacciatore.  Firstly, I must express how much I love using my slow cooker.  You throw all the ingredients in slow cooker in the a.m. and but the evening, you have a delicious dinner!  It certainly makes life so much easier, especially in this crazy hot weather when you don’t feel like using the oven or stove.

This recipe is super simple to put together, and with the exception of chopping some veggies, doesn’t require much preparation.  I like to serve the Chicken Cacciatore over brown rice, Bulgar wheat or whole wheat pasta.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Ingredients:

  • 1 pkg (about 2 lbs) chicken breasts
  • 4 cloves garlic (minced)
  • 1 pkg pre-sliced white mushrooms
  • ½ a large onion (sliced thin)
  • 1 green bell pepper (sliced thin)
  • 1 red bell pepper (sliced thin)
  • 1 cup dry red wine
  • 2 tsp Italian seasoning
  • Chopped fresh basil (5 leaves)
  • 1 jar (24 oz) Bertolli Organic Traditional Tomato & Basil Sauce
  • Sea salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Combine all ingredients (with the exception of the chicken) in a large bowl and mix well.  Place chicken breasts into slow cooker and top with sauce mixture.  Cook on low for 6 hours.

Remove chicken breasts from slow cooker and shred with two forks.  Place shredded chicken back into the slow cooker, mix well and cook on low for 1 more hour.

Recipe Adapted from Wegmans.

What are your favorite slow cooker recipes?

Do you use the slow cooker more in the winter or summertime? 

41 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

  1. What a great looking recipe! I might have to steal that. I always forget about my slow cooker in the summer. I feel like I use it a lot more in the fall/winter for chili, stews and stuff like that.

  2. YUM! i need a slow cooker in a serious way. after my old old old one broke i never got a new one, but i dont think its possible to get through another season without one.

  3. I LOVE the slow cooker!
    I have never had this before…does it taste spicy? I am not a spicy person so just curious!

  4. When we lived in the states I used our slow cooker all the time, however since living here… we don’t have one :( :(

  5. I’m kind of ashamed to admit that I have yet to invest in a slow cooker :? But it’s recipes like this that make me think it’s definitely going to happen this fall. Deeee-lish :D

  6. I hardly ever use our slow cooker, but I love the idea of it! Especially since I don’t get home from work until 8:30/9 most nights. I think I don’t use it because I haven’t seen a lot of vegetarian recipes out there, but I’m sure if I looked there are some great ones, and I could always adapt ones like yours to make them vegetarian! I bet Slow Cooker Chickpea Cacciatore would be fantastic! :)

    • Wow, what a long day!!! Oh yes, Slow Cooker Chickpea Cacciatore would be awesome! I don’t think I have any vegetarian slow cooker recipes, but if I come across any, I’ll let you know.

  7. Yum! I love anything in the slow cooker. Makes life so much easier!

  8. Soooo I bought a crock pot a while ago and it’s still in the box… I bought a top of the line beauty and haven’t even used it. It was a dumb purchase, after all, considering I don’t eat meat. :) That recipe does look yummy though, and I guess I could make a soup with veggies or something… Haha

  9. My Grandma gave me a crock pot last week, and I still haven’t made anything! It’s a rainy day here which seems like perfect slow cooker weather, right? I just bookmarked this! Yummy! Perfect for cool fall nights too! :)

  10. If you can make it in a crockpot…then I am pretty much guaranteed to love it! And al the ingredients are very reasonable and easy to buy or mostly likely already have on hand :) Looks delicious.

  11. Yum! This cacciatore looks great! Especially because it’s made in the handy crockpot! I’ve actually never tried cacciatore, but I so want to!

  12. This recipe is drool-worthy! I love slow cooker recipes! There is nothing better than coming home from work/gym with dinner ready and waiting!

  13. I love using my slow cooker! This recipe sounds amazing, I love mushrooms and bell peppers. I think I use my slow cooker more in the winter but it still makes some appearances in the summer.

  14. Mhmm that recipe looks so good! I have a slow cooker, but don’t really use it too often just from lack of recipes! This one will be going in my to-do pile! Thanks, love :)

  15. My fav kitchen appliance – the slow cooker!…I will have to try this in the fall

  16. So simple yet looks so flavorful.
    I don’t have a slow cooker, it’s on my ‘to buy’ list. The more I see slow cooker recipes, I’m tempted to get one soon.

  17. Mmmmm I feel like I can smell this just by reading the recipe! I’ve been making a lot of wintery things lately….my cravings have been for comforting wintery foods for some reason. I only have an itty bitty slow cooker, but I’d love to upgrade so I’d use it more often! This looks fab :)

  18. Since I start back to work tomorrow from being on summer vacation, I’m putting this on the “to make” list. Slow-cooker recipes are perfect for weeknight meals!

  19. Oh my goodness – yum! This looks like an amazing crockpot recipe :) I tend to use mine more in the winter months but it makes sense to use it in the summer so you don’t have to turn the oven on!

  20. As a vegetarian, I rarely use a slow cooker but I think meals like this are great for easy weeknight meals! I’m also ashamed to admit I never tried Chicken Cacciatore and I’m part Italian! Such a shame. Maybe I’ll recreate it with faux chicken. ;)

  21. I love the slower cooker! I use it more in the winter; I think a lot of crock pot meals just feel more “wintery.” This one looks delicious!

  22. I finally (finally!) got a slow-cooker, and can’t wait to try it. It’s always hot where I live, so I thought I wouldn’t use it, until someone pointed out the same point you made, Holly – that it’s actually better to use a slow cooker when it’s hot out – no need to heat up the kitchen! This is going on my list of recipes to try!

  23. Pingback: Slow Cooker Chicken with Cashews | serves4

  24. Pingback: . link love 8/4 . | . running with spoons .

  25. Pingback: Slow Cooker Recipe: Thai Peanut Chicken | Simply M.D.B.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,277 other followers