A Day at the Beach

46 Comments

Happy Tuesday friends!!

Since Justin and I took the day off of work yesterday, and the weather was amazingly perfect, we decided to go to the beach!  Believe it or not, this was our first beach trip of the season, so I was psyched.

Can I just say…I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the beach!!!  It’s my absolute favorite place to go.  It’s SO relaxing and even though I don’t go in the water (I’m NOT a good swimmer and I’m afraid of deep water), I enjoy relaxing on the beach taking in the views, getting some sun and listening to the waves.  It’s truly wonderful and I feel at peace when I’m there!

Justin and I were on the beach by 9:15 a.m. and it was empty, so we could sit anywhere our little hearts desired.

IMG_6298

Check out our new beach chairs and umbrella.  We just bought them at Lowe’s on Sunday.  We always borrow my in-laws stuff, so we figured it was about time to get our own.

IMG_6299

I got to wear my new floppy hat too!  ;-)

IMG_6301

I stuck my feet in the water and it was freezing…brrrr!

IMG_6304IMG_6306

Breakfast on the beach…Gina’s breakfast cookie.  Yum!!

IMG_6302

Someone started a sand castle.

IMG_6305

My favorite beach snack…raspberries.

IMG_6310

It was pretty crowded by the time we left.  I love all the colors of the beach umbrellas.

IMG_6314

We had a great time and I’m SO glad we had this fantastic weather!  Now it’s back to reality!  I think every weekend should be 3 days…just sayin! ;-)

Do you like the beach?

What are your favorite foods to bring to the beach?

Where is your favorite place to go and relax?

46 thoughts on “A Day at the Beach

  1. gosh I could use some beach in my life right now!

  2. Oh wow that deserted beach is like seeing a mirage- the only beaches I’ve been to this summer- i’ve arrived around, oh noonish on saturday or sunday and therefore finding a spot big enough to put our stuff down gets tricky :) looks like an amazing day! and I am all for a 3 day week, i would def sign that petition!

  3. Love the floppy hat. It looks adorable on you! Before moving out here to Kuwait, we lived @ VA Beach, and my heavens it was incredible. Morning runs or walks along the beach were perfect!

  4. The beach is one of my favorite places to go! It looks like you and Justin had such a nice time :)
    Some favorite foods to take to the beach are hummus and veggie wraps, nuts, apples/bananas/berries, and kettle salt and pepper chips :)

  5. Those are some great pictures! I love going to the beach too. Usually we didn’t take food though because my aunt’s condo was so close and we just walked across the street. We took the minimum so we could leave everything and forget it without having to worry about our stuff being stolen while we were in the water :)

  6. Luuuurrrrve the beach! These are some great photos! Water looks so inviting!

  7. I love the idea of the beach but I don’t go into the water much either. Unfortunately there aren’t any beaches where I live, so I have to make do with lakes, still serene, but not as beautiful as your beach!

  8. It sounds like you two had a nice relaxing day at the beach. The beach is so beautiful in New Jersey! I’m in love with all your pictures. You look so cute in the floppy hat too!

  9. The beach is a wonderful place! I did not go at all last year and only have been once this year!! I need to go more often!!!!!!

  10. Looks like you guys had a wonderful day! I love the beach!

  11. Your raspberries look SO fresh and perfect!! I really need to make that breakfast cookie. Every time that I see it on your blog it looks SO good!

  12. I like the beach, but I’m definitely not a swimmer either – I’ll maybe run in the water for a minute or two on a really hot day, but otherwise my butt is staying planted in my beach chair ;-) I haven’t been yet this year, but I’m going camping in a few weeks so we’ll have a beach day. I usually bring pretzels or trail mix as a beach snack, your raspberries look perfect though!

  13. I love the beach!!! Your pics are so pretty. I went to the beach this weekend but it rained :( Oh well at least I had a good time with good friends.

  14. Yay for the beach and raspberries on the beach! I bet those are super refreshing! :)
    What a fun day off, it looks gorgeous!

  15. breakfast on the beach sounds like perfection! Beautiful pics. Looks like a fab day :)

  16. Your pics are so sweet. I live by the Bay and the water is ice cold 12 months a year…I do miss the warm beaches though.

  17. Wow it’s so pretty where you went! I didn’t grow up around the beach so I have like no beach supplies. But I live near beaches now. I’m always struggling whenever we go because I have like… a towel. And that is not enough to hang out on the beach all day! Totally need one of those umbrellas!

  18. Wouldn’t it be awesome if every weekend was a 3 day one? It would give you time to e productive and relax! The beach sounds like a lot of fun! I haven’t been to the beach in a long time but I always love cherries, berries and pineapple as outdoor snacks.

  19. You’re making me crave the sunshine and sand :) I have to admit that I’m more of a mountains, rivers, and forests kind of girl, but the beach is definitely growing on me. And I’m with you on going into the water… Unless I really need to cool off, I prefer to stay on where where I can stay warm and dry.

  20. Those raspberries look DELICIOUS! I personally love strawberries on the beach :) I especially love going to the beach early in the morning too, because it’s just so peaceful! Plus it’s not too hot or too cold, but just right! I can’t believe it’s already August though! Where is the time going?!

  21. Oh I LOVE the beach. I grew up 10 minutes away and it’s so hard being land locked in Atlanta right now. Beautiful pictures!

  22. You’re adorable! And I love your little beach “set up” – so freakin’ cute :) I am so excited to get to Chicago so I can actually have a beach to go to, at least in the summer months!

  23. I agree. All weekends should be three day weekends. I’m glad you had such a good time, and I love your beach snacks. Raspberries are my favorite.

  24. Pingback: Relaxing freaks me out | surprisemama

  25. I’m SERIOUSLY jealous. Sounds like the best day ever! What’s not to love about a sunny day at the beach?!

  26. So beautiful! I love the beach. We’ve been going on Fridays this summer and it has made me so happy! I need to check out lowe’s for some chairs and umbrellas…and thanks for the raspberry idea :)

  27. What a beautiful view! I could sit there all day. We have visited a beach up at Lake Erie that the kids are loving.

  28. Ahh, I love a nice day at the beach. Looks like it was so relaxing too without a bunch of people everywhere!

  29. What a beautiful beach and the weather looks fab! Wish I was there, soaking up some rays and eating those raspberries!

    We have lovely beaches here in Scotland, fantastic to look at and have a walk along – swim? sunglasses? sunbathing? thats not really an option! Even in the summer it is freezing! Beaches for me are definitely something I enjoy when abroad and in the heat!

    J x

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,147 other followers