The BIG 30

83 Comments

Well, it’s Friday and it’s my birthday!!!  Yup, I’m 30 years old today!

ID-100152211{image source}

Whoa!  Can I just say, these 30 years have flown by!  Well, contrary to my Age Crisis post from a month ago, I’m definitely feeling better about my new age and I’ve decided to embrace it!!!  So, since I hit this milestone birthday, I thought it’d be fun to put together a list of life lessons I’ve learned over these 30 years. Here’s what I came up with…

30 Life Lessons (in no particular order)

  1. Don’t be afraid of failure.
  2. Embrace change.
  3. Always do your best.
  4. Be a leader, not a follower.
  5. Always be respectful of others.
  6. Always be yourself.
  7. Trust your gut — 95% of the time it’s right.
  8. Be happy.
  9. Family first.
  10. Life is good.
  11. Always be polite.
  12. Be appreciative of what you have.
  13. Love yourself (and I don’t mean this in a pretentious way).
  14. Don’t take your health for granted.
  15. Enjoy life — you only live once.
  16. The small things in life matter.
  17. Never give-up.
  18. Just breathe.
  19. Exercise is just as much for the mind as it is for the body.
  20. Good things will come to those who wait.
  21. Don’t sweat the small stuff.
  22. Patience (I’m still working on this one!).
  23. Think twice before you act.
  24. Keep calm.
  25. Listen to positive people and ignore negative ones.  Those that doubt, judge and disrespect you are not worthy of your time and attention.
  26. Don’t let other people’s problems and negativity weigh you down.
  27. Don’t make assumptions.
  28. Try not to take things personally (easier said than done sometimes).
  29. Be impeccable with your word.
  30. True friends don’t grow apart, even when they are apart.

CelebrateWe have a busy weekend and a busy week ahead of us.  I’m only working half a day today because my parents’ are picking me up to go out to lunch and do some walking around this quaint little town with some great shops.  Then, Justin and I are going to my favorite restaurant tonight to celebrate my b-day.  Tomorrow we’re going to my parents’ house for a family dinner and then packing on Sunday because we’re off to Lake George, New York on Monday!!!  And…my best friend Abi is coming to stay with us for the weekend!  It’s going to be a whirlwind, but I’m SO excited!!!

What are some important life lessons that you’ve learned over the years?

Any fun plans scheduled for the weekend?

83 thoughts on “The BIG 30

  1. LOVE your list! sounds like fantastic birthday weekend! happy birthday and have fun :)!

  2. HAPPY BIRTHDAY HOLLY!!!!
    Wishing you more happiness than your heart can hold~today and every day!
    I love all your life lessons. One I have learnt is that actions speak louder than words – sending a meal or a hug or just a smile can work wonders for the receiver AND giver :)

  3. Happy birthday Holly!!! It sounds like you have a great next few days planned to celebrate : ) Hope you enjoy every minute! I loved reading your list. I’m about to turn 29 next week and have started freaking out … haha. I need to calm it down…

  4. Happy birthday lady!!! Hope you have a fantastic day and that 30 brings you only the best :) I’m also an August baby!

  5. Happy Birthday, lovely lady!! :D I hope you have the most amazing and love-filled day. I’d say that some of the most important life lessons I’ve learned in my 28 years are to not sweat the small stuff and make the most of any situation. We have little control over circumstances, but we CAN control the attitude we approach them with, and that makes all the difference.

  6. I forgot to add have a great time in Lake George! If you could do a post about what you did there that would be great! I’m thinking about booking a trip.

  7. Happy Birthday Holly! Gotta love Friday birthdays. :) Great list too!

  8. Happy Birthday! I love your list and hope you have a fabulous weekend!

  9. Oh gosh Happy Birthday Holly!! :D I’ll say it before, and I’ll say it again, you really don’t look like you’re 30. I honestly would have guessed early 20s by your profile picture.

    Anyways, those are some great life lessons. I tried to pick a favorite to comment on but they are all so true!

  10. Happy Birthday!!!! What great life lessons!! Numbers 25, 26, 28 and 30 really resonate with me right now. Have an awesome day and weekend!!

  11. Happy Birthday!!! you’re going to love being 30!! great lessons. and i love Lake George, i used to go when i was younger with my family. Hope you have a fantastic birthday weekend!!

  12. Happy Birthday!!!!! :-)

  13. Happy Birthday!! Love your life lessons

  14. :-) Happy Birthday
    It is a great lesson of life 30.
    Please be acceptable to me.
    That you copy your lesson.

  15. Happy Birthday, Holly! I love your list of life lessons, especially the one about true friends not growing apart even when they’re apart. Have the best day!

  16. Definitely some great life lessons up there! I hope your birthday is fabulous, have fun today!

  17. HAPPY FREAKING BIRTHDAY BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Love those life lessons, I definitely have learned some of those too! ENJOY YOUR WEEKEND and party on!!!

  18. Happy birthday!!!! I hope you have a FANTASTIC weekend!!!

  19. Happy Birthday Holly! Have a marvelous day full of unhealthy goodness like cakes, cupcakes, etc! You deserve the best! :)

  20. Happy 30th Birthday Holly! Love the 30 life lessons!

  21. Happy Birthday, Beautiful! Enjoy your big day and have a fabulous fun filled weekend!

  22. You are a baby! A birthday baby-happy day and cheers to a wonderful year ahead of you! If there’s anything I’ve learned in 41 years, always do what they tell you, you cannot do. It’s amazing that feeling of accomplishment as the naysayers look on. Happy bday!

  23. Happy Birthday! That is a great list. #1 and #2 are my absolute favorite mantras to live by. Enjoy your day!

  24. Happy belated birthday fellow Leo. Welcome to the 30 Club. I recently joined the ranks in July. 30 is a great age. I’m claiming it. Good life lessons. #sitssharefest

  25. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I love this list you had posted!!!
    I hope you have a great time on your vacation :)

  26. Happy 30th!! I am turning 30 on Monday and celebrating with random acts of kindness. :) I loved your list of lessons you shared.

    Stopping by from the SITS share fest.

    xoxo.

  27. happy birthday!

    i’ve learned to keep things in perspective, live life simply and enjoy every the NOW :)

  28. Happy Birthday. Your list of life lessons is great and suitable for people of all ages. :) Have a great weekend!

  29. Happy Birthday Holly! What a great list of life lessons too. I just had a baby girl and I feel like I’m learning so much…most importantly: embrace change!

  30. Happy Birthday! I am BIG-TIME in the middle of a pre-30s crisis and man, I love hearing that you’ve come out of yours and are ready to embrace 30. By the Grace, I sure hope I’m there when my B-day rolls around.

    Love #7 – it’s a lesson I sure need to learn.

  31. I missed it, sorry! HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! :) xo

  32. I really like #2! I used to be really resistant to change but after moving 7 times in less than 5 years I’ve learned to embrace new adventures and personal growth. Happy birthday! :)

  33. 30 is the new 20 happy birthday to you and those are great lessons to learn #23 is something I need to learn I react first then think later in some cases which causes me a lot of grief. Stopping over from SITS

  34. Popped in from SITS! Happy birthday!

  35. Stopping b from SITS and couldn’t resist the opportunity to wish you a happy birthday:)! Come see me!

  36. I hope you had a wonderful birthday and are enjoying your vacay! Those are awesome life lessons. I’m turning 30 is a few weeks and have also been thinking about how I’ve changed and the things I’ve learned. 30 doesn’t seem so bad when you look at it this way :)

  37. Fantastic list and happy birthday!!

  38. Happy Belated Birthday! I can’t believe I missed it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,139 other followers