Target Practice – Adjusting

55 Comments

Happy Tuesday!!! :-)

It’s been a while since I’ve linked-up with the ladies at Fit.Fun.Femme for some Target Practice, and my goals for this week have changed a bit (not by choice), but I wanted to share.

Health

So, my foot…sigh!  I’m still having a problem and it definitely put a damper on our vacation because we didn’t get to do some of the activities we had originally planned on doing.  I thought it would get better in a few days, but it didn’t (in fact it got worse), so I had to take it really slow and limit my walking as much as possible.  Very frustrating!

Anyway, my goal for this week is to get better and take it easy.  I went to the doctor yesterday and had an x-ray done, but he couldn’t tell for sure what was going on, so now I have to go for a MRI.  But, based on his exam and what I described, he’s fairly certain it’s either a fracture or a stress fracture.  I have to limit my walking and just be super careful with it.  Check out my new fashion accessory! :-( Despite my smile in this pic…I’m really NOT too happy about this, but it is what it is.

Me and My BootI actually had this boot from the last time I’d fractured my foot (which was a few years ago).  I’d stuffed it in the back of the closest, since I never thought I’d never need it again…boy was I wrong!  I’ve been feeling progress since I started using it again, so as long as it’s helping it to heal, I’ll just have to deal with it for now.  Until I get confirmation from the MRI about what’s wrong…I’m not sure how long I’ll be wearing it or when I can resume my normal activities.

Fitness

Since I’m rather Zumba/cardio obsessed, it’s been tough not being able to go to my usual classes and do my usual workouts since we got back from vacation. I’ve definitely been attempting to adapt to a cardioless (like my made up word!?!) workout regime, which is totally not easy!  So, I’ve been focusing a lot on strength training — I’ve been doing low weight (8 lbs) and high reps for my arms, specifically this workout…

upper-body-dumbbell-workout

For my lower body, I’ve been using the Winsor Pilates Bun and Thigh Sculpting workout DVD and adding 1.5 lb ankle weights to make it a bit more challenging.  For my abs, I’ve been doing the Brooke Burke Body Sexy Abs DVD. Each of these workouts end up being about 20 minutes long, so I can still get my hour workout in.  The problem is, I get bored easily with these kinds of workouts, so I’m sure I’ll be changing things up soon.

Life

One word to sum up my goals for this week…adjusting – to my boot, to my lackluster workouts and to going back to work after vacation (so not looking forward to this one!).  I also need to get back on track with my sleep schedule. During vacation, I tend to go to bed later and get up later – now it’s back to going to bed early and getting up early.  This is always a difficult adjustment for me my first week back.

******************************************

Huh!?!  I kind of feel like this post turned out to be me complaining and whining about my foot. I didn’t mean for it to turn out that way…sorry about that!  I guess I’m just feeling a bit frustrated right now.  I like to stick to a certain routine (especially when it comes to working out) and when I can’t, it drives me crazy.  I’m trying to stay positive in that I’ll heal up quickly, but sometimes it’s so difficult.  Sigh!

Just stay positive, it will get better.

What are your goals for the week?

Any suggestions for me for mat or low impact workouts? 

55 thoughts on “Target Practice – Adjusting

  1. Girl, I think you rocking that boot :) Sending many prayers your way for a speedy recovery.

  2. I have those same fit flops!

    I would suggest biking or swimming as cardio workouts that are low impact. You can do them with a bum foot…believe me, I know.

  3. haha your new accessory is stylish- you’re rockin’ it :) sorry to hear about the MRI and all the foot problems. so annoying!

  4. aww your poor foot! at least you’re rocking that new accessory!! i love how you chose the word “adjusting” you’re not just using it an excuse to do nothing- you might find something you kinda love to do that you havent done it a while! what about swimming? whenever ive gotten injured doctors always recommend swimming and its always a fun change

    • Thanks Charlotte! I’m definitely not the type of person to sit around and do nothing. I’ve always been pretty active, but now I need to get a little creative! ;-) I’m not the best swimmer, but maybe I can find some type of aqua aerobics or something. I’ll have to look into that!

  5. so sorry bout your foot! But girl – you are awesome – to still workout!
    The only biceps curls I would be doing would be with my remote ;)
    Hoping your foot heals super soon!
    Shashi @ http://runninsrilankan.com

  6. You totally work that boot, girl. I’m feeling a new trend starting soon. If I were in your situation, I would totally be a lazy bum, but since you’re clearly a more logical person than me, you should def focus on the upper bod! You’ll have Arnold schwarzenegger arms by the end of this. Sexyyyy.

  7. Sorry to hear about your foot! I know where you are coming from, it is so frustrating when you can’t get out and move like you want to! It is great that you are motivated to keep working out though. Try some gentle yoga maybe? Or work on your core and arm strength for awhile.

    • Oh yes…it’s definitely super frustrating, especially when you’re normally an active person, but I’m trying to make the best of this situation and I’m hoping it’ll heal quickly! Thanks Christine!

  8. Sorry about the foot. It’s hard to take it easy sometimes, but hopefully your boot slows you down enough for you to heal. I hope you feel better soon!

  9. Aww, your poor foot! I hope that the boot helps it heal faster…it sounds like you’re doing well for workouts that won’t irritate it or make it worse. Yoga could probably work to, if you stick to sitting/lying down poses.

  10. Sorry about your foot! Hang in there! I’d be bummed too, but hopefully it gets better really soon!

  11. I’m really sorry about your foot! Even though you are probably in a lot of pain, you look really cute in the boot picture!

  12. Aw, Holly, I’m sorry to hear about your foot having that fracture, potentially. That’s so crappy, especially DURING a vacation and coming back to it feeling worse! I know you want to get back into your cardio routine, especially Zumba, but you’re doing the right thing by taking it easy! Use this as an opportunity to strengthen your core, abs and upper body like you are already! It’s going to turn out just fine. The way I see it, you’d rather look back on this time off (however long that may be) as a an enjoyable one, and appreciate it, rather than push it and make your foot worse. You got this girl!!

    • Thanks SO much Meghan!! That’s awesome advice!!! I mean…I have been wanting to do more strength training, so I guess this has turned out as the perfect opportunity to do that. It’s all about attitude, right?!?

  13. I’m sorry about your foot- that has to be so frustrating. I think you have a great attitude about it though! Giving it time to heal is the best thing you can do for your body right now. I think it’s awesome that you are focusing on your upper body instead. Push ups on your knees can still get your heart pumping!

  14. Oh that boot brings back so many bad memories. I’m so sorry to see that ou have to be wearing that! When I was in a boot this spring I was allowed to swim and I tried to get my hear rate up that way. I did not leave my boot on and started running before the doctor wanted me to and even though I know its hard taking it easy is the best thing you can do. I hope your able to do a better job taking it easy than I was, as my tendon pain still comes back when I run.

    • Ugh…you had to wear a boot too!?! How awful!! Tendon pain doesn’t sound pleasant! It’s definitely hard to be patient while these type of injuries heel, but I guess it’s the best thing to do in the long wrong. I certainly don’t want to have trouble with my foot forever.

  15. Oh no!!! I know exactly how you feel since I have an elbow fracture! Although my modifications are different than yours! :). If I were you I would totally get up upper body and abs buff!

  16. Rowing is my new favorite low impact cardio workout-wonder if that would work with your boot? I hope it heals quickly! My daughter’s been on crutches for almost 4 months now and it’s been so hard to watch her be sidelined.

    • Hmmmm…not sure if that would work with my boot or not, but I like the idea of low impact cardio. Oh your poor daughter…it’s definitely tough to be out of commission for so long. I hope she feel better soon!

  17. Big hugs, girl <3 I know it can be a little frustrating when stuff like this gets thrown at you, but just look at it as a learning opportunity and make the most of it – that's what I try to do when things don't go the way I want them to… It's like you can't change them, and griping doesn't help matters, so take what you can from it and try to draw some positivity from it. Maybe this'll be a good opportunity to ease up on your need to keep a certain routine… Routines are great and all, but we need to be flexible and able to adapt because life is always changing.

    • Thanks Amanda! This is some great advice and you are SO right!!! I’m definitely trying to be as positive as possible, and I like the idea of using this as a learning experience not to need a strict routine in my life.

  18. Goals…clean up my eating…this summertime eating is NOT good for my waistline

  19. sorry to hear about the foot.. But the good news is you can still do weights and keep that fitness. That is a plus! and you are adjusting well. xxoo

  20. Can you swim at all??? Just try to let your body rest and give it what it needs! Stay positive!

  21. Oh no! Your poor foot! That sucks they don’t know what’s happening with it.
    Is it possible you can do some light weight exercise like maybe pilates or swimming? That’d drive me crazy!

  22. Oh, that sucks about your foot. I can understand how an injury can mess up your fitness routine and your plans such as vacations. My husband broke his wrist right before we went on vacation to Disney World and it was such a hassle. Get welll soon!

  23. Oh, it’s very painful foot.
    Scholars say: people frequently break bones that’s due to lack of calcium.
    Bones become brittle gradually past the age of 20 for both men and women.
    However, differences exist by the people.
    The muscle balance of the body is also related gene.
    I will act to think always.
    For example, rejects the escalator and elevator to go to the department store.
    I run and use the stairs.
    I pray to God that you recover soon.

    • It’s weird because I actually take a calcium supplement on a regular basis, so I wouldn’t think that’s the problem, but who knows! I do a lot of aerobics, which puts a lot of pressure on my feet, so maybe that has something to do with it. Thanks so much Ryoma!

  24. I know exactly what you’re going through Holly, I’m dealing with the same injury on the same foot! I just stopped wearing the boot a few days ago and it has been a challenge to take it easy with my workouts and daily activity. Hope it feels better soon!

  25. Pingback: WIAW #11 – Vacation Eats |

  26. I’m so sorry sweet love. I know how frustrating an injury can be – totally puts a kink in your routine. Hopefully the time off will be good for you…allow your muscles to take a rest and be ready to jump back into action when you’re all healed. Sending you lots of positive thoughts :)

  27. Pingback: Target Practice – Healing |

  28. Pingback: Flexibility is Key |

  29. Pingback: A Typical Week of Workouts |

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,240 other followers