WIAW #13 – Labor Day Weekend Eats

46 Comments

Happy Wednesday!  This past weekend was busy, busy, busy, but totally worth all the effort.  Justin and I had a lot of cleaning and food prep to do because we had the family over for a Labor Day BBQ.  It was a GREAT time and now its time to share some eats from the weekend.  As always, thanks to Jenn for hosting the link-up!

Breakfast

I was on a major pancake kick this weekend and tried out two new pancake recipes.  The first was Spinach Protein Pancakes from Alysia @ Slim Sanity.  It was such an intriguing combination ingredients that I just had to give them a try, and I certainly wasn’t disappointed!  I topped mine off with some defrosted mixed berries and honey.  Delicious!

Spinach Protein PancakesThe second pancake recipe I tried was Chocolate Flax Pancakes from Karey @ Nutty About Health (thanks Arman for pointing this recipe out to me!).  These were super simple to put together and were so yummy!  I topped mine off with some sliced banana and some melted peanut butter.

Chocolate PancakesLunch

I just picked on leftovers for lunch — nothing too exciting, so I didn’t take any pics. 

Dinner

On Saturday night, Justin made me some salmon and I ate it with a side of mixed greens topped with balsamic vinaigrette and carrot sticks.  

Salmon DinnerOur Labor Day BBQ menu was rather large, but everything turned out delicious.  Justin grilled — he actually had 2 grills going!

Meat on Grill My family is super helpful and everyone always offers to bring a side dish, which definitely takes some of the pressure off.  Along with the meat, we had pasta salad (my cousin), kale (my aunt), zucchini quiche (me), spinach balls (my mom), chickpea salad (my mom), broccoli casserole (me) and homemade stuffed bread (my dad) — I think I got everything!

BBQ DinnerDessert

I was having a sugar craving after dinner Saturday night, so I figured Tina’s Gluten Free Egg Free Cookie Dough was the perfect choice.  I was running low on almond butter, so I just substituted PB instead.  Delish!

Cookie DoughOur family BBQ dessert consisted of cookies, Crista made raw Caramel Squares and I made a Texas Sheet Cake (the recipe came from this cookbook).

DessertSnacks

Since my stomach has been more tolerant of dairy lately, I’ve been enjoying Chobani Greek Yogurt.  It was on sale this week, so I picked-up a couple of different flavors.  This particular one was SO good!  

YogurtI’ve been wanting to make granola for the longest time.  I used to make it all the time, but have been kind of lazy about it lately.  When I saw Sarah’s recipe for Honey Almond Chia Granola, I knew I had to try it right away.  Well, it was fantastic!  I actually didn’t have enough almonds, so I threw some walnuts in the mix instead and it worked out great.  This will become a new staple for me! 

GranolaWhat exciting Labor Day eats did you enjoy?

What’s your favorite pancake recipe?

What’s your favorite Chobani flavor?

46 thoughts on “WIAW #13 – Labor Day Weekend Eats

  1. I’ve made Karey’s flax pancakes time after time. They really are delicious!

  2. My hubby and I have our refrigerator stocked with those Chobani yogurts (well, by “stocked”, I mean more like 5 or 6…lol). Lately, we’ve been eating alot of the apple ones. I pretty much like all of them, except….err…..the pomegranate one. Have you ever had? I tried it and wasn’t a big fan because it seemed way to “seedy”. I know that’s the nature of pomegranate, and I probably should have expected it…but, everytime we get some now, my hubby tells me “make sure you don’t get the pomegranate one”. I guess you either really like it, or you don’t like it at all. P.s. Spinach pancakes….that’s something I’ve never had before. I might just have to try those one day.

  3. Have you heard of Kodiak cakes? It’s like, a pancake/waffle mix. It’s super healthy and it’s sooo good. We used it for waffles over the weekend!

  4. Looks like a good time! My favorite Greek yogurt flavor right now is actually one of the Dannon blends in toasted coconut and vanilla. It’s super yummy!!

  5. ohh everything looks so yummy! i really want to try that gluten free egg free cookie dough! that looks scrumptious!

  6. Oh wow how good does all your food look! I love cauliflower protein pancakes – they’re so fluffy and have hidden veggies in them!
    I always like to try new and different ones though!
    We’ve just got Chobani in the UK recently but I’m loving the lemon ones! Drool.

  7. yum the cookie dough looks so good! i’ve had my eye on that chobani flavor too!

  8. I love adding spinach to my protein pancakes! Such a discrete way to get in some extra veggies :-)

  9. I’ve been dying to try Sarah’s granola–looks unreal!!

  10. Ohh pancakes… I haven’t made any in ages, but I think that’s because I’m smitten with my mom’s buttermilk pancakes and nothing else really comes close to how much I love those. And my favourite yogurt is actually plain 2% Oikos, but I’ve been dying to try the apple cinnamon Chobani. The only problem is that we don’t get it up here in Canada, and I’ve never been able to find it when I was in the States!

  11. Pingback: Guest Posting for Gold Standard Women |

  12. Wow all excellent questions-
    Just made pumpkin pancakes this weekend. holy yum!
    I took the time to bust out the juicer this weekend as well, so I had and awesome kale-ginger-carrot-apple juice
    and I love the new coconut and lime chobanis especially with a little sprinkle of graham cracker or coconut flakes. Mmm

    Happy Wednesday Holly

  13. I’m not the biggest fan of pancakes, but this weekend, I sampled a ricotta pancake at Whole Foods and it was so freaking amazing. Fave Chobe flavor? Plain. So versatile! But I’m also a big fan of the Key Lime Pie flip.

  14. Now that we’re getting into Fall, I think pancakes are going to be a breakfast regular around here. I’ve made banana protein pancakes with peanut butter the last few mornings, and it has been fabulous. I’ve only ever had a few Chobani’s because we can’t find them in Canada, but I adore the Apple Cinnamon. And your labour day eats look so delicious!

  15. Both of those pancakes are on my never-ending-to-make list! Yum yum yum

  16. It looks like you had a wonderful Labor Day BBQ! I think it’s great that your family all helps out an brings sides. My favorite chobani is coconut.

  17. Spinach pancakes!?!? Weird- but I would totally try it!! Everything looks delicious!

  18. I really wish I was about to get some good ol’ fashioned BBQ this weekend. Summer is ending quickly so I’ll have to find a way soon!

    I don’t eat Chobani very often but I love the strawberry Fage. I have atleast 3-4 stocked in my fridge at all times!

  19. I’m so happy you liked the granola Holly! :)

    All of your food looked amazing, especially those pancakes! I love sneaking a little spinach in to recipes- it’s so versatile! I’ve been trying to make a muffin recipe with spinach but I failed twice so it still needs work.

    That cookie dough and the sheet cake also look amazing. Thanks for sharing!

  20. Oh I have a total love for Chobani! My favorite flavor is passionfruit but I also really love their new coconut flavor!!

  21. Your labor day BBQ sounds like it was so much fun – and lots of good food! Since were were out of town for a wedding I didn’t get to use the grill at all – oh well, we’ll just make up for it this weekend!

  22. Wow, all your food looks so good and much healthier than mine from this weekend. Holy sugar to those pancakes!

  23. Those chocolate pancakes look SO good, especially with all of that melted PB! :)

  24. Oh my goodness, that sheet cake looks so stinkin’ good!!! Leave it to me to spot the chocolate :)

  25. Those green monster pancakes look incredible!

  26. Its morning now, but I’m craving some BBQ- that spread looks great!

    I love Karey’s pancake recipe it really is easy and quick! I did some experimenting yesterday and think *hopefully* I’ve come up with a decent chocolate peanut one without protein powder but still high in protein- I’ll post it up this week!

    My favourite chobani flavour is the plain one- I love how you can add stuff to it and the tartness! Although here we don’t have the epic range of coconut/chocolate varieties :(

  27. Your eats look great!! So glad you liked my Chocolate Flax Pancake recipe!! It’s definitely my favorite go-to for tasty pancakes (I made them this morning)! :) Thanks for the shout-out!

  28. I love all of your eats! I’ve made Karey’s pancakes and they always turn out great! The granola recipe looks wonderful. I’m going to check it out!

  29. Such pretty pancakes! I can never mine look so great – but they taste great at least! I like to keep it simple, recently I’ve been experimenting with 2-ingredient pancakes a la the Purely Twins girls: mashed banana/palntain/sweet potato + egg = wonderful pancake fun! Still need to master the art of flipping… Great call on the pineapple too – I wonder how that would be on top of a pancake!?

  30. Gah. I am so jealous of people who actually cook out on major holidays. That used to be MY family. Now with my grandparents older we just go out to eat. Like 4th of July for example— Chinese restaurant. What is Americana about that? Lol.

    Anyways, now I really want to grill up some chicken before the summer is officially over. I won’t be home and actually have access to a “grill” (aka George Foreman) until Saturday the 21st. That gives me exactly two days to complete this mission… If I don’t forget. Ha. ;)

  31. Pingback: Target Practice – Healing |

  32. Pingback: Treat Yourself Tuesday #2 |

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,279 other followers