My Experiences with Acupuncture

45 Comments

Happy Tuesday friends!  Hope your week is going good so far!

I’ve been wanting to write this post for a while now and finally made a point to sit down and do it.  Acupuncture was a big part of my life at one time, so I wanted to share my experiences with you.

In case you don’t know, acupuncture is a form of Chinese medicine where very thin needles are inserted at very specific points in the body.  It’s based on the theory that energy, known as chi, flows through and around the body along pathways called meridians. Acupuncturists believe that illness occurs when something blocks or unbalances your chi, so acupuncture is a way to unblock or influence chi in order to help it flow back into balance.

English: Basic Acupuncture.

Over a year ago, I was having issues with stress and I was having bad neck and shoulder pain.  A friend of mine told me that she was going for acupuncture treatments and her experience was very positive, so she suggested I try it out.  I hadn’t ever considered acupuncture before (I’m not really sure why), but I was totally willing to try it.  I’m NOT a fan of taking traditional medications and prefer alternative and holistic treatments whenever possible.

I made my first appointment and had a long conversation with the acupuncturist about my health history and my current complaints.  I really didn’t know what to expect when I lied down on the table.  The first few needles kind of hurt going in, but I quickly got used to it.  After she inserted all the needles (and there were a ton), she left me to lie on the table for 1/2 an hour. At first I thought, I’m never going to make it that long without being able to move — I have a tendency to get super antsy and sometimes it takes me a while to relax, but after a few minutes, my body and my mind completely gave in and I was able to relax.  I listened to the soft calming music that was playing and the trickle of the water fountain.  I actually fell asleep!

After that first session I was completely hooked!  That 1/2 hour was for me — no phone, no other people, no computer…NO interruptions.  It was a time of peace and rejuvenation in that moment, but it also carried itself out throughout the week.  I felt alive and calm, I slept better, my body felt better, my acne was getting better, my level for stress tolerance was better, my neck and shoulder pain was better…I was better.

During my time with acupuncture, I was surprised to learn of the amazing health benefits.  Take a look…

Potential Benefits of Acupuncture

This is just a partial list, but for more information on the benefits of acupuncture, check out the National Institute of Health or the World Health Organization.

Important — If you decide to choose acupuncture as a treatment option, be sure to choose an acupuncturist wisely and be sure they have the proper credentials and training.  Also, make sure that your acupuncturist uses a new pack of sterile needles every time.

I went to acupuncture every Saturday morning for about a year.  It was a truly amazing experience!  The only reason I stopped was it started to get expensive after a while, but I miss it and hope to go back again soon.

Have you ever tried acupuncture before?  If yes, what was your experience with it?

Are you a fan of holistic treatment alternatives?

Reference: Acupuncture – Topic Overview by WebMD 

45 thoughts on “My Experiences with Acupuncture

  1. I am a fan of holistic medicine. But I dot mind traditional treatments with pills either. I’m a scientist so I love knowing how what I’m taking/doing effects me from the inside out. This is a really cool idea. I’ve never tried it before, but know of some people who have. I’m not a big needles fan, but I’d be willing to at least try it. Glad you found so much good in it and I hope you get to go back soon. I like to get massages for stress and they are so pricey too!

  2. i’ve never tried acupuncture before but itz definitely something i’m curious about!! i do like holistic treatment alternatives – particularly using essential oils!

  3. That’s so interesting… I can’t imagine getting this done to myself merely because it scares me to have needles put in my all over me. I would give it a try once, maybe.. I’m with you on the holistic approach though – I’m NOT a fan of Western medicine. So cool that you used to get this done. I can imagine, though, that insurance doesn’t cover it hence it being pricey! Have a fab day!

  4. oh awesome!! ive never tried acupuncture but ive always wanted to! i think the thing holding me back is that i just dont know where to go for it. i cant trust just anyone, after all. now that you mention it im sure it cant be that hard to find one though! thats so great it improved your stress!! im always looking for something to help with that :)

  5. I’d love to try acupuncture, I bet it gets pricey though?

  6. I have never tried Acupuncture! I have heard really good things about it though…maybe in the future!

  7. I’ve always been intrigued by acupuncture. On the one hand I would like to try it for issues like stress, allergies, etc. But on the other hand, I need a little bit more scientific support to make me think it can really make a true difference. In terms of stress relief, I totally see the benefits, but I could also get a massage and that doesn’t involve needles. So I’m interested to learn more about how it can actually help with other health issues I may have. Maybe I need to do some more research! Thanks for sharing! Interesting post.

    • Yeah, I totally get what you’re saying. I was certainly skeptical about it too but I figured, it doesn’t hurt to give it a try. The pain is pretty minimal from the needles, which was a surprise to me. I hope you get to try it some time. Massages are definitely nice too!

  8. I’ve always wondered if acupuncture really worked. I’m glad you had a great experience with it!

  9. I absolutely love acupuncture! I went a few times in Minneapolis for stomach pains/faintness and it helped so much. I have been trying to find an affordable and certified office here but haven’t been successful yet. One that I called charged $260/session – no thanks!

  10. So cool to read about your experiences! I’ve never tried acupuncture before, but I’ve heard from a lot of people that they’ve seen really good results…I think I’d want to give it a shot sometime.

  11. I’ve never really experimented with holistic medicine, but I’m not gonna lie… acupuncture scares the daylights out of me!

  12. As a nurse, I’ve had many patients approach me about alternative holistic medicine and treatments. Unfortunately, my guidance has been really quite limiting simply because my experiences have been quite limited. I’ve never personally had acupuncture done before. I have heard great things, though….and the list you provided certainly reinforces the benefits. In your experience, have you found it to be fairly expensive? How much would an acupuncture session cost, roughly?

  13. I’m also a big fan of holistic or alternative medicine and I’ve always been curious about acupuncture but I’ve never tried it. I guess I didn’t realize it helps with emotional issues. I’m not having any pains or other problems but my stress levels are often out of control. I would love to try it sometime to help with my mental clarity.

    Actually, it makes me think of Charlotte from SATC. Did you ever see those episodes? Sigh, I miss that show.

  14. I am SO bad with needles, but I’ve always wanted to try acupuncture. My dad has really bad knee/foot problems that he was born with, and acupuncture was something totally life changing. It really helped him physically and emotionally! It really helps make him less stressful and deal with the pain. I really really want to try it one day despite my fear of needles! Thanks for sharing how your experience went! Not a lot of people do that, so I knew only what I’ve seen first hand!

  15. I’ve never tried it before, but I’ve always heard great things! I would actually love to sometime, but just have never had the opportunity!

  16. I have often thought about acupuncture. I’m not sure if it would be for me, but I definitely try to avoid traditional medication whenever possible. I really enjoyed reading this post!

  17. I’m definitely a fan of holistic treatments. I think they are the way of the future (and past). To me, healing with food, natural remedies, things from the earth… That’s how we are supposed to live. We are meant to survive off the earth and all of that chemical/medicine stuff is fine and dandy for when the earth is just not enough… But not as the first step.

    I’ve seen Tina on Carrots N Cake mention acupuncture a few times so I think it’s really neat to hear someone else’s perspective too and how much of a positive experience it was for you! I would love to try it sometime.

  18. I used acupuncture on my knee when I was in high school an thought it was really helpful! I always thought it was funny when the needles would sometimes spin while they were in. It also really helped Bentley with his itchiness from allergies.

  19. I must admit, I’m a huge chicken when it comes to acupuncture- my dad’s side of the family swear by it but the idea of so many needles…..

    Its good to hear that it helped out regarding stress- something I should consider!

  20. I haven’t tried acupuncture yet.

  21. I’ve heard so many great things about acupuncture. I don’t have a reason to try it right now, but I love that these alternative techniques to traditional western medicine are so mainstream now!

  22. Wow! Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us! I too have lots of back and neck pain, so I’m really considering trying this. It sounds so interesting and I’m all about holistic healing :)

  23. Pingback: Not Taking the Relationship to the Next Level… | SparkaliciousWit

  24. I love acupuncture. I’ve been treated a couple times for digestive issues, stress and pain (currently hoping that it will help with my plantar fasciitis). It is unlike anything else I’ve ever experienced and such an interesting sensation too. Visiting from SITS Sharefest!

  25. Thanks for sharing your experience! I’ve been wanting to try acupuncture for some time now and have heard great things about it. Does how often you get it vary by person?

  26. I’ve had acupuncture. Both times I was super relaxed and went home and slept like a log. I have a free appt. coming up in January. It should be really cool.

  27. Pingback: Why Try Acupuncture? 5 Reasons | Health Host UK

  28. Pingback: Why Try Acupuncture? 5 Reasons | Gliex - Give Life Extra

  29. Pingback: Natural Disease Fighters |

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,277 other followers