Power Foods Friday – Eggplant

30 Comments

Woohoo!!! It’s Friday!!!

Thanks so much for all the positive feedback on my new blog design!  So glad everyone likes it!

Also, I’ll be away all next week on a business trip to Ohio, but I have some fabulous guest posts lined up for you.  Get excited! :-)

It’s been a busy week, so I’m going to keep today’s PFF post short and sweet. :-)

Eggplant is a new found favorite of mine.  I wasn’t always crazy about it (I think it was a texture thing), but Justin is a huge fan.  I’ve had and made dishes with eggplant more and more, and have come to love it.  Eggplant Parmesan just so happens to be a favorite dish of mine and Justin’s (you can check out my recipe for it HERE).  Roasted eggplant is another super tasty way to it eat too!  I’m lucky enough that my dad also grows eggplant.  This pic is actually from my dad’s garden!

eggplantI was somewhat surprised to learn that eggplant has a few important health benefits too:

  • They protect cardiovascular health and provide free radical protection.
  • They’re rich in phenolic, which functions as a antioxidant compound.
  • They’re brain food – eggplant contains nasunin, which has been found to protect the lipids (fats) in brain cell membranes.

Have a great weekend and I’ll see you in a week!!!

What’s your favorite way to eat eggplant?

Reference: Eggplant by the World’s Healthiest Foods

30 thoughts on “Power Foods Friday – Eggplant

  1. Ooh love the new design! I love eggplant parmesan. It’s definitely my favorite way to eat eggplant!

  2. I really like eggplant but my husband is not so keen on it … so I rarely cook with it! I think I just need to find a few ways to trick him into eating it : ) Have a great weekend Holly!

  3. i love eggplant! my favorite way to eat it though is in baba ganuch- i love that dip i could eat all day long with a spoon :) happy friday!!

  4. I just had eggplant last night for dinner! I just did it up in a skillet with EVOO and then added in some balsamic at the end and served over polenta. It was fab!

  5. LOVE the sew design! It looks fantastic :). To be honest, I haven’t eaten eggplant too much in the past. Thanks for letting me know how great they are for me!

  6. I love eggplant–especially roasted or in the form of baba ganoush! PS–that eggplant picture is SO perfect!

  7. Hey! Great post! Most of all, though, I was so excited to see you’ll be in Ohio next week – that’s my stomping ground! Hope wherever you’re headed it’s a great week! :D

  8. I just made eggplant rollatinis last weekend. I’m not a huge fan of eggplant because of the texture but when you cover it in breadcrumbs, fry it and roll it with cheese and sauce- it’s amazing! Haha. Although, by that point all of the benefits you listed are probably gone. :)

  9. I have a couple of eggplants just dying to be eaten right now. I was thinking of making eggplant pasta tonight?! I love your new blog design!

  10. Hi Holly. Nice blog! I enjoyed reading about you, very detailed and upfront.:) I love eggplant and I have similar philosophy when it comes to food. Hope to see you again. I will stop by to check out on new recipes.:) Have a great weekend!

  11. I love the new blog layout Holly!!! I hope you have a great vacation next week! :)

    FYI, I love eggplant like Justin, but the hubs is not a fan! Since I have been cooking with it so much lately, he has banned eggplant for at least a month!

  12. Oh I love eggplant! My favorite dish I make is kind of a cross between eggplant parm and eggplant lasagna. I haven’t made in it quite awhile but italian meals are always more appealing to me in the cooler months.

  13. Growing up, many of mums dishes centralised around eggplants (its so popular in Russia/Iran) but I despised it and refused to eat it. Now that I’m older, I am a huge fan of it- I love it chargrilled or in a dip like baba ganoush- so good! And definitely bookmarked your eggplant parmesan recipe- its being made next week!

  14. I love grilled eggplant! Yum!

  15. I’ve NEVER tried eggplant. In any form. I’ve heard such great things about it so I’ll have to try it soon!

  16. I’ve actually just started getting into eggpant but my favourite way to it always is in eggplant parmesan, yum!

  17. I love eggplant! I wish I ate it more often though! Thanks for sharing the benefits! More reason to indulge :)

  18. FUGGING LOVE eggyplants!! ;)
    I love to roast em up like chips.
    I love to make them “buns” for my burgers
    I love them in every way, shape and form.
    Smear some tapenade on those slices, SWOON!

  19. Pingback: Beware of the Uninformed! | The Epigenetics Project Blog

  20. Reblogged this on The Epigenetics Project Blog and commented:
    It is important to eat more fruits & vegetables. It is also important to try new ones and new ways of eating them. Enjoy your food more …

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,247 other followers