MIMM #9 – My Love for Fall

41 Comments

I’m back!!! :-)  While it was nice to get away for a few days and learn some new things, I’m SO glad to be back home and get back to blogging again!  I did have some downtime during my conference, so at least I was able to stay up to date with my favorite blogs.  I want to give a special thanks to JillienneSamCristaNatalie & Sara and Charlotte for guest posting on the blog last week while I was away!!!  All of your posts were amazing and I SO appreciate it! :-)

Also, I want to say…HAPPY BIRTHDAY to my best friend in the whole wide world Abi!!!!!  We’ve been friends since kindergarten.  We’ve seen each other though the best of times and the worst of times, but our friendship has always remained strong.  Love you forever!!!!  And…BTW…30 isn’t so bad after all!!! ;-)

Me and AbiNow while I call myself a summer girl all the way, my second favorite season of the year is fall, so since yesterday was the official start, I thought it would be fitting to do a post on the reasons why I love the season.  So, lets get started!

October 27, 2007

This is the day Justin and I got married!

img025Pumpkins

I’m crazy about pumpkins.  Pumpkin picking, roasted pumpkin, pumpkin pie, roasted pumpkin seeds, pumpkin butter, pumpkin soup (recipe to come!), pumpkin scented things — basically, if it’s anything pumpkin related, I’m all over it!

Pumpkins, photographed in Canada.Harvest Festivals

I’ve always enjoyed going to different harvest festivals.  I love browsing through all the fall crafts, eating the yummy fall foods and, of course, the corn maze is always a blast.

Candy Corn

Need I say more!?!

English: Candy corn, specifically Brach's cand...Fall Decorations

Of all the seasons, my favorites decorations to put out are fall decorations.  Justin brought up the fall decorations box from the basement and I went to town over the weekend.

Apples

As you may remember from my apple post from a few weeks ago, apples were and are a big part of my life.  The fresh apples right off my dad’s trees are seriously amazing!

Basket of ApplesLeaves

Fall is one of the prettiest times of year!  I love the foliage and colors of the leaves!

FallFall Clothes

I love wearing all my fall clothes — boots, scarves and sweaters are all my favs!

Blankets

I love snuggling up on the couch or in bed with a soft and fuzzy blanket on a chilly fall night!

My Hair Doesn’t Frizz!

Okay…okay, I know this one is kind of silly, but I just had to say it.  I mean…it’s true!  I can do my hair in the a.m. and I don’t have to fix it a million times during the day! ;-)

For more of my fall favs, check out my Everything Fall Pinterest Board.  I’ve been pinning like crazy! :-)

All of these reasons certainly make for a marvelous Monday.  Thanks to Katie for hosting the link-up!!

What’s your favorite season of the year?

What do you love about the fall?

What’s your favorite way to eat pumpkin?

41 thoughts on “MIMM #9 – My Love for Fall

  1. The hair reason is SO true! Kicking the humidity out of our lives is always a bonus. I love fall because of the colors, lighting up the fireplace, football, and thanksgiving!

  2. Fall is absolutely my favorite season!! :-)

  3. Fall is def my FAVE!! I love the Fall fashion and crisp air. My favorite recipe has to be pumpkin muffins or bread with a pumpkin spice cup of coffee. YUM!!

  4. Fall is actually my favourite season of the year. As much as I enjoy summer, it’s a little too energetic for me and I start craving the peace and calm that fall brings with it. That and the food, the fashion, the sights, the smells… eeee… I just love everything about it. As for pumpkin, I love it pretty much any way, but I think that a pumpkin bread with chocolate chips has to be my favourite.

  5. Fall is my favorite!! I love being able to have all the windows open (and the pets love playing outside in fall weather), no frizz (you’re no the only one that gets excited about this), and of course all things pumpkin! I love making pumpkin bread and I buy this awesome pumpkin butter from Trader Joe’s to go with it.

  6. I love Fall too! It’s definitely my favorite season. I hear you on the hair not frizzing! My hair is naturally curly & this is the perfect season for it. During the summer I’m always fighting the frizz!

  7. I love the look of candy corn, but it doesn’t taste like anything. I love fall clothes- boots, layers, cozy knits, drinking hot tea all day, and of course, the colors, even though they don’t last long where I live.

  8. Fall is def. a favorite around here too!
    I’m right with you on the candy corn! I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!!! :)

  9. Fall is a very important season for me.
    Activities as Okayama Prefecture Tourism Special Envoy will be more.
    All of Japan is exhaustively covered in autumn leaves.
    I went to donate blood to the Red Cross the other day.
    It is one of the social contribution of me.

  10. Fall is my favourite season as well – there’s pumpkin, there’s boots and leather jackets, there’s Halloween, Canadian Thanksgiving…and of course, my birthday ;-)

  11. I totally love fall but summer is definitely my favorite season! Welcome back!

  12. Fall is absolutely my favorite time of year too. Everything about it – I can’t get enough. Pumpkin, apple, wearing jeans and boots, cozy blankets, decorations, sigh. I love it! I may have bought one new decoration over the weekend too – I can’t control myself! haha

  13. What a perfect time for a wedding. I love fall as well, other than candy corn. I do not like candy corn at all but do love pumpkin :).

  14. Since becoming a vegetarian, I no longer eat gelatin…which also means that I no longer eat candy corn :(. I wonder if there is a veg-friendly version out there somewhere?? ;)

  15. I love all these reasons for fall – especially the clothing AND the hair! That is not a stupid reason AT ALL! I couldn’t agree more!
    And doesn’t it get annoying to have work take up all the time in the world and you can’t blog? My week last week was so busy and I couldn’t do a darn thing about it! Glad you’re back!!

  16. That last point…story of life! I love fall for the food but I wish it didn’t need to be so cold! Went apple picking yesterday and while it was so much fun I was freezing my butt off!

  17. Great post, Holly! Fall and spring are my favorite seasons for sure! I love the cooler temperatures and all of the beautiful colors that these seasons bring.

  18. Ooh I love autumn too, mostly because of the beautiful colours of the leaves, and the pumpkin pies!! But we don’t have candy corn here in the UK :/ I should have picked some up while I was in USA over the summer! Popping by from SITS
    http://myfroley.blogspot.com

  19. I adore fall! It’s definitely my favorite season, especially in the food arena. Pumpkins, apples, big pots of chili, cornbread…I can’t get enough!

  20. I’ve just gotten into learning the ropes of Pinterest so will definitely be checking it out! Naw, its amazing to have a friend for so long- These days everything is about quantity and more of this more of that, but I’d rather have several good friends as opposed to a posse of people you can never build a really strong relationship with. Favourite way to eat pumpkin- roasted in olive oil and garlic salt. Perfection! Have a great start to your week, Holly(wood)

    • I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, once you get the hang of Pinterest, you’ll be addicted for sure and never want to get off. Just a word of warning…don’t browse Pinterest when you’re hungry! ;-)

      Yup, I’m totally with you on having a few really good friends, then a whole lot of friends who are more like acquaintances than anything else.

  21. Fall is my favorite, too! And I was thisclose to stealing some candy corn from a student who was eating it in class today. :)

  22. While I am a summer girl, I absolutely love fall fashion! There is nothing better than fall boots, jackets, and scarves!

  23. Aw, your wedding looked so beautiful! I love the changing leaves in the background.
    I am so excited for fall too. I just made pumpkin loaves today and I can’t wait to make more fall recipes! :)

  24. Ah pumpkin, the king of vegetables! Starbucks in the UK announced the pumpkin spice lattes were back as of today – naturally I had to get one, although I have mine slightly different – the pumpkin sauce in an americano – delish!
    Even though they are hard to find in the UK, I will be hunting high and low for fresh pumpkin – wish me luck on my search!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,263 other followers