Apple Crumble Pie

38 Comments

Time for another new recipe!  Now I should warn you, this isn’t necessarily a “healthy” dessert, but sometimes it’s nice to indulge every once in a while, right!?!

I love, love, love baking!  It’s one of my favorite things to do and I definitely prefer it over cooking.  During the cooler season, I tend to do a lot more baking, and since my dad has so many apples, I try to find delicious ways to use them up in my baked goods.  This Apple Crumble Pie is a staple in our household during the fall season, and is an easy and tasty option to get rid of those apples.

Apple Crumble PieThis pie is a big hit with the family. I tend to make it on special occasions or when we have guests coming for dinner. Because I use a pre-made refrigerated store bought pie crust (if your feeling ambitious, you can certainly make your own), it comes together in no time – the only part of the preparation that takes some time is peeling and cutting the apples but trust me, it’s totally worth the effort.  As far as what type of apples I used, my dad just gave me a whole bunch of different kinds so honestly, I have no idea what they were.  They always say that granny smith are good baking apples, but feel free to use whatever type of apple you life.

You can serve this pie warm (Justin likes it this way) with a side of vanilla ice cream or at room temperature.  Warning – this pie is SO addicting and it’s awfully hard to resist having more than one piece! ;-) Enjoy!

Apple Crumble Pie-CutIngredients:

Filling:

  • 1 pre-made refrigerated store bought pie crust
  • 6 medium apples (peeled and sliced thin)
  • ⅔ cup sugar
  • 3 tbsp flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp fresh lemon juice
  • ½ tsp nutmeg
  • pinch of salt

Topping:

  • ¾ cup packed brown sugar
  • ½ cup all-purpose flour
  • ½ cup old fashioned cooking oats
  • ⅓ cup margarine

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Place pie crust in 9 ½ inch baking dish. Combine all filling ingredients and mix well. Spoon into crust-lined baking dish.
  2. For topping, combine first three ingredients. Using a fork, cut in margarine until it resembles coarse crumbs. Sprinkle evenly over apple mixture.
  3. Bake for 35 to 40 minutes or until apples are tender.

Optional Icing: Combine 3/4 cup of powdered sugar and 1 tbsp of milk (more if needed). Drizzle over warm pie.

What’s your favorite pie recipe?

Do you prefer baking or cooking?

38 thoughts on “Apple Crumble Pie

  1. In my eyes, apple pie is just one of those recipes that shouldn’t be healthified. Call me crazy, but I love when it’s full of “unhealthy” ingredients that my Grandma would use in her day :)

  2. Sometimes it’s definitely necessary to indulge in a good dessert! I’m not necessarily the biggest pie fan, but I can’t deny that I’ll never turn down a good apple pie with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. And when it comes to baking vs. cooking, it’s easy — baking alway wins — but that might have something to do with enjoying the outcome that much more ;)

  3. I prefer cooking and rarely bake but this pie looks delicious – I might actually try it!!!

  4. My family would love this! Maybe I should be a nice daughter/sister and make it for them hehe

  5. Oh apple crumbles are so perfect in the fall. I love how when one is baking the entire house smells of all the best things of fall.

  6. I actually don’t like pie (gasp), I know, I know. However, my hubby loves it and I’ve been trying to think of something to make for dessert for Thanksgiving and I think I’ve found a winner! Thanks for the inspiration!

  7. I love any type of apple dessert this time of the year – this pie looks wonderful! I love that topping – anything with oats in a topping instantly wins my heart! haha

  8. Mmm this looks amazing! I love pie, can’t wait to get some this weekend when I get home for Canadian Thanksgiving! Hopefully my mom makes me a vegan apple or pumpkin pie.. I’m not picky! :)

  9. This looks so good! I’m picky about pie – I don’t like the ones that have the crust on top. But a crumble topping always makes me happy! I do like baking, so between Thanksgiving, my birthday, Halloween and a Halloween bake sale I’m participating in, I’ll have a lot of excuses for baking over the next couple of weeks!

  10. this pie looks perfect and amazing!! oh the decadence, I can’t even!

  11. Oh I really love apple crumble! My mom makes a delicious one (everyone says that probably!). I definitely prefer cooking to baking. I am just not that great at baking but I am a pretty darn good cook.

  12. Mmmm this looks great! Apple Pie is the way to my bf’s heart. Before we started dating one time I made him a trio of Apple Pie, Apple Crumble and topped it off with Apple Sauce on the side. I’m pretty sure that’s why we started dating. Haha. Thanks for the recipe!

  13. This looks awesome! I love apple pie! My all-time favorite pie is chocolate chess pie, but apple takes a really close second.

  14. I just recently bought a candle in this scent…it’s awesome ’cause it smells delish, and only smelling = no calories ;)

  15. Apple pie a la mode is one of my favorite deserts on this planet! Please come to my house and make this pie for me on Saturday so I can eat the entire thing after my half marathon! :-)

  16. this looks absolutely delicious!! yum!

  17. Sometimes, there are some recipes out there which it is a crime to healthify- we just need the good old classic to fulfill out souls ;) This looks amazing- the icing on the (cake) pie? Home grown apples!

  18. Tis the season for apple pies!!!! YEAH! Hello from Sharefest

  19. Love this recipe and it’s one I have never seen before. I’m ancient so that’s saying something since I love all things apple..hehe I do believe that this is a new recipe that will definitely become a tradition. My 10 year old loves ice cream on his too but also likes to add a thin slice of sharp cheddar. Ya know what they say “Cheddar makes it better” ^_^

    Thanks for sharing this on Saturday SITS Sharefeast ummmm I mean fest!!!

    • I love that your 10 year old lies cheddar on his slice! I’ve actually never tried that myself before, but I’m going to have to do that. Sounds like a delicious addition! Thanks for stopping by!

  20. A comfort soul food. Growing up pies were never on the menu, but I’ve come to love it and it’s perfect especially for the holidays. Your version looks so so yummy and good. A scoop of icecream with a scoop of the pie…how perfect is that..

  21. Pingback: Cape Cod Apple Pie | Zlater Family CookBook

  22. Pingback: Quick ‘n Easy: Apple Crumble Pie | Coffee With My Oxygen

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,266 other followers