All Hail Pumpkin Season

41 Comments

It’s Friday!!! :-) I’m super especially happy on this particular Friday because I have a full, but fun weekend planned, and I have Monday and Tuesday off.  Yay!!!

So, since its been quite some time since I did a Power Foods Fridays and since, after all, it’s pumpkin season, I think this would be the perfect time to talk about pumpkins.  Agreed!?!  If it’s got anything to do with pumpkin, I’m all over it – pumpkin bread, pumpkin pie, pumpkin cookies, pumpkin smoothies, pumpkin oatmeal, pumpkin soup.  I could literally eat pumpkin related foods all day, everyday.  I know many of you feel the same way! TractorAside from eating pumpkins, there’s something about them that I just love.  I love displaying them during the fall season and I love the fact that each and everyone is unique – no two are ever the same.  Plus they’re so versatile – you can eat the meat, you can eat the seeds, you can carve them and you can display for decoration.  I literally love everything about them! Growing up, my dad always grew pumpkins (he still grows them today).  Sometimes he would have tons and tons of them and other years they didn’t do as well or the pesky deer ate them.  The pictures below are all pumpkins from my dad’s garden.

Pumpkin CollageWell surprise, surprise pumpkins are really healthy for you, which makes me even happier since I eat pumpkin like nobody’s business during the fall season.  Oh and before I get to the health benefits, one of my favorite things to do with pumpkins; although a bit time consuming, is to roast them in the oven, peel the skin off and purée the meat (I may see a future post coming ;-)).  Fresh pumpkin purée is SO amazing and it makes the most delicious pumpkin pie ever!  Anyway, on to the health benefits…

Graphic (1)What’s your favorite way to eat pumpkin?

Have you ever tried making fresh pumpkin purée?

What are your weekend plans?

Reference: 8 Health Benefits of Pumpkins 

41 thoughts on “All Hail Pumpkin Season

  1. I’ll hail to pumpkin all day/everyday, Ha! One thing that’s wonderful about Kuwait is it’s actually out all year round!! It’s nice to never have to be w/o :)

  2. Oh My! Your dad is an impressive pumpkin grower!
    I have to agree with you – I, too, love pumpkin EVERYTHING – pie, soup, rice, yogurt, chicken…its ALL good!
    Yes, I have made fresh pumpkin puree with roasted pumpkins and the oven worked its magic on the pumpkin resulting is something totally delish!
    Nothing major planned – maybe apple picking…church…dinner with parents…recovering from crazy eek :)
    Hope you have a wonderful weekend Holly!

  3. Obsessed with pumpkin EVERYTHING too, can’t wait for you to post about the pumpkin puree. I’m always looking for more ways to add pumpkin into my diet

  4. Pumpkins are THE best. I love everything pumpkin, too!

    I posted a killer pumpkin chocolate chip bread recipe that is one of my favorite things to make with pumpkin! Mmm!

  5. I made my first pumpkin pie and bread using pumpkin puree instead of can last year. I will never go back to a pumpkin pie in a can ever again. It’s so fresh and delicious.

  6. LOVE Pumpkin every thing. Love to see all the health benefits. :)

  7. Love Pumpkin everything! Love to see all the health benefits. :)

  8. Mmmmm pumpkin everything ;) My favorite way to eat it is just to microwave it with some peanut butter. And maybe some chocolate chips. I may or may not do that every night in the fall. :) I’d love to read your how-to-roast-pumpkin post!

  9. I love pumpkin! I’m glad to know its good for you too, because I have no plans to quit eating it any time soon.

  10. As if I needed another reason to ingest more pumpkin… ;)

  11. Long time no see.
    I am sorry.
    For now I’m busy every day in the work of photographer.
    It is busy preparing for Halloween in the United States.
    Halloween in Japan is a little lonely.
    Work will calm as soon as you get a contact.
    Good night!
    Ryoma sakamoto.Japan

    • Glad to see you back Ryoma! Sounds like you’ve definitely been busy. I’m sure photographer takes up quite a bit of time. The stores are filled with Halloween candy and costumes. I usually don’t dress-up for Halloween, but I do buy candy for trick or treating. Come to think of it, I really need to get some soon! Have a great weekend!

  12. Does it still count as healthy if I say that my favourite way to eat pumpkin is in bread with chocolate chips? ;) If not, then I -guess- I can settle for soup, chili, or just straight out of the can :D

  13. All hail the pumpkin!
    My husband and I are planning to take a trip to our local Whole Foods tomorrow in search of a pumpkin – fingers crossed they have some eating ones (all of our supermarkets in the UK only stock carving ones :-( )
    Then if we get one, we will come home and roast it for dinner! And if they dont have any we will go for a new variety of squash we havent tried before – autumn (fall) rocks!

  14. Of course, I’m on the pumpkin bandwagon! :-p In bread/muffins and soup have to be a favourite, but I also love just mixing a few tablespoons in my oatmeal or yogurt with some cinnamon and nutmeg. I always go the canned pumpkin puree route, but I’d be curious to try roasting my own sometime!

  15. Yay for pumpkin!! The more the better :). My current favorite way to eat it is in overnight oats, in breakfast bakes, and in muffins or cookies!

  16. I love pumpkin & my favorite way to eat it is to put it into my pancakes & baked goods. I love that it’s full of flavor & fiber! :) Have a great weekend!

  17. Woo hoo for pumpkin! I love that it’s good for you too. I’d say my favorite way to eat pumpkin is pumpkin pie with a big dollop of whipped cream on top. YUM!

    Happy Friday! :)

  18. you family must be full of green thumbs- so much home grown goodness!

    Pumpkin is available all year here in Australia, and its rarely eaten sweet- I love it roasted with garlic salt and olive oil- so good!

    Never thought to puree it myself- I buy the cans from the USA store (lol, yes we have a store where they import goods from the USA…SO EXPENSIVE though. kashi go lean = $14).

    Hope you have a great weekend…no shopping. ;)

    • I’m very lucky to have a family who grows so much. It’s just amazing how much better fresh produce tastes rather than buying it at the store.

      Oh my gosh, $14 for kashi go lean!?! That’s insane!

      I promise…no shopping! ;-)

  19. I love pumpkin! As the previous person commented, it’s a very popular food item here in Australia year round. Last night we had a pumpkin pizza at a restaurant (with feta, pine nuts, rosemary, balsamic glaze..). It was incredible!
    Have a great weekend :)

  20. I think if we changed the season to Pumpkin instead of Fall, people would so be on bored! I love how fall has become such a pumpkin season it is awesome!!!!!!! :)

  21. Love me some pumpkins! My favorite way to eat them is in pumpkin pie– probably not the healthiest, but oh my is it delicious and festive! Stopping by from the SITS Sharefest :) Have a great weekend!

    xo,
    Stephanie
    Diary of a Debutante
    http://www.stephanieziajka.blogspot.com

  22. I’ve only just learned how many Pumpkin things there actually are during this season. All thanks to my lovely fellow Bloggers! I tried Pumpkin Bread for the first time and I am absolutely In Love…that with my new favorite brew Pumpkin Spice Latte and I’m a happy Momma…

    I didn’t know of all the health benefits so thank you for that information! My Teenager has been begging to make a pumpkin pie from one of our Pumpkins…perhaps this year?

    Happy SITSSharefest!

  23. Grab Can Opener… Pop open can of Libby’s Pumpkin… Grab Spoon… DIG IN!

    That’s my favorite way to eat pumpkin! :D

  24. I Love Pumpkin! I’m not as creative with it as I’d like to be but trying to venture out and try new recipes. Created a Pumpkin Paleo Hummus I’m sharing tomorrow that turned out really good!

  25. Pingback: Totally Random Bits of Info #3 |

  26. Pingback: How to Make Fresh Pumpkin Puree |

  27. Pingback: Currently I’m… |

  28. Pingback: My Monday | Melanie's Life Online

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,274 other followers