WIAW #18 – A Day Off…Again

36 Comments

Happy, Happy Wednesday!  And, of course that means it’s time for WIAW!  It’s be a while since I posted about what I ate in a day, so I think it’s about time I changed that.  Okay, here we go…and of course, thanks to Jenn and her little chickpea for hosting!

Pre-Breakfast Snack

Since I had taken the day off of work yesterday (don’t you just love nice long weekends!?!), I slept it and didn’t start breakfast until close to 9:30 a.m.  As a result, I was super hungry when I got up, so I had a handful of granola to tie me over until my breakfast was ready.

Granola

Breakfast

Yup, still on my pancake kick, so I whipped up some of Alysia’s Pumpkin Pancakes and topped them off a small banana and 1 tbsp of melted chocolate peanut butter.  Boy, were they delicious and extremely filling!  I couldn’t even finish them all.

Pumpkin Pancakes

After breakfast, I threw in a load of laundry, did some blogging and then did a strength and conditioning workout by Brooke Burke (you can check out my full review here).  I made some modifications to ease up on my foot and all went well – no pain! I’m definitely on the mend! :-)

A.M. Snack

Since my breakfast was so filling, I skipped my morning snack.

Lunch

A hefty portion of organic spring mix topped off with my Red Pepper and Black Bean Quinoa Salad, and on the side some more crackers with Gouda cheese and sopressata (such a delicious combo!).

Salad Lunch

We are having the most gorgeous fall weather here in NJ, so after lunch I spent as much of the p.m. outside on the deck.  I started typing  up this post and got through quite a bit of Under the Dome.

P.M. Snack

The most delicious afternoon snack ever…Ashley’s Protein Cookie Dough!  Oh, how I love this stuff!!!

Protein Cookie Dough

Dinner

For dinner I made my Creamy Pumpkin Peanut Soup and had a small side salad, which consisted of some dried cranberries, sunflower seeds and balsamic vinaigrette.

Soup Dinner

After Dinner Snack

Not pictured, but I had a Apple Cobbler Kashi Soft ‘n’ Chewy Bar.

After we ate, I did some more reading and gave myself a much needed manicure.  Yesterday truly turned out to be a super relaxing day. Now I’m all refreshed and rejuvenated to go back to the craziness tomorrow! ;-)

What are your favorite things to do on your day off of work?

What’s your favorite breakfast to make on days when you’re not working?

How’s the weather in your neck of the woods?

36 thoughts on “WIAW #18 – A Day Off…Again

  1. I reallly want to try that pumpkin peanut soup! And those pancakes! I just ate breakfast and I saw these and now I’m hungry again! lol

  2. Ah I love granola. I munch on that stuff all the time. It’s such a tasty thing to just nibble on and it can be surprisingly satisfying (until an actual meal comes along) Those pancakes looks so tasty! That’s one thing I hate about working full-time during the week, I never get to take the time to make nice elaborate breakfasts. (But weekends can be good for that, if I can have a nice and easy morning without having to rush to go somewhere or do something!)

  3. OMG those pancakes and that drillze… ahhh <3

  4. You are the perfect pancake flipper… so impressive!

  5. That sounds like a perfect day off! We’re having some great fall weather down here in VA too, it’s so nice to see the sun again! Those pancakes look delicious! I haven’t made pancakes in a couple months, but now I’m thinking I should soon. Have a great day!

  6. Since I wake up so ridiculously early and have plenty of time to make breakfast, my breakfast doesn’t differ much from work and non-work days… oats with nut butter and some kind of sweetener for me :D

    And I’d have to say that spending time relaxing and pampering myself is probably one of my favourite things to do on days off… Nothing like a little down time and some TLC to get you ready to jump back in the game.

  7. Your dinner soup is sooo gorgeous!

    On days when I don’t have work or class, I love going out to breakfast. I don’t do it often (maybe once a month, max), but it feels to good to have somebody else do the cooking and cleaning.

  8. Those pancakes are so pretty! When I have days off, I like to go for pancakes or french toast – when I have the time for them I like my sweet breakfasts!

  9. If I have the day off work you better bet I’m whipping out the waffle maker! I love me my pancakes (i really do!) but if I have a little extra time it’s waffles for the win!

  10. I have yet to try protein cookie dough, but I know I would become addicted to it! Pancakes are always surprisingly filling, in my opinion – yours look so good!

  11. I NEED to try that protein cookie dough! It looks delicious! :-)

  12. I probably shouldn’t be reading this post right before lunch because it is making me hungryyy! haha I have that pumpkin soup on my weekly meal planning menu for next week – I’m excited to try it out!

  13. Your eats look delicious!!! I have to try that cookie dough!

  14. I really wish I had more time to make pancakes. I love them but if I have toast and fruit in the morning that is a success!

  15. You had a wonderful, delicious, food-filled day off :D I love anything cookie dough so protein would just be an added bonus. Looks like a tasty afternoon snack.

    The weather has been pretty windy and cool in my area. A nice change from the hot temps but I wish it would stay right where it is all winter long. I’m not ready for the sub 30 degree weather and icey sidewalks :(

  16. Lots of good looking eats! What is sopressata though?! An Italian meat I’m guessing?? We recently went to a brick oven pizza place and they had a ton of Italian meats I had never heard of…long story short mine ended up coming out with a lot of finely diced meat on it and I’m vegetarian haha

  17. Can you send me a day off……My brain has gone gaga.

    PS…you didn’t finish the pancakes? fail whale. Kidding, you depicted perfect intuitive eating. Bravo! Favourite lazy breakfasts are easily stovetop oatmeal or a protein smoothie..the latter mainly because the cleaning time is ridic.

  18. Love the look of those pancakes!

  19. It is YOU TUBE that was introduced Okayama Prefecture (English) Japan.
    Please refer to it.
    Ryoma:-):-)

  20. Those pancakes look unreal! What a nice way to start the day off from work. That salad and that soup look amazing too. I’m loving all of your eats! Glad you had such a nice day off.

    Honestly, if I have a day off work, I’m usually busy cooking/photographing for the blog or out and about exploring. It’s rare that I just relax anymore. That sounds bad, doesn’t it?

    • Thanks Sarah! Sounds like you need to take a day to yourself and do absolutely nothing or just do something you love without worrying about other obligations. Relaxing is so necessary sometimes! I hope you find time to do so asap!

  21. Couldn’t finish your pancakes? Oh man – you must’ve been full because those babies look delicious!!! Oh gosh, I wish I could give myself an @home manicure/pedicure – I just have no talent in the painting toes/nails department, Ha.

    • I’ve been practicing a lot trying to get good at doing the mani/pedi thing. I didn’t always want to spend $ at the salon, so I’ve been making myself do it on my own. I’m getting much better at it too!

  22. That protein cookie dough looks fantastic! I’m actually going to make it right now and take it to school haha

  23. I’m a sucker for pancakes too!!

    I didn’t realize that you live in NJ…. I was born and raised in Monmouth County and went to Montclair State University!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,277 other followers