WIAW #19 – Feeling Lazy

50 Comments

Happy, Happy Wednesday friends!  Boy, am I glad the weekend is in site!  And, as usual, I’m excited for WIAW…thanks to Jenn and her little chickpea for hosting!

Waking up yesterday morning was rather tortuous to say the least!  Picture this…it’s dark in the room, it’s cold in the house, I’m all warm and toasty in my flannel sheets, I’m sound asleep, then my alarm goes blaring at 6:35 a.m.   Whaaah!  So not cool! I don’t know what it is, but It’s so much harder for me to get up in the a.m. when it’s so dark outside.  I’d be lying if I said I didn’t consider going into work late, but my conscious got the better of me and I groggily got up and got myself ready for the day.  I didn’t feel like making a smoothie or, for that matter, putting much thought into my meals for the day, so I grabbed whatever was easy, decided to buy lunch and was off to work.  Talk about lazy…I know!!!  I just couldn’t help myself!  So, here’s a look at my lazy meals for the day.

Breakfast

My last cup of Love Grown Foods hot oats.  I added half a mashed up banana and half a scoop of vanilla protein powder to the oats, and then ate the other half of the banana on the side.

018A.M. Snack

Fresh pineapple and some raw almonds (FYI…I didn’t eat all of those almonds, just a handful).

020Lunch

My mom told me about this restaurant, which just so happens to be close by to work, that sells really good sandwiches and since I didn’t put any thought into lunch, yesterday ending up being the perfect opportunity to order myself some take-out.  I got a Panini sandwich with grilled chicken breast, sun-dried tomato pesto, roasted red peppers and melted provolone cheese with a side of cole slaw.  I was a little disappointed in my sandwich.  The provolone cheese was quite over-powering, but the cole slaw was pretty yummy.

I ended up eating in my car, and spend the rest of my lunch hour reading some more of Under the Dome (totally loving this book by the way!).

023P.M. Snack

Love Grown Foods oat clusters mixed into a blueberry Chobani Greek yogurt.

025Dinner = Leftovers from the Weekend

I had a bowl of Sweet Potato Red Pepper and Coconut Milk Soup.  This soup is amazing and can easily be customized to your taste.  Not to mention, it’s the easiest soup recipe I’ve ever made and hardly requires any prep work.  On the side, I had an organic baby spinach salad with some dried cranberries, sunflower seeds and a dash of balsamic vinaigrette, and a couple of bite-sized Mozzarella Beer Biscuits, which are delish by the way!

016

The rest of my evening was pretty uneventful.  I’m easing back into my normal workouts, so after dinner I did a strength workout, then relaxed for the rest of the evening and read some more.

Do you have days when you just don’t feel like making anything or putting much thought into your meals?

What do your lazy day meals consist of?

Is it harder for you to get up in the morning when it’s dark outside?

Favorite Greek yogurt flavor?

50 thoughts on “WIAW #19 – Feeling Lazy

  1. Favorite Greek yogurt flavor – Fage Orange Cinnamon. I have had one every day for the last few weeks! It is delicious!! :-)

  2. Thanks for trying my soup and what you said about it – customizeable, no prep, easiest soup ever – I totally agree! Thanks for trying it & linking up!

  3. my lazy day meals consist of going out for sushi! :) lol

    -Elise @ 9toFit.com

  4. Mmm I LOVE paninis! So perfect in the fall when it just starts to get chili :)

  5. …I mean chilly. Haha clearly I have food on the brain!

  6. I love grilled sandwiches! I think grilled cheese is probably my all time favorite, although I don’t eat it very often. My favorite lazy meals consist of oatmeal, breakfast (any time of day) and grabbing leftover soup out of the freezer.

  7. Your “lazy” meals still looks super good! I definitely have those days pretty often, that’s when I’m really glad I work across the street from a Panera :-)

  8. Paninis are awesome – such a great way to perk up a simple sandwich!
    I agree – so much harder to get up in the winter!!!

  9. Your lazy meals still look really good to me! Especially since my lazy day meals usually consist of a lot of cereal, ABJ sandwiches, and yogurt messes ;) And speaking of yogurt, my favourite is actually Oikos 2% plain. The flavoured ones are nice once in a while, but I love the tang of plain yogurt.

  10. I feel like all my meals are “lazy” but that doesn’t have to mean “unhealthy.” Throwing together a salad, a bowl of oats or whipping up a batch of soup is super easy and delicious.
    ps. adding bananas to oatmeal is pure perfection… yay for natural sweetness!

  11. Ha, for feeling lazy, you did a pretty good job of having some yummy and filling meals! That panini looks on point and those biscuits sound delicious! And wow yes to that soup! You and Leslee from Herhappbalance have posted soups the past few days that are making me wanna actually make things in the kitchen. Hmmm.

  12. My lazy day meals are just a bunch of snacks thrown together! Bars, Bananas/Almond Butter, Yogurts w/granola, etc. Although, if I’m being lazy at dinner time it’s usually pizza or a tuna sandwich. lol.

    I don’t know that I have a favorite greek yogurt flavor! Pumpkin maybe? Anything pumpkin is at the top of my list.

  13. If that’s what you call a lazy day of eats I’d say it’s a pretty great lazy day. Mine usually mean I’m not into trying new recipes and lunch will be an everything-but-the-kitchen-sink stew.
    Getting up in fall and winter can be such a drag. I remember when we had classes waaaay too early in university and I felt like the whole world was still asleep as I made my way to the subway station. That’s one part of student life I don’t miss.

  14. Love Grown + Chobani = a match made in delicious heaven. Nice lookin’ eats! :)

    Amy @ Chobani

  15. Just pinned the Mozzarella Beer Bites with the hopes I can modify to GF. Look yummy! Thanks for sharing link!

  16. Oh my gosh, I have such a difficult time getting up when it’s dark outside. I am supposed to get up and workout but all I want to do is sleep! My favorite Greek yogurt flavor is passionfruit!

  17. Mozzarella beer biscuits?! Need those! And that soup is gorgeous, and it looks sooo silky.

  18. Glad to hear that you’re liking the book so far! I think I’ll need to give it a re-read in the future. And ugh, getting up in the dark? Hate it…I’m pretty sure the time I get up is going to be pushed further and further back the longer it takes for the song to come up in the morning :-p
    Love Chobani Apple Cinnamon, if I’m not buying plain yogurt!

  19. your eats look great! it’s always a bummer when cheese overpowers a sandwich. sometimes i ask for it on the side and then add it myself. but with a panini you then miss that excellent melting action so i sometimes ask for “light cheese” in that case. i haven’t had love grown granola in what seems like eons but that pic of it in the cho just gave me a major craving for it! love the variety in your dinner. excuse me while i go look up those beer biscuits.

  20. I have at least two lazy meals a week. Currently my go-to lazy meals are Amy’s or Pacifica soups & tempeh BLT’s. Two dirty dishes max and hardly any prep/cook time ;)

  21. That panini LOOKS really good! Too bad it was disappointing. I’ve been on a spring mix/cranberry/balsamic kick lately too…I cant get enough!

  22. I definitely have days where I just don’t want to cook anything … at all. Although then I usually end up eating things that I don’t feel good about. lol. Oh well, it happens : )

  23. I now have a SERIOUS coleslaw craving!!!

  24. I definitely have days when I don’t feel like cooking or making anything. On those days, I usually make salads or have my husband pitch in! :)

    It’s very hard for me to get up when it’s still dark outside. My son loves to get up between 6 and 6:30 a.m., so I have no choice but to pull myself out of bed (as much as I don’t want to!).

  25. Those biscuits go perfectly with soup, don’t they! :)

    I definitely have days when I don’t want to put meals together. In fact, today is one of those days!

  26. This day looks awesome – couldn’t even tell it was a lazy day! lol
    I love fresh pineapple!! and that soup + mozz balls looks like heaven on a plate! :)
    -Sammy @ http://www.peaceandloveandicecream.com

  27. That panini looks delicious!

  28. That pannini sounds so good- pity it was a disappointment! I have a few lazy meal throwbacks often something hidden in my freezer!

    Best greek yogurt flavour is plain 2%- the perfect vehicle to a ton of topping!

  29. I haven’t put much effort into any of my meals lately! I’ve been busy/too tired to do anything exciting. Just lots of smoothies, salads, and easy on-the-go snacks like nuts, cheese, veggies, etc.

  30. I’m loving your lazy day eats!!! Mine tend to be quick stir fries or a big salad!

  31. The lazy day meals happen me to me more often than not! And girl I feel you with waking up before the sun does in my flannel jammies! NOT COOL!

  32. It’s soo hard for me to get going with my day when it’s dark and dreary outside- definitely not a fan! Lazy day meals, which has been rather frequent lately, are usually based around eggs, veggies & roasted squash! Avocado & hummus are necessities to round up the meal :)!

  33. Anytime I’m studying for more than one midterm in one week I get super lazy and literally eat scraps of food I find with little to no effort :)

  34. My favorite lazy day meal is probably a sweet potato with whatever veg I’ve got. It’s a definite go-to. My favorite greek yogurt flavor is plain and adding almond butter and pumpkin butter to it. Mmm

  35. Good morning!!
    Japanese diet is very plain and me.
    Sushi is the typical food of Japan.
    Japanese food UNESCO Intangible Cultural Heritage!
    French cuisine, Mediterranean cuisine, traditional dishes of Mexico, is 5 Items Following the porridge eating wheat in Turkey.
    What we are eating is culture. I think that it must be communicated to the next generation to cherish.
    Every day, I thank HoLLY.:-D:-D

  36. I am definitely struggling to get up in the mornings with the dark. I have run a few times with a head lamp but I just can’t get motivated. I like plain Greek Yogurt. And fairly certain every day is a lazy day. I try to prep as much as I can on Sundays.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,276 other followers