Sweet Potatoes Rule

51 Comments

TGIF friends!  This was literally the longest week in creation and boy am I glad it’s over!  Guess I shouldn’t be complaining, but works been on the slower side this week…I mean painfully slow.  My days were going by at a snails pace.  Yikes!  Glad the weekend is FINALLY here!

Okay, lets talk sweet potatoes on today’s Power Foods Friday!  For years growing up, my family always ate white potatoes.  In fact any time we had a family function, mashed potatoes (or roasted potatoes) would always be one of the side dishes.  After a while, I got completely sick of eating them – I just couldn’t stand it anymore.  My brother still requests mashed potatoes when he comes over for dinner, but I’ve tried to curb that request by making rice or something healthier for him.  We actually hardly ever buy white potatoes anymore.  Although Justin isn’t a fan, I much prefer sweet potatoes and will take them over regular ones any day!  Plus, you can do so much with them – they’re amazing roasted, baked, mashed, in fry form, added to soups, casseroles, salads, etc.

Sweet Potato CollageClockwise: roasted sweet potatoes with red onion, roasted sweet potatoes, red onions and pine nuts with tahini over baby spinach, load sweet potato (sauteed spinach and red onion, topped with goat cheese), Sweet Potato Microwave Muffin and Sweet Potato Red Pepper and Coconut Milk Soup.

I’m excited to report that sweet potatoes not only taste amazing, but they’re super healthy for your too.  Go figure, right!?!  Now I just need to get Justin to like them.  Any suggestions?  hehehe…just kidding!

On the agenda for the weekend…roasting up some pumpkins to make puree (a task that I was hoping to do last weekend, but never got around to it), putting the final touches on a recipe I hope to share with you next week (think pumpkin and chocolate!) and last but not least, an anniversary celebration on Sunday (Justin and I will have been married for 6 years!). Yay!

What’s your favorite way to eat sweet potatoes? 

Feel free to link-up any sweet potato recipes for me to try. :-)

Any plans for the weekend?

51 thoughts on “Sweet Potatoes Rule

  1. I just made some sweet potato chips today! Thanks for linking my Sweet Potato Red Pepper and Coconut Milk Soup!

  2. Happy Anniversary! Have a great weekend!! :-)

  3. Sweet potatoes are one of my favorite foods, I can literally have them any way and enjoy them ! But most of time I like to keep it simple.

    I am guilty though of enjoying a sweet potato fry or 20..

    -Elise @ 9toFit.com

  4. Happy anniversary pretty lady!
    Don’t have to tell me twice, I’m addicted to these bad boys. You should be on the lookout for white sweet potatoes – those are truly amazing.

    • Thanks Meghan! It’s funny you say that because I tried a white sweet potato for the first time over the weekend. I didn’t even know there was such a thing, but Justin had bought it my accident. Well, it certainly ended up being a good accident!

  5. So funny – I too grew up on white potatoes! I really never had a sweet potato until I met my husband – his family is and always was very into health and healthy foods/cooking. It’s amazing how amazing sweet potatoes are for you….and they’re so delicious!! :)
    Baked into fries or just baked as a whole they’re so good – usually I don’t even need any seasoning!
    -Sammy

  6. I love sweet potatoes! I don’t actually like white potatoes, like at all, so learning new sweet potato recipes is always fun.

  7. happy 6 year anniversary!! yay!! i know this isnt exactly healthy- but sweet potato fries are my favorite :) and omg pumpkin and chocolate- im so psyched for that recipe!!

  8. mmm love me some sweet potatoes! great post! I enjoyed reading about all of the health benefits!

  9. Hi Holly! Just popped over from Arman’s blog, and am excited to find yours! I adore sweet potatoes, and despite growing up in a white-potato-only family like yours, I know prefer them to white potatoes any day. My favorite is to slice them up, sprinkle them with salt and cinnamon, and roast for 20 minutes at 400. Sweet potato fries/ wedges! I have them the night before every single race … which means I need to make some tonight!

  10. ROASTED!!! However, I’m allergic to sweet potatoes so I have to eat them sporadically!

  11. What’s your favorite way to eat sweet potatoes?
    * Baked spicy sweet potato fries. YUM!

    Any plans for the weekend?
    * Massive amounts of HW & studying.

    Happy 6 year anniversary!!

  12. Definitely one of my favorite foods and I am still trying to figure out how to trick my family into ditching the white stuff for these. Sweet potato or squash is often my carb of choice at dinner. I feel much more satisfied after eating one. My favorite easy way is to roast it in the oven whole and sprinkle a whole lot of cinnamon once it’s ready!

  13. I LOVE sweet potatoes, definitely one of my favorite foods! Unfortunately Stu does not :/

  14. It was the same thing in my family growing up – my grandma would make a sweet potato dish at Christmas, but other than that we’d never have them. They’re a staple for me though. Eric really likes sweet potato fries (and so do I, obviously) so we make those a lot!

  15. Sweet potatoes DO rule! I am about to attempt my first-ever sweet potato smoothie for lunch, actaully.

  16. All of these look recipes with sweet potatoes look amazing! Especially Averie’s soup. I’ll have to try that one. I am a huge sweet potato fan.

  17. Happy 6th Wedding Anniversary to you guys this weekend! Have a fun celebration!

    I love sweet potatoes, one was my breakfast today! <3

  18. This makes me feel even better about the fact that I pretty much literally eat sweet potatoes every day of the week! ;)

  19. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Sweet potatoes! I don’t think I could actually live without them, seriously! I may even have a sweet potato addiction problem, hehe!

    On a serious note, they are pretty amazing and I really do eat them about 5-6 days a week. Either as a breakfast hash or for dinner at night.

  20. Oh and congrats on your 6 year anniversary!!! <3

  21. I’m actually not a huge fan of sweet potatoes….mainly because I had a terrible experience using frozen chunks when i was in a time pinch once… not good! Then, when I was in the US, I got given a sweet potato with sugar and marshmallows….Here its strictly a savoury dish!

    Although when its baked and topped with SAVOURY toppings, its amazing ;)

    Have a great weekend Holly! Enjoy the 6 year celebration!

  22. My husband LOVES sweet potatoes! I am not crazy for them but they are good!

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!!!!!!!!!!!! Enjoy your weekend!!!!!

  23. I love sweet potatoes. I’m actually making a soup with some later today! Funny…my husband isn’t a fan of them either! What is with these men?
    Happy Anniversary!! :)

  24. I’m so glad that it’s Friday…and your post is making me want to pick up some sweet potatoes tomorrow at the store! Like you, I grew up eating white potatoes. I couldn’t believe what I had been missing when I finally tried the white potatoes vibrant cousin. Thank you for sharing!

  25. Happy six years <3 <3 It's too funny that you published this post, because I was literally clueless on what I wanted to make w/ my sweet potatoes I needed to use up, Ha Ha.

    ps. Joshua & I are visiting the states again next September. I know it's still forever & a day away, but we WILL get together this time <3 <3

  26. Sweet potatoes are amazing! I love how versatile they are, you can have them for breakfast, lunch or dinner! I love keeping it simple, a baked sweet potato split open with some pumpkin seed butter or cottage cheese – yum!
    Really don’t like white potatoes at all – they are so bland! Such a problem over here in the UK though, whenever you go out for dinner every meal comes with some form of white potato… so frustrating! I’m always having to ask to sub it for veggies or salad. It’s like most people here wouldn’t consider it a ‘proper meal’ if it didn’t have white potato with it…crazy! (Rant over I promise :-) )

  27. Pingback: Martha Goes Meatless (Meatless Monday Recipe!) | Hummus Is My Homegirl

  28. Pingback: Baked Apple Sweet Potato Side Dish – A Thanksgiving Treat | jittery cook

  29. Pingback: Roast Spiced Cod With Sweet Potato Mash And Broccoli | The Recipe Box

  30. Pingback: Healthy Sweet Potatoes, Easy as Pie

  31. Pingback: Currently I’m… |

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,266 other followers