How to Make Fresh Pumpkin Puree

32 Comments

A couple of weeks ago I mentioned that we bought some pumpkins and I planned on making puree out of them. Well, I finally got around to doing it last weekend and I wanted to share with you a step by step tutorial of how I did it.

How to Make Fresh Pumpkin PureeFYI…I try to pick pumpkins that are on the smaller side when I’m using them for puree.  They’re much more manageable and easier to work with.

INSTRUCTIONS

1.  Wash the outside of the pumpkin really well to remove any dirt. I use a small amount of dish detergent and a scrub brush to get between the cracks, then dry the pumpkin off really well.

2.  Break off the stem and pierce it with a fork several times.  Place in the microwave for 5 minutes (it’ll be much easier to cut).

3.  Cut the pumpkin in half (Justin helped me out with this part).

Step 3 Pumpkin Collage4.  Scoop out the seeds and pulp with a metal spoon (I saved the seeds to roast up in the oven at a later date).

0335.  Cut the pumpkin into smaller pieces and arrange the pieces in a baking pan. Pour 1/4 inch of water over the pumpkins.

0346.  Bake at 375 degrees Fahrenheit for 45 -60 minutes or until fork tender. Smaller pieces require shorter baking time, so check the flesh for tenderness after 45 minutes and every five minutes after that.

7.  Remove from the oven and let cool. Scoop out the flesh and put in a blender to make puree (I like to use my Nutribullet for this job).  I find that adding a little bit of water into the blender helps it to blend much more easily.

038The final product will look something like this…

043I like to measure the pumpkin puree in 1 cup increments and place it into a sandwich bag to freeze for future use.  I got about 4 cups out of this particular pumpkin.

051And there you have it!  Making pumpkin puree isn’t hard to do, but it’s a bit on the tedious side.  It’s totally worth it though! Fresh pumpkin puree is waaaay better than the canned stuff!

Do you think you’ll try making your own fresh pumpkin puree?

Do you like to roast pumpkins seeds? 

32 thoughts on “How to Make Fresh Pumpkin Puree

  1. It is a soup of pumpkin in our house.
    I have grown in the fields of home.
    It is very delicious.
    Ryoma

  2. Great tutorial, Holly! I’ve never tried making my own pumpkin puree, but you make it look so easy! My family used to roast pumpkin seeds back when I was younger, but it’s something we haven’t done in years and years. And it’s kind of sad to look back at the pumpkin carving days and remember that we used to toss away all the flesh — I honestly had no idea pumpkins were edible until I started blogging :lol:

  3. Maybe it’s the lazy side of me speaking but I’ve never thought about actually making my own pumpkin puree. But this doesn’t look too bad. thanks for the tutorial!

    -Elise @ 9toFit.com

  4. So funny you published this, because just Sunday evening Joshua was telling me that some of the Indians he works with we’re hoping I could make them pumpkin pie with some pumpkins they had. I kind of sort of laughed @ the idea since I didn’t have the slightest clue how to make fresh pumpkin puree. I guess I have no excuse now :X Ha Ha!

  5. is it wrong that i want to hoard all the pumpkins now? YUM!

  6. So funny! I just started following your blog after your SITS day and we posted the same post yesterday! Your tutorial is a little different, but they both work so that’s great to know :)

  7. Don’t have a Nutribullet, but this method is better than mine. I like the microwave softening step to make cutting easier.

  8. Homemade pumpkin puree is always 100x more smooth and flavourful than canned and now you’re motivating me to get on it and whip some up!

  9. I am so excited that you posted this! I guess I know what I’ll be doing Saturday.

  10. ok so this is totally creepy but i am like, terrified of fresh pumpkin. i’d rather take fresh food over canned food ANY DAY except for pumpkin. I can’t imagine eating it fresh like that. i know, i’m a freak of natureeeeee.

  11. I’m sooo happy you shared this today!!! I have been wanting to make pumpkin puree for so many years and never get around to doing it! I’m not giving up this year! Thanks for sharing, I never even went as far as looing it up on google. I never realized how simple it was to make!

  12. I’m impressed Holly! Making homemade pumpkin puree seems like something really challenging but you make it look easy. I like how you can portion it so that you only use what you need, unlike when you buy a can. I bet it taste 1,000 better in recipes too!

  13. I bet it is way better than canned! I’ve never actually made my own before, though. Thanks for the tips on how to break into it, I’m always afraid I’m gonna cut my arm off!

  14. Making pumpkin puree is so easy! I was inspired to do so a few weeks ago when I saw Jessica at How Sweet It Is post about making pumpkin puree. I wish my store still had pie pumpkins, but they were all gone this week. So sad!

  15. You make it look so easy! I’ve never made my own pumpkin puree, but now I don’t really have an excuse.

  16. What a great step by step tutorial. I have never made my own pumpkin puree before but one year I did roast up a pumpkin to eat like a squash. It would be fun to have healthy homemade pumpkin puree to use in baked goods… and eat with a spoon!

  17. Genius! I make pumpkin puree but takes me for-ev-er!!!! This is an awesome tutorial, definitely using this next time!

  18. Perfect timing! I have a sugar pie pumpkin sitting on my counter and I have been putting off doing something with it. I will use this recipe !

  19. Won’t lie to you – I am a HUGE Libby’s Pumpkin Puree fan! LOL! So I think I am gunna stick with that, however, I do like to buy pumpkins and just roast em :)

  20. Pingback: . link love 11/10 . | . running with spoons .

  21. Pingback: Thanksgiving 2013 Recap – Survey Style |

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,274 other followers