WIAW #27 – A Recipe Review

42 Comments

Happy Wednesday!!!

Its been several weeks since I joined in on the WIAW link-up (a big thanks to Jenn for hosting), so I’m super excited to be back to my regularly scheduled blogging routine and join in on the party!

I’m sure you all know by now I have a slight huge obsession with trying new recipes. I mean…it’s just so much fun! Something I want to start doing more often is dedicating posts to the new (and outstanding) recipes I’ve tried, and doing a full review on my thoughts. Today is one of those such days!!! Get excited!!!

It’s no secret that I’m in love with my slow cooker! It’s one of those kitchen appliances that always gets used and rarely stays in the closet. So, when I saw Alexis’ recipe for Super Easy Chickpea, Brown Rice & Broccoli Crockpot Casserole, it was on my list of must try immediately recipes, and I had the chance to do so this past Sunday.

Slow Cooker RiceNow, I’ll admit that it isn’t necessarily the most attractive looking meal I’ve tried, bu I could care less about that because boy was it deeelicious! I absolutely loved it and have been eating it for lunch everyday this week. Alexis says it’s like broccoli cheese soup’s cousin and I have to say that I most definitely agree with that statement.

The weather has been super cold here lately, so I found this to be a perfect comfort food on these frigid winter days. Hot, creamy, cheesy, flavorful and just plain fab! Oh and FYI, it’s super tasty topped with a little more cheddar cheese!

Slow Cooker Rice1And now lets talk food prep…easy peezy! It took me about 5 minutes to put together. Aside from chopping up some garlic and onion, you literally throw everything into the slow cooker, stir, set and walk away. Love it!

The other thing I greatly appreciated about this recipe is that I had all the ingredients on hand. I don’t like when recipes call for lots of weird ingredients that I have trouble finding in the grocery store, so this one worked out perfectly!

Slow Cooker Rice2THANK YOU to Alexis for creating another tasty recipe!!!

Oh and if you’re interested in making this dish, be sure and click HERE for the recipe!

Do you enjoy reading recipe reviews?
What’s the lastest and newest recipe that you’ve tried?
Favorite places to look for new recipes?

P.S. – Thanks for all your input on yesterday’s post!!! I really appreciate all your suggestions! :-)

42 thoughts on “WIAW #27 – A Recipe Review

  1. Holly, this dish looks delicious. I’m a huge fan of recipe reviews. Such a fantastic way to find new bloggers and recipes.

  2. I love reviews of new recipes ;) Often I choose checked simple рецпты, but sometimes something new is necessary too! It seems to me, Pinterest – the best place for search of new recipes. I come there to find the recipe for a dinner, and I stop, attaching hundreds recipes on the boards ;)

  3. You had me at chickpeas and when brown rice and broccoli joined the mix I was all ears. I absolutely appreciate recipe reviews especially because there are just SO many recipes out there and it’s hard to pick one to try. Knowing that not only the author but others with different palates enjoyed it – or didn’t if that’s the case – is a great decision-making aid.
    The latest recipe I tried was Happy Herbivore’s Skinny Puttanesca that I also reviewed in my post today. I might have to think about getting more detailed with my reviews, too, if it’s something others enjoy.

  4. crockpot recipes make me so, so happy. So easy, and dinner’s ready when you walk in the door! Can’t go wrong ;-) Last night I made Iowa Girl Eats Skinny Cheese Chicken and Broccoli Rice Casserole, which I was really happy with.

  5. I seriously love that you try and review so many different recipes! There are so many good ones out there that it’s hard to decide on which one to try, so having someone’s input definitely helps. And that casserole… hoooooooly.dang. Add that to the list of reasons why I NEED to buy a slow cooker!

  6. Delicious meal – I think it looks great!

  7. Thanks so much for the fabulous review, Holly! I ate this dish up SO fast when I made it, and now I think it’s about that time to make it again! Crockpot recipes are just the best. Looking forward to more recipe reviews in the future!

  8. I think you’ve convinced me to dig out my crockpot, Holly! I hear you on hard-to-find ingredients. All of these things are what I usually have on hand, too.

  9. Pinterest and WIAWs are my favorite places to look for new recipes! Or recipe ideas… then google does the rest ;)

    Going back to read the blog highlights now.

  10. Mhmm this looks SO good! And I mean, c’mon, anything that’s described as “Hot, creamy, cheesy, flavorful…” MUST be delicious! Glad to see you joining in on the WIAW fun :D

  11. Those ingredients are some of my favorite foods! It seems so simple and healthy! I prefer recipes with few ingredients and I’m in love with my crockpot!

  12. Love recipe reviews! I tried a new red beans and rice recipe in the crock pot this weekend and it turned out great…blogged about it yesterday, as a matter of fact! I get a TON of them from pinterest but foodgawker has my eyes as well.

  13. That looks awesome – thanks for the link pinned it to try!!!
    I love recipe reviews because sometimes a small change helps and if someone else has already figured that out then I like to hear about it!!

  14. Yum!! I SO want to make this. And yes, it may not be the prettiest, but sometimes those are the BEST dishes!

  15. Yes, I rely heavily on reviews when I’m looking to try a recipe out for the first time. When a lot of people have made it and it still has a high rating that is always a good sign :) Crockpot recipes are the best, it smells great all day and makes life so much simpler.

  16. YES! I reckon this should be a feature on here- You are the BEST at making other blogger recipes and this review has been great and honest- and who are we kidding, topping things with cheese makes it THAT much better. Ugly food trumps pretty food when it comes to taste. :)

  17. I almost always find that the best damn recipes are the ones that don’t turn out looking the most photogenic! I bet that stuff was amazing!! :) And I’m a sucker for anything that’s ‘easy peezy!’ <<such cute wording!! :)

  18. I love finding recipes on food gawker! I don’t like to try recipes if I can’t see what they look like and since food gawker food is so beautiful I want to make everything!

  19. Pingback: Totally Random Bits of Info #6 |

  20. I love reading recipe reviews! Thank you for sharing this one! I really need to use my crock pot more often; there are so many great recipes out there for it. I find a lot of great recipes on Pinterest. I had a bit of an obsession with Pinterest this time last year and needed to take a little hiatus. :) I may hop back over there though to see if there are any new recipes to try!

  21. Oh I just love love love casseroles like this! My mom was the master of casseroles…that is one thing I truly miss from living at home. This looks delicious!

  22. Pingback: WIAW #28 – Sunday Eats |

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,279 other followers