WIAW #28 – Sunday Eats

51 Comments

Well hello there friends! I hope you enjoyed yesterday’s guest post! Every once in a while, I’m going to have some guest posts for you. It’ll break things up a bit, and this way you don’t have to listen to me ramble all the time! ;-) So, if you’re ever interested in doing a guest post on the blog, please let me know!

Anywho…you all know what day it is…WIAW! I’m highlighting my eats from Sunday, so lets get started, shall we?! As always, thanks to Jenn for hosting!

Breakfast

Sunday morning started off on the lazy side. We woke up late and watched some TV (specifically some Animaniacs on Amazon Instant Streaming!). It was SO nice to relax and not have somewhere to run off to right away. After some relaxing, then it was time to get up and eat breakfast. I wanted something quick and easy because I was doing a Target run and I wanted to get there before it got insanely crowded.

Fast and easy = oatmeal with mix-ins of vanilla protein powder, cinnamon, coconut flour and a defrosted berry medley (raspberries, blackberries and strawberries), topped with almond butter and coconut flakes. I know this looks like a sloppy mess, but it was delicious and oh so filling!

Oatmeal BreakfastA.M. Snack

A couple of these energy bites. I’ll be posting the recipe in the coming weeks along with an exciting giveaway!

Energy BitesLunch

I was trying to use up some things in the fridge that I didn’t want to go bad, so this ended up being a mish mosh of leftovers. Over a corn tortilla was sautéed spinach (with cottage cheese, sour cream and an egg in the mix), topped with some leftover onions and peppers. I know, pretty weird! I had no idea how this was going to turn out, but it actually was pretty tasty! And afterwards, I had a banana.

Spinach LunchThe weather on Sunday turned out to be really nice, so Justin and I went for a walk after lunch. The sun was actually shining and despite the fact that it was windy, the temperatures were in the 40s. FINALLY! Crossing my fingers that the polar vortex won’t be coming back!

P.M. Snack

Nothing too exciting – just a granola bar (not pictured).

Dinner

Justin hadn’t grilled in a while and since the weather was nice, he threw some chicken on the grill. On the side, I had leftover casserole that I talked about in my recipe review last week, steamed broccoli and some chai green tea.

Chicken Rice Dinner

Dessert

Some Chocolate Chip PB Dessert Hummus (you can expect a recipe review on this one for sure!) on whole wheat Ritz crackers. Ummm…amazing!

PB Cookie DoughAfter dinner, I got my things ready for work the next day, did some blogging and watched Downton Abbey! I won’t spoil anything just in case you haven’t seen it, but Sunday’s episode was a good one!

Well, that’s all for today! I’ll see you in the a.m.! :-)

What do you like to do on lazy Sunday mornings?
Do you enjoy having a little something sweet after dinner?
Do you watch Downton Abbey?

51 thoughts on “WIAW #28 – Sunday Eats

  1. That lunch! It looks so good! I’m such a sucker for spinach! I love sunday mornings – it’s the one day a week that I actually do sleep in a little bit and just take my time – so nice : ) Have some coffee, read a little ….

  2. On lazy Sundays I always make omelets they are so fast and yummy!

  3. I love homemade energy bites, can’t wait for the recipe (oh and the giveaway!)

  4. I need to make some more energy balls, I love how simple they are to take to work and on the go! Thanks for sharing the recipes too, they look great!

  5. Soppy mess? I actually think your breakfast looks pretty darn amazing. The coconut flakes make me think of a fresh sprinkling of snow, buuuuut that might have to do with the fact that it’s been snowing on and off for the past couple of days around these parts. And those energy bites… I want them in my life.

    Sweets after dinner = necessity. In fact, sweets after every meal [that isn't sweet] = necessity :D

  6. I need to make some energy balls… for real. Last time I made them was.. when I first started my blog I think, back in 2012! That’s a long time! haha

  7. Off to check out that hummus recipe immediately! I always like to have something sweet at night to end the day with…although really, I can go for something sweet pretty much all the time ;-)

  8. Those energy bites look delicious!! Give me recipe nooooow. I’ve had that choc chip hummus before….never made it myself but I have had it and it is so good! YES I watch Downton Abbey–scandalous episode! Love that show.

  9. Looks like a delicious day! I just started Downton Abby on Saturday. I’m only one one episode in so I don’t know what I think yet, but I’m sure my interest will keep growing as I continue!

  10. Your oatmeal with lots of mix-ins looks a lot like my usual breakfast! I like to put in as much as possible so the oatmeal is balanced and filling. Today’s had a PB & strawberry jam flair to it :)

  11. I am looking forward to those energy bites recipe – Yum!

    I am in LOVE with Downton Abbey. I want to re-watch the first episode from this season before I watch the 2nd. I felt like so much was happening at once that I missed a lot of what happened…

  12. I love the fact that you started your day with animaniacs! I’m not the only one who still watches cartoons!
    Downton is one of the very few shows that we get here in the UK first! I won’t spoil anything but it’s a good season!
    Oh and I would love to guest post for you anytime if you would have me!
    J x

    • haha…nope, definitely not the only one to still watch cartoons! They’re the best!

      I look forward to watching more of it! This was only the 2nd episode, but it certainly looks like it will be a good season!

      Fabulous! I’ll email you in the coming weeks and we’ll set something up for guest posting. Thanks! :-)

  13. That dessert hummus sounds amazing!! I am SO looking forward to that one!

  14. OK I am crazy intrigued about this dessert hummus!

  15. I agree that dessert sounds amazing!!!
    I’ve heard so much about Downtown Abby, but I’m probably one of the only people in the world who still hasn’t seen an episode:(

  16. I haven’t made energy bites in awhile. I love them because they’re so easy and I can freeze them usually.

    I haven’t tried dessert hummus. I attempted the blondie recipes with garbanzo beans but have never had success.

  17. your sunday eats sound like perfection!! <3 that choc chip hummus?!? holy wow! so cool!
    and somehow, i always wind up being at target during their busiest times wanting to blow my brains out. i hate shopping in a crowded store. :)

  18. Wow animaniacs are a huge throw back for me! That and Ritz crackers :) They used to be my favorite and I’m pretty sure I could down an entire package. I love Downton and have been watching online. I’m intrigued to see how they carry on without Matthew.

  19. OMG….that dessert hummus looks to good to be true! Can’t wait to hear more :)

  20. I always am eager for something sweet after a dinner… Usually it is couple of stings of chocolate or hot cocoa! On Sunday morning I like to have breakfast in a bed :D I take the plate, I stack the laptop nearby and I watch any show, eating oatmeal ;)

  21. gimme those balls! haha i mean energy bites. You know i am a fan. hehe

  22. Ugly food > aesthetic food. I’d faceplant that breakfast!

    And dessert hummus? Amazing. Don’t you love it when concoctions work out well?

    I often do have something sweet after dinner- greek yogurt or casein pudding but both always with peanut butter.

    • Well, I wish I could take credit for that hummus because it’s SO amazing! I can’t wait to do a full review on it!

      I do love when concoctions turn out well though! I have a chia seed pudding experiment in the fridge right now. Keeping my fingers crossed that it turns out good!!!

  23. Those oats look berry amazing! (Haha.. I’m lame.. :P )
    All are good eats for a Sunday!

    What.. Dessert hummus? I want in.

  24. I cannot even begin to tell you how many times I’ve made a similar chocolate chip pb hummus dip before. If you ever need to bring a dish to a party – make it! I promise, the guests will be blown away & you’ll pretty much be the star of the partyyy :)

  25. Pingback: WIAW #29 – Chocolate Chip PB Dessert Hummus |

  26. Pingback: Drool Worthy Pins #6 |

  27. Pingback: Chocolate Cherry Vanilla Almond Bites and NuNaturals GIVEAWAY |

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,139 other followers