WIAW #29 – Chocolate Chip PB Dessert Hummus

54 Comments

Good morning and Happy WIAW – my favorite day of the week! A big shout out to Jenn for hosting!

Remember how last week, I mentioned that I had tried out a new recipe for dessert hummus? Well, since it has become my new obsession and I promised to tell you more about it, I think today is the perfect day for a recipe review.

I’ve made this Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Dessert Hummus from Kori @ Paint + Tofu for the past two weeks in a row. All ingredients, with the exception of the chocolate chips, all go into the blender and that’s all there is to it. The hardest part is waiting an hour for it to set up in the fridge before it’s ready to eat! ;-)

Dessert Hummus1Obviously, the main ingredient is chickpeas, and with the use of powdered peanut butter and Stevia as the sweetener, it really is a guilt-free dessert option. You would seriously never know that you’re eating a “healthy” dessert. It tastes so decadent!

I substituted the chocolate chips for cacao nibs because that’s what I had on hand. They worked out just perfectly and they add that little bit of crunch that I like so much.

Dessert Hummus2I’ve been bringing this dessert hummus to work everyday and using it as my afternoon snack. I enjoyed eating it the most with an organic Gala apple, but it was also tasty on whole wheat Ritz crackers as well.

Dessert HummusTo check out the full recipe for this Chocolate Chip PB Dessert Hummus, click HERE!

I hope you get a chance to make it sometime. You definitely won’t be sorry if you do!

Have you ever tried a dessert hummus before?
What type of snack would you use to dip into this hummus?
Yay or nay to “healthy” desserts?

54 thoughts on “WIAW #29 – Chocolate Chip PB Dessert Hummus

  1. I’m so glad you fell in love with this like I did!!! Yours looks great :)

  2. This would be perfect paired with apple slices !

  3. I could see myself really getting into this!

  4. Chocolate PB hummus?!?! I need that in my life girlfriend! Thanks for sharing the recipe link :)

  5. I saw the worlds dessert and hummus in the same sentence……. Need to make this ASAP!! Thanks for the link :D

  6. Yum! Thanks for sharing.

  7. So delish! I just made a chocolate peanut butter dessert hummus for Simple Truth and it is freaking amazing!! Seriously obsessed.

  8. I’ve never tried dessert hummus before, but thats mainly because they don’t sell it in stores, and I’ve been too lazy to make my own :lol: Seriously… I’ve had a can of chickpeas sitting in my pantry for probably a year now, and I keep meaning to make hummus, but it has yet to happen. Dessert hummus might just be the thing to persuade me, though.

  9. Just added this to my ‘make this weekend’ list! This looks so good!!

  10. Yup, definitely need to make this and I actually have all the ingredients sitting around! I’ve never made a dessert hummus, but to be honest, anything with ‘dessert’ in the title tends to grab my attention ;-) this would be amazing with graham crackers!

  11. Ummm ok so that looks delicious!! Might have to bookmark that bad boy! Thanks for sharing!

  12. Dessert Hummus sounds like THE best thing, ever.

  13. Love this paired with fruit! Perfect snack for a sweet tooth :)

  14. That hummus looks amazing! I’m definitely going to try it, but hmmmm you’ve got me wondering what to use to dip into the hummus that is equally as guilt free?!

  15. I have never had dessert hummus. I like hummus with some sort of flatbread not so much veggies.

  16. Oh this does sound good! I usually have some hummus and carrots as my afternoon snack.

  17. Dessert Hummus = Mind Blown! I am so excited for that recipe and a new blogger to follow! Thanks for sharing Holly!

  18. I’ve never heard of dessert hummus…I’d definitely give it a try. I love healthy desserts….the best of both worlds!

  19. Any dessert is good in my book. I have tried a cookie dough dip with ricotta or really I tried one that my coworker made.

  20. Wow, I would never have thought it had chickpeas in it..but it is hummus so stupid me!

    It looks so good though- like cookie dough!

  21. I pinned that recipe recently actually and plan to try it out sometime yet this week! I’m super (maybe a little too) excited for it! :)

  22. yumm! I have tried a dessert hummus once but it didn’t turn out I may have to give this one a try!

  23. I haven’t had dessert hummus in ages, but thank you for reminding me how much i love it. I have a Costco sized bag of chocolate chips in my cupboard right now…. uh oh….

  24. Yep, this must be made ASAP. This series is such a great idea because so often, I’ll see a recipe online and the first thing I want to know is if other people have tried it, so I know if it’s worth making. Can’t wait to try it!

  25. I LOVE dessert hummus! And actually, I have made almost this very same recipe myself, but never posted it. I have posted a few though…red velvet cake, carrot cake, pb&j, and mint chocolate chip are some of my favorites! Apples and graham crackers are usually my go-to dunkers! I get a few odd looks, but I stick firm to my guns with “Don’t knock it till ya try it!” haha!

  26. Dessert hummus!? I’ve never heard of such a thing but I’m loving what I see. Looks delicous! Definitely need to check out the recipe. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,259 other followers