Totally Random Bits of Info #9

44 Comments

1. If you haven’t done so already, don’t forget to enter the NuNaturals GIVEAWAY! Four winners will be chosen! Your prize…one bottle each of the Lemon, Cherry Vanilla and Peppermint Flavored Stevia Liquids, PLUS a 50 packet box of our NuStevia White Stevia Powder packets. It ends tonight at midnight EST and the winners will be announced Friday morning!

NuNaturals Logo Helping 4 x 42. I came across THIS POST about 5 Ways to Make Better Kale Chips. The past few times I tried making kale chips, they didn’t turn out all that well, so these tips are going to be super helpful for my next attempt at making them.

3. Remember a few weeks ago, I participated in my first Twitter chat with Lands’ End and Courtney @ Sweet Tooth Sweet Life, and I won a few prizes? Well, my prizes arrived this past weekend! The duffel bag is ginormous and the beach towel is awesome! We’ll definitely be getting a lot of use out of it come summertime.

Landsend4. I’ve recently realized that my blog has been focusing a lot more on food related posts. Not that that’s a bad thing seeing as healthy eating is a big part of my life; although, exercise is too, so I’m going to make more of an effort to include some more fitness related posts from here on out.

5. Purple!!!

6. I have absolutely no idea why, but for the past few days I’ve been humming Christmas songs – Hark How the Bells, We Wish You a Merry Christmas. So weird! Maybe all this snow is getting me in the Christmas mood; although, it’s a bit late for that. Ha!

7. Check out this post on the different ways to use baking soda. Who knew it could be so useful!?!

8. Over the next several weeks, it’s likely I’ll be posting rather sporadically (although, I hope to have some guest posts for you). I’m entering into a crazy busy time at work – I’m going to be completely engrossed in one of my cases during the day and it’ll likely leave me emotionally drained by the evening, so that doesn’t leave much room for writing posts. No worries though, things will go back to normal  on the blog just as soon as this case is put to rest, which I’m hoping will be before the end of the month.

9. The other day, I found out that I won a bag of Smart Balance Peanut Butter Nuggets from a giveaway Melanie was hosting on her blog. Let me tell you…these little popcorn balls are AMAZING…like I had to stop myself from eating the entire bag in one sitting good! Plus, I received these in the mail the very next day after Melanie announced that I won and sent her my contact info. Smart Balance certainly doesn’t waste any time!

PB Nuggets10. And last not but not least, I want to give a big shout out and say THANK YOU to Amanda for hosting this link-up! I love writing up these posts and enjoy reading random thoughts from others! :-) Aaaaand if you haven’t linked-up before, definitely head on over to Amanda’s blog to check out all the details!

Have you ever tried making kale chips before?
Do you ever find yourself humming Christmas songs out of season?
Which do you prefer more…food posts or fitness related posts?

44 thoughts on “Totally Random Bits of Info #9

  1. you win a lot of prizes. I need to follow you around. haha. And i need to try those pb nuggets

  2. I haven’t! I wonder if frozen kale will work too!

  3. We use baking soda for evvvvverything. I even used it for face wash for a long time – but my skin is too try in the winter for that.

  4. Wasyoku of Japan is registered in the intangible cultural heritage of UNESCO.

    XOXXOO:-)
    Ryoma.Japan

  5. Love, love, love baking soda! I actually use it to exfoliate my face a few times a week, and it seriously works wonders. Gentle enough that it doesn’t leave my skin feeling tight and dried up, but super effective at getting all the dead skin off. Gold. And I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve had Deck The Halls or Jingle Bells stuck in my head at the most inopportune times. Apparently I need to move to the North Pole or something, but I don’t think I could handle any more snow…

  6. I saw that article on kale chips too and need to reattempt them myself!
    As for posts, food posts are always my fave ;)

  7. I’m so glad you’re enjoying the delicious bites as much as I did!

  8. That’s so awesome that you’ve won several giveaways lately! I’m so jealous! :) I love that bag too! So cute! Good luck with your case (are you a lawyer?) these next few weeks! I feel ya when it comes to work taking the best outta you. You can do it!!!!!

  9. Thank you for this post. I also burn my kale in to small overly fried out crispy critters that are not tasteful at all. And then I just gave up. Now, I might try them again.

  10. I’ve attempted (key word) to make kale chips several times before and none of them have tasted good. Actually, they tasted pretty awful…I need to check out that post!

  11. Those peanut butter popcorn nuggets would not last long in my hands! ;) I find myself humming Christmas songs sometimes, too- I mean, we’re saturated in them for nearly two months of the year, so it makes sense that some songs would be in our head long after the holiday season is over.
    And baking soda! I love it for cleaning the sink & toilet- even cleaning out the drain!
    Hope you get plenty of down time and your case isn’t too stressful, Holly.

  12. I’ve only tried to make kale chips once or twice, and they….weren’t great. Maybe next time ;-) And I want that popcorn! Looks amazing.

  13. I adore kale chips – and homemade is best!

  14. Totally with you on the Christmas tunes… Who knows how they get into my head out with the festive period but they do!

  15. I tried making kale chips once – I don’t think I turned on the right temp though and they weren’t crispy. I want to give it another shot when I move and get an actual oven though!

  16. I MUST get the peanut butter popcorn nuggets. I love peanut butter & popcorn. My mouth is drooling just thinking about them! I understand what you mean by finding time to post when you have a busy work week. Do you have any advice for balancing your blog and work?

    • You would love them! I find that I do a lot of blogging on the weekends, and try to write posts ahead of time (whenever possible). That really helps quite a bit and takes some of the pressure off.

  17. I have never made kale chips but I want to! PB popcorn nuggets hmmm sound interesting but I like almost anything PB so I imagine I’d like them. Good luck at work!

  18. Haha eat as much of those popcorn nuggets as you can before march 3rd ;)

    I tried making kale chips several times. After a bite, they disintegrated lol!

  19. I have made kale chips, but it’s been a long time. Thanks for the reminder! As for Christmas music, same here. Sometimes I sing to Ethan, and Christmas tunes are just so darn singable!

  20. Re #8 – take care of yourself lady! I know how difficult it is to be crazy busy at work <3 And I'm loving the food posts :) Even though I don't comment all of the time (crazy work schedule here!), I love reading your recipes!

    • Thanks so much Becky! I definitely need to keep calm and de-stress as much as possible in order to get through the next few weeks.

      And, I’m so glad you’re enjoying the recipes! Those my favs to post!

  21. So cool that you won! And the picture “Purple” is GORGEOUS.

  22. I still can’t find those nuggets!!! I’m on a mission (which might take me south of the border) but it will happen!

  23. Pingback: A Typical Week of Workouts |

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,277 other followers