10 Things You May Not Know About Me

64 Comments

And just like that…the weekend is over! These past two days just flew by! Jeesh!

Soooo, I read a ton of different blogs everyday, and I love getting to know the person behind the blog, so in an effort for you to get to know me better, I’m sharing 10 things about me you may not know! Alrighty, here we go…

10 Things You May Not Know About Me1. When I was little, I had a pet goose named Quackers (I still love that name…hehe!). I got him when he was born – in fact, my dad helped him come out of his shell. I took care of him, took him on car rides and distinctly remember carrying him around in an orange towel. When he got older, he absolutely hated me and chased me around the lawn when I went outside. Funny thing is, he loved my dad. Go figure!

2. When I was born, I was crossed eyed (it was actually even much worse when I was first born). Obviously (and luckily), that fixed itself. Phew!

scan00123. When I was in my early teens, I had an irrational fear of black socks. Don’t ask me why, but I hated them and they totally freaked me out. I know…totally weird!

4. I’m a terrible sleeper and very rarely get a full nights sleep. I usually fall asleep fairly quickly (although not always), but I wake-up a few times a night, my mind starts wondering and I can’t get back to sleep until about an hour before my alarm goes off. So annoying!

5. I wear glasses; although only at night and when my allergies are acting up in the spring/summer and my eyes are irritated. The rest of the time, I wear contact lenses.

This photo was taken in 2008. I can’t believe how short my hair was!

IMG_18686. I was a vegetarian for about 10+ years. It wasn’t until the past 5 years or so, that I started eating meat again; although, I still don’t eat red meat.

7. I talk to my mom on the phone while I’m driving to work every single day (without fail), and I talk to Justin on the phone when he’s driving home from work every single day (without fail). It’s pretty much part of my daily routine.

8. Four items that are always in my purse…EOS lip balm (love that stuff), deodorant (you never know when you might need to freshen up or in an emergency when you forget to put it on in the a.m. – oops!), Purell (germ freak here!) and Altoids (a must).

Items in Purse9. I’ve mentioned in the past that I work with crime victims. I’ve worked in this capacity for just about 6 1/2 years. During that time I’ve worked with victims and families affected from assaults, domestic violence, burglaries, thefts, murder, and in my current position, I work with victims of child abuse and sexual assault. My job can definitely be very rewarding, but also very trying and emotionally draining.

crimevictimadvocatebanner10. I’m short – I’m on 5′ 3″ hence the need to wear 3 inch heels practically all the time. I like to make myself feel and look taller than I really am! ;-)

Did you have any irrational childhood fears?
What kind of work do you do?
Name 4 things that are always in your purse.

64 thoughts on “10 Things You May Not Know About Me

  1. Ha Ha Ha Ha! The goose story had me rolling. How horrible and scary that Mr. Quackers would chase you though. I would’ve been heartbroken if my pet turned on me :(

  2. My irrational fear steams from this horrible creepy plastic robot panda toy that this girl gave me for my birthday in 6th grade…it had glowing green eyes. My mom and brother would play tricks on me and stick it in my bed so when I hopped under the covers to go to bed at night, it would be there waiting. I have always found pandas creepy ever since. (Luckily I hid that thing where no one would find it, and I know it is still in the house somewhere, but the thing it is hidden in got moved so I am not sure where it is now, but I know it is still in the house, haha!
    Your job must be so interesting to go to everyday! I could only imagine though how hard it can be, but I applaud you for what you do! That is tough but something you should be proud of for helping so many :)

    • OMG…that sounds horrible! I would totally feel the same way about that panda. If you ever come across it again, it sounds like it needs to go in the garbage!

      Thanks so much Rebecca! I really appreciate your kind words!

  3. That thing about black socks totally had me laughing out loud. I don’t actually remember wearing many black socks as a kid (they were always white of some kind of goofy ones), but now they’re pretty much the only colour I’ll wear. And a pet goose? Totally random! I actually have an irrational fear of birds. Well… maybe not so irrational — I remember being chased by a rooster when I was visiting my grandma in Poland when I was about 5 years old. Traumatized.for.life.

    • hahaha…I seriously cannot figure out where that black sock thing came from!!! It’s probably one of the weirdest fears ever!

      Yup, I don’t like birds either! In fact, I hate them. Maybe it stemmed from the whole Quackers thing, but I seriously want nothing to do with them now. And being chased by a rooster is horrifying! They can be SO mean!

  4. I love wearing black socks lol… and I also love that chaptstick, its the bomb! I always have my chapstick, or gloss, a pen, my wallet, and phone!

  5. #7 – Awww – so love #7! I talk to my mom on my drive in to work too – but not everyday!
    I was a vegetarian too – through high school and the first couple of years of college – then I came home and my mom had made her famous chicken curry – and well – as a college kid deprived of mom’s cooking, my will power wasn’t too strong!
    I am 5′ 3″ too { rounded up from 5′ 2.5″ :) } hehe!

    I don’t think I had any irrational fears as a child – my main fear was of the dark…and I still think I am gah! Four things I have in my purse are a beanie, chapstick, eos and my phone! Happy Monday

    • Sounds like we have a lot in common! Mom’s cooking (or grandma’s cooking) is the BEST right! Totally understandable eating meat again after your mom making her famous chicken curry. It sounds amazing!

  6. Haha the goose story is hilarious! I had a lot of pets growing up, but we never had a goose ;-) And I’m the same way with my glasses – I wear my contacts 95% of the time.

  7. WHITNEY ELIZABETH HOUSTON is singing in me always.
    She whispered.
    I love her forever!

    Ryoma.Japan

  8. That’s awesome that you’re 5’3! :) I never would have known! And Quackers!! How adorable. :)

  9. I have an irrational fear of cockroaches. I’m not sure why, but there you go. I’m in the oil business as an engineer.
    1. Wallet
    2. Hairbrush (addicted to brushing my hair)
    3. Chapstick (multiple tubes)
    4. Dental Floss

  10. Oh I like this! I love learning about the blogger behind the blog :) I think the goose story is so funny, my boyfriends friend has a duck and I always laugh when they talk about it. Their duck lives in the house and has full rain and her own bath tub.

  11. I’m really short too! But I can’t walk in heels, so I just have to embrace it haha.

  12. Awesome idea for a post – it’s nice to find out those odds and ends about other bloggers.
    The work you’re doing is great, Holly. I understand what you mean about it being draining so even more kudos to you helping many people.
    Fellow shorty, here. I’m 5’4 and still had the hardest time convincing my mum to let me buy anything but sneakers – meaning: anything with heels – when I was younger. Not so much fun being the almost shortest in school. A friend of mine was just 5’1, though, so I probably shouldn’t have complained.
    Four things that are always in my purse: phone, hand lotion, tissues and – yes – sanitizer. You’re not alone on that one. I’m actually surprised I only know few people who carry it around. Germs … ugh …

  13. so you’re saying i shouldn’t wear black socks around you when i meet you? hehe jk. And love that you talk to your mom every day!

  14. Quackers is a great name : ) I’m only 5’4 … but according to a lot of people I look taller and they don’t realize how short I am until I’m standing right next to them. Which I find strange lol. I work in college admissions and I always have that same lip balm in my purse!

  15. That black socks thing is too funny :)
    4 things always in my purse: dental floss (a must! I’m paranoid about things getting stuck in my teeth haha), chapstick AND lipgloss, my phone, and a book – I carry whatever I’m reading with me everywhere, “just in case!” haha

    • It’s definitely good to keep reading material in your purse. You never know if you’ll get stuck waiting around with nothing to do and if you do, at least you’ll have that option to read.

  16. I definitely wouldn’t have guessed that you are 5’3″! Isn’t it funny how we see people differently through their blogs? I always thought you were really tall… lol.

    I love the duck and the name. That’s really sweet!

    • hehe. Yeah that is funny how that happens. We see pics online, but I think sometimes they can be deceiving depending on who you’re standing next too, angles and if you’re wearing heels or not.

  17. As a kid, I was terribly fearful of elevators. My Mom says I got stuck in one when I was 2 or 3. That’s probably where it came from. I work as an IT consultant, but would really like to get out of it & do something normal. Consulting is great, but obligations outside of client work are always expected. 4 things always in my purse – ibuprofin, gum, a pen & headphones!

  18. The black socks! Hilarious!! Who knew fears could be like that :) Four things in my purse are my wallet, pens, chapstick, and lotion. Oh, tea bags too ;) haha I can imagine your job to be very tough. I can’t think about those stories and not have an emotion attached to them.

  19. A pet goose? That’s awesome! Although I was definitely scared of geese when I was younger – they’d come after us when we tried to feed the ducks at a pond near our house. And the black sock thing is hilarious.. so random!

  20. I didn’t even know that a goose could be a pet – fun!!!
    I don’t think I had any weird fears growing up (like black socks) but I have stuff I avoid now because of a bad/scary memory from growing up.

  21. Aww, Quackers is so adorable! I went the vegetarian route for 2 years, then I craved a burger.. Haha.

  22. I love learning random facts about other bloggers. Also, love the name Quackers!

  23. Aww quackers!

    I wouldn’t say it was a ‘fear’ as such but I hate the main light being on in rooms, especially the living room and bedroom. I much prefer being in a room where only lamps are on. Strange I know…!

    I am 6’1″ and would love to wear heels all the time but it just means I have to stoop down to talk to everyone!

  24. Aw, I loved getting to learn more about you. WHERE IS THIS GOOSE? I want it. Also… who are you? Black socks? Really? Hahahaha

    It’s ok, I was (and still am) afraid of balloons – I hate it when they pop.

  25. HAHAHA, I am dying over the Goose story and the fact that it hated you later on!! I love that eos lip balm!

  26. I love reading random things about people! I always have chap stick, oil absorbing pads (is this weird?!), and gum. That’s funny about the black socks. When I was little, I was terrified to ride in elevators as I thought they’d get stuck. I remember burying my head in my mom quite a few times, lol.

  27. I LOVE this. LOL Quackers hahah I can’t imagine having a pet duck. Four things that are always in my purse hmmm…EOS lip balm (the best!), hand lotion, water bottle, and a tennis ball in case I need to foam roll at work (don’t ask…so weird I know lol).

  28. Love this post!! I always have chapstick within arms reach – I especially love EOS. I have a pink one sitting on my desk at work right now. :)

  29. I had to comment based on number 1 alone. A pet goose? THAT IS ADORABLE.

  30. Love getting to know you better, lady! I love that EOS lip balm. I’m the same way about talking to my mom every day around the same time (like three times a day). Now for a hubby…

  31. This was so fun to read! I haven’t tried EOS lip balm but have heard so many good things that I might have to go pick some up! The black socks thing is hilarious. I have a friend who’s legitimately afraid of ketchup! :)

  32. Loved reading this! I was afraid of this painting of an old lady at the bottom of our stairs. Her eyes followed you! I scratched out her eyes which made her look even more scary. She then looked possessed!! I am a licensed esthetician at a medical spa and just adore my job! I always carry a hair serum to add shine to my hair throughout the day. (I love shiny thing!) Pepto bismal incase someone gets an upset stomach. (This habit started when my kids were little. The are young men now.) Lipstick.(Feel naked without my lips) And I am never with my SPF. (Never know when you need to reapply!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,278 other followers