WIAW #32 – Sweet Potato Breakfast Hash

51 Comments

Hello, hello! WIAW…always my favorite day of the week, so lets just get right to it! Thanks to Jenn for hosting!

After lots of positive feedback on my Sweet Potato Breakfast Hash I posted about last week, I decided that I’d write up an official recipe to share with you. I’ve been enjoying this healthy and satisfying hash for the past week or so now. Its been a perfect breakfast, but also works well as a lunch or dinner too (been eating a lot of brinner these days)!

Sweet Potato Breakfast HashThe preparation is very simple and takes no time at all once the veggies are cut. Plus, it’s a one skillet dish, so you don’t have to dirty too many dishes (I always love an easy clean-up!).

I love the combination of sweet potatoes, red bell peppers, red onions and parsley, and I think the Ghee really adds another dimension of flavor to the dish as well. Ghee is a fairly new product to me, but I’ve find it works the best when used to sautee veggies or make eggs. It has a rich buttery and nutty flavor that is just delicious.

HashAnd to complete the dish, top it off with a fried egg, and let all that golden liquid just ooze on into the sweet potato hash. OMG…amazing! The toasted Ezekiel bread really helps to sop up all that golden goodness! I have to credit Justin for adding pieces of toast to a potato hash. He has been doing this for a number of years now with a hash that he makes for himself for breakfast every weekend, and I loved it so much, that I  had to steel that idea from him. Thanks Justin! :-)

Hash3Sweet Potato Breakfast Hash

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium sweet potato (peeled and diced into 1/2 inch pieces)
  • 1/4 cup red bell pepper (diced)
  • 1/4 cup red onion (diced)
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
  • Sea salt/black pepper to taste
  • 1 tsp Ghee
  • 1 slice of Ezekiel bread (toasted)
  • 1-2 eggs

Directions:

  1. In a large skillet melt Ghee over medium heat. Add the diced sweet potato, red bell pepper and red onion and season with sea salt/black pepper. Cook, covered, for about 8 minutes or until the sweet potato is fork tender and lightly browned; turning once. Add in parsley and stir well.
  2. Push the potato mixture to the side and fry the egg(s).
  3. On a plate, cut the toasted Ezekiel bread into pieces, add the hash and top with the fried egg(s).

Enjoy!

What’s the best thing you ate this week?
Have you ever tried Ghee?
Favorite way to cook an egg?

51 thoughts on “WIAW #32 – Sweet Potato Breakfast Hash

  1. Aren’t you just a sweetheart for typing this fantastic recipe up for all of us. I know I was drooling when you first mentioned it =) I love cooking my eggs in a little coconut oil, cinnamon & a few drops of vanilla NuNaturals.

  2. Mmmm hello perfection! I love doing sweet potato hashes, but yours looks way better than any I’ve ever made. I like the idea to add parsley for that extra punch of flavour!

  3. This is such a great idea, I love sweet potatoes but definitely don’t eat them enough

  4. This looks and sounds delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  5. I’ve used ghee to make rose petal milk cakes

  6. Ahh thanks for the recipe! This looks delicious. I imagine I’d be eating this more for dinner than breakfast (I’m a lazy breakfast maker) but you’re right–the less dirty dishes the better ;)

  7. I never would have thought to use a piece of toast in a hash – that’s clever!

  8. That’s my kinda one-pan breakfast! I keep meaning to buy ghee myself…

  9. Oh yum! I ad a sweet potato hash once when Kevin and I stayed at a bed and breakfast for our anniversary. It was so yummy!!!

  10. Yum! This sounds like the perfect, hearty breakfast!

  11. That’s my kind of breakfast! Minus the bread :-)

  12. I love hash, also anythign involving eggs and sweet potato! This is my kind of dish for sure. I also love ezekiel bread, I have been aeting a ton of it lately, I need my carbs!

  13. This looks delicious, girl! I’m not sure I’m ready to give up my oaty breakfasts just yet, but I can definitely see this happening for lunch or dinner. Thanks for sharing! :D

  14. Despite the fact that I don’t eat eggs – which I’m sure could be left off here – this looks great. I’ve been having savoury breakfasts more often lately but they didn’t turn out picture-worthy so haven’t made an appearance on the blog.

  15. The best thing I had this week was a blueberry banana oat muffin I baked in the shape of a heart. Recipe will be up today or tomorrow. What exactly is ghee? I’ve never had it, but seeing it in a lot of recipes latetly.

  16. Yum!! I love sweet potatoes for breakfast! And you can never go wrong with a dippy egg!

  17. Mmmmm. I’ve never cooked with ghee, but I’m so intrigued about it! Dippy eggs + sweet potatoes = best combo ever. Love that you threw in some Ezekiel, too! Weeee!

  18. Wow, this looks amazing! I love the addition of torn up pieces of bread…YUM. I’ve never tried cooking with ghee before but I’m curious to try it.

  19. When you posted this I was hoping you’d share- hello whole30 (almost!) ;)

  20. I’m so glad you posted this! It looks awesome – especially with the bread in there! Great idea Justin! Will definitely need to try this out one weekend soon!

  21. Oh my goodness, THANK YOU. I was dying to know what the recipe was for this hash. I love sweet potatoes! Whippin’ this up possibly for breakfast or for a brinner. ;)

  22. Hash is my favorite!!! Come over for breakfast tomorrow?

  23. Soft boiled, poached eggs dribbling over roasted butternut squash or spinach… Mmmmmmm!!!!!! LOVE :)

  24. I love sweet potato hash and cook it all the time – I love how you can have it as the main part of a dish or have it with meat or fish and use it as a side. Its so versatile!
    Try grating your sweet potato and add some oregano works really well too and goes all crispy! :-)

  25. OMG(hee) that looks so yummy – I love getting lots of veggies in at breakfast! I love my eggs poached – but can’t do it myself! I need to learn how :)

    I’ve never tried ghee -but your description makes me want to try it!

  26. Pingback: . link love 2/16 . | . running with spoons .

  27. Pingback: I LOVE Carbs |

  28. Pingback: My Favorite Meal of the Day |

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,277 other followers