WIAW #38 – Give Me Some Cheesy Scones

32 Comments

Yup friends, I did it again…I tried another recipe! I just can’t help myself. I haven’t been feeling all that creative in the kitchen lately, so I’ve been relying a lot on tried and true recipes for our weekly meals and/or snacks. I should clarify, the recipe I’m reviewing today isn’t completely new to me seeing as I’ve made them two weeks in a row so far because I’ve loved them so much.

Thanks to Jenn for hosting the weekly link-up!

One morning I was having this craving for muffins with my eggs; although, I wasn’t really in the mood for a sweet muffin, so I was browsing my Pinterest boards and came across Arman’s recipe for his mom’s lightened up cheddar scones. I had pinned them ages ago, but had totally forgotten about. Luckily, I had all the ingredients at home already (with the exception of chives, so I just eliminated those) and grabbed everything I needed, threw the ingredients into a bowl, put the batter in the muffin tin and popped them in the oven. They were ready in no time!

Scones1I had a hard time waiting for them to a cool a bit because they smelled so darn good, so I ate them practically straight out of the oven. They were AMAZING, like crazy good, can’t stop eating them delicious! Cheese and carbs, can’t get better than that, right!?!

SconesHot, cheesy, flavorful, crunchy on the outside and soft and chewy on the inside – perfect comfort food. They’re more of a dense texture, which I loved because as a result, they’re also more filling.

Scones2They were perfect for breakfast with eggs, as a snack, eaten with soup or with any other meal. I froze the leftover scones to eat during the week and just popped them in the microwave for a few seconds to warm them up. You must, must give this a try!

Scones3AND now I know where Arman gets his awesome cooking abilities from! ;-)

Be sure and check out this recipe for these amazing cheddar scones HERE!

Do you prefer a savory or sweet muffin/scone?
What kind of side dishes do you enjoy eating with your eggs?
Where do you find your recipe inspiration?

32 thoughts on “WIAW #38 – Give Me Some Cheesy Scones

  1. Pinterest is my go-to place for recipes. I also find a ton of great stuff on other people’e blogs….which I then pin lol.

  2. I’m so glad they turned out well for you- and YES. How good are they microwaved- the cheese gets all melty! Ironically, with my eggs, I love a sweet muffin- the best of both worlds! :)

  3. I’m honestly thinking I might have to steal your WIAW recipe review idea the next time I don’t feel the cooking mojo myself. Like I said it’s great to hear how recipes worked for others.
    I’m usually a sweet muffin kind of girl but have been toying around with the idea of creating savoury ones for snacks. And cheese is obviously pretty awesome so I can see why you picked this recipe. Blogs and Pinterest are my main sources of recipe inspiration, too. If only the overload of inspiration didn’t make it so hard to choose…

  4. Can you believe that I don’t think I’ve ever had a savoury muffin? I typically go for chocolate chip or blueberry… And I’m usually a sweet oats for breakfast kind of girl, so when I think to make eggs for lunch/dinner it’s usually with toast or something. But I’m seriously loving the idea of cheesy scones so much more. Defintiely going to have to try this out!

    • I think this was actually the first savory muffin I’ve actually ever made and they definitely didn’t disappoint! Chocolate chip or blueberry are my usual go-to sweet muffins as well!

  5. cheesy scones?!?! YES PLEASE!!

  6. Cheese makes everything better! May need to try these out soon

  7. You’ve now inspired me to whip up some muffins to go along w/ my eggs in the morning :) Heading to the kitchen now.

  8. These look delicious! I was guilty of falling into a food rut, so I’m trying to rectify it with a new recipe every day this week!

  9. mmmm…scones. I don’t think I’ve ever made a savoury version! Usually, my eggs come on top of oats or with kabocha or sweet potato. Or on rice cakes!

  10. I not to time didn’t try salty scones. I will choose chocolate in 90% of cases… Or something with berries. Banana and blueberry – the best combination

  11. So, your scones completely drew me in from WIAW! I just like scones, period. Sweet, savory – I’m happy with both – all depends on my mood.

    I get my recipe inspiration from pinterest and will definitely pin this recipe :-)

  12. Oh gosh I love scones … they are my favorite breakfast treat to make! I’m pretty split between sweet and savory – depends on my mood! These sound fantastic!

  13. I really use Pinterest for storing recipes… that I never go back and make. It’s a bad habit, I seriously eat the same 4 things haha.

  14. Those totally sound like the cheddar biscuits from red lobster! Yumm they are my favorite! And I can imagine the smell!

  15. YUM! I love making scones. I made a batch of banana bread scones that I have been eating for breakfast all week. :-)

  16. I’m so sad that I’ve never made any of Arman’s recipes! This will have to be the first :) I love these reviews that you do–keep em’ coming!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,277 other followers