WIAW #40 – Getting My Appetite Back

55 Comments

Well, it’s been awfully long time since I joined the WIAW party, so today I’m excited to be linking up again! Thanks to Jenn for hosting!

After a few months of my appetite being completely wonky, in recent weeks it has finally started to come back and be a bit more on the normal side. I’ve found myself craving carbs and mayonnaisey type foods these days and that’s what yesterday’s eats consisted a lot of. Here’s a look!

Breakfast

Since I eat breakfast at work during the week, baked oatmeal is one of the easiest things to bring with me. I make a big batch over the weekend, then put it into containers, heat it up and top it off with some fresh fruit and nut butter. For the past two weeks, I’ve been eating Courtney’s Apple Cinnamon Raisin Baked Oatmeal and oh, is it deeelicious! It’s so simple to make, super tasty and very satisfying. I’ve been topping mine with a sliced banana and a spoonful of cashew butter.

Baked Apple Oatmeal (1)A.M. Snack

This past Sunday, my dad surprised me with a loaf of Easter Bread. Gosh is this stuff good! I brought a slice with me to work, which I toasted. I usually put a smear of butter on it, but I didn’t have any at work – it still tasted just as yummy though! If you’re not familiar with Easter bread, the main flavor of it is anise, which seems to be an acquired taste for some people. I happen to love, but Justin isn’t a fan. Sorry though, I can’t give out the recipe…family secret.

Easter BreadLunch

A cheese sandwich on Ezekiel bread with mayo (of course), a side of broccoli salad (I loosely used this recipe, but made modifications based on what I had on hand) and some fresh watermelon.

Cheese SandwichP.M. Snack 

An organic gala apple, pecans and a couple of dried figs.

Apple and PecansDinner

Leftovers Monday night’s dinner and boy was it yummy! A healthier version of fettucine alfredo (I loosely followed this recipe), Amy’s grain free chicken bites (with ketchup) and a side of peas.

Alfredo Dinner What foods are you craving lately?
What are your favorite oatmeal toppings?
What kinds of lunches do you typically bring to work?

KEEP IN TOUCH!

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Bloglovin’

55 thoughts on “WIAW #40 – Getting My Appetite Back

  1. My work lunches need a makeover….lately, it’s been the same- potatoes or pumpkin with chicken or beef and roasted brussels. Or a huge frittata! I also eat breakfast at my desk and have been obsessed with this super simple oatmeal ball recipe- I’ll have to share it soon! That bake looks delicious!

  2. Yay! I’m so happy your appetite is finally coming back. Bring on the nut butter again :] Whenever I was working in the States, I actually always went home on my lunch break as I lived a minute drive away basically… so yup, it was w/e I felt like. Somtimes I picked up Subway though.

    BTW – I tried calling you today but it went straight to vm.

    • Me too! Oh that’s awesome! I wish my office was closer to home, so I could go home for lunch!

      Hmmm…my phone was probably off. It’s on now, so call me anytime – works slow today.

  3. Anise? Even though I’ve had it in bread before, too, the first thing that comes to my mind every time I hear/ read about it are my dad’s favourite anise Christmas cookies. My aunt and grandma ship us a package with homemade cookies that are originated in the part of Germany my dad grew up in. And the anise baisers are a must always coming with a note saying ‘for dad’. He’d be disappointed if they were ever missing from the package. Like your dad’s bread the recipe for those cookies is a family secret. Aren’t those dishes the best?!
    Soups, stews and chilis are my go-tos when it comes to work lunches. Because they’re filling and keep warm best in my thermos. Not to mention easy to throw together in a pinch.

    • Those cookies sound to die for! Anise is really one of my favorite all time flavors! It’s so delicious! And yes, I love those recipes that just stay within the family. It makes them so much more special!

  4. I think that one of my favourite things about being able to work from home is the fact that I don’t need to worry about packing lunches. That used to be the bane of my existence since I never knew what I was going to want or how much I’d need to get me through the afternoon. But ABJs were definitely always a favourite :D

    • That definitely is a plus! Packing lunch is highly annoying! ABJs sound like a great idea though! I’m definitely going to bring one if I’m struggling for lunch inspiration.

  5. I have to admit, it’s so rare that i have to pack a lunch these days that I kind of forget how and how much food to bring! Favourite oatmeal toppings: peanut butter and jam.

    • hehe…I could see that if it’s something you don’t always do. I’ve actually never tried jam on oatmeal, but it sounds like a great idea. Definitely need to give that a try!

  6. Lately I have been craving fruit! Tons of it. I have been having a big platter of cherries, an orange, and a banana for breakfast this last week. Has been so yummy! I love peanut butter & blue berries and pecans for my oatmeal. When I work outside the home I always bring a salad. Not sure why but it is just so easy. Since I’m a teacher I can eat it at my desk without having to heat anything up and I can walk around iwth it if I have a meeting or something lol

  7. My favorite oatmeal toppings are bananas, berries, and nut butter!!

  8. Yum, yum, YUM! I love me some carbs :)
    So glad you’ve been enjoying the baked oatmeal! I really need to make that again ASAP

  9. I’ve been craving peas oddly enough haha and red peppers! I love how sweet they are and that crunch is great!
    I love adding some crunchy granola to my oats :)

  10. I always eat breakfast at my desk too, it’s usually oatmeal or banana bread and fruit. Amy’s chicken bites are one of my new favorites!

  11. Only just realised I have been eating a lot of peas lately! Oh well, they are very tasty so I don’t mind!

    Dates, I never ever stop craving dates! I’m addicted!

  12. Yay for peas! Also, I now have a serious craving for watermelon.. thank you for that ;)

  13. For some reason, that cheese sammie on Ezekiel sounds SO good right now! Lovely eats!

  14. favorite oatmeal toppings – nut butter, cinnamon, raisins, banana, honey! mmm!

  15. So glad your appetite’s back! Feeling sick and/or not knowing what sounded good first trimester really messed with me. You’d think, with being pregnant, I’d have pretty noticeable cravings, but lately not really. I can finally eat oatmeal again, which I love putting apples, cinnamon, and butter in.

    • Yes, I know exactly what you mean! I had days when literally nothing appealed to me. It was so hard! I’m glad you can finally eat oatmeal again, and your toppings sound delicious!!

  16. That baked oatmeal looks soooo good, and I totally agree that it is one of the easiest things to make on the weekend and then bring with you when you’re on the go. Super delicious! And as for what I am craving lately… lots and lots of nut butters! And jam– which is weird, because I usually really dislike jam!! Funny. Xo!

  17. So glad you made the chicken nuggets! Hope you liked them

  18. My sweet tooth has been out of control lately! I’ve really been craving some sweeter snacks, no idea why! I’ll definitely have to check out that baked oatmeal recipe!

  19. My favorite oatmeal toppings are peanut butter & jam or cranberry sauce. Tahini is another fave!

  20. I eat oatmeal at my desk as well. I’ve been topping with chia seeds, natural peanut butter (crunchy!) and a banana. As a bit of a splurge, I also have some Mayver’s nut butter spread that has chia and sesame seeds in it. It’s great but I think only available in Australia.

    Lunches have been pretty boring as of late. A large salad with some roasted veggies, olive oil, and chicken breast.

  21. I still have yet to try cashew butter! I’m obsessed with PB and almond butter. For lunch, I usually like to have a salad with whatever veggies I have.

  22. I loved seeing your daily eats. I’ve been craving salads now that it’s getting warmer. I wish I liked oatmeal…it is such a simple and healthy way to start the day!

  23. Well, now I’m craving that oatmeal! Holy delicious. I’m glad to hear you got your appetite back! I think you should come around with some of these family recipes though. You keep teasing us with pictures!! ;)

  24. Is it strange that I crave carrots? Nutbutter or seed butter of some type is must for oatmeal. Yum! Work meals are a variety but almost always a leftover.

    It feels good to get back to normal doesn’t it :)

  25. Pingback: Totally Random Bits of Info #15 |

  26. Ahhh i barely every see anyone say wonky anymore :) I miss that word! Glad it is coming back to you though! I really love the look of that oatmeal! I need to give it a try asap! YUM!

  27. Aah, you’re pregnant! Congratulations! :)

    So happy to hear that and that your appetite is back! I hope the alfredo came out okay. I’m super addicted to that stuff. I’ve made it about twice a week for the last month.

    Thanks a bunch for the mention!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,274 other followers