It’s a Liebster Kind of Day

33 Comments

You may be wondering, what the heck I’m talking about with that title, huh!? Well, a few weeks ago, I was nominated for the Liebster Award by Amanda @ Night Owl Kitchen and Penny @ Music of the Mind Body and Spirit! Thank you so much for the nomination ladies! I’m truly honored!

LiebsterAwardIf you don’t already know, it’s a way to recognize other blogs and show them some love. However, seeing as I’ve been nominated for the Liebster Award before and I received 2 nominations this time around, I’m going to do things a little differently. I’m going to answer 5 questions each from both Amanda and Penny, then leave the “floor” open to all of you to answer any of the questions that you would like. Okay, here we go!

Questions from Amanda

1.  What is the inspiration behind your blog? The original inspiration behind EGBG was to share my passion for all things health and fitness related; however, over this past year it’s evolved into something more than that. It’s now a place to not only share those passions, but it’s also become a lifestyle blog where I love to share glimpses into my personal life along with inspiration, motivation and whatever else I feel like writing about. Anything goes at this point!

2.  What can you absolutely not live without?  Well, I would have to say my EOS lip balm! My lips are forever chapped, so I use this stuff constantly. I have one in my purse, on my nightstand, in the kitchen and at work. Yeah…I’m obsessed! ;-) Oh and below are my three favorite flavors!

EOS Collage3.  Where would you love to travel to and stay for a month? Absolutely, most definitely, Italy! My family is from Italy (although, I wasn’t born there, my mom was). I’ve only had the chance to visit there one time, but we still have quite a few family members there and I would LOVE to go back one of these days.

Flag_of_Italy

4.  If money were no object, what kind of good would you do for others? I would definitely do something that helps children who, specifically, are homeless or have been victimized in some way or another.

5.  Any advice for new bloggers? BE real – BE relatable – BE yourself! This makes all the difference in the world in having a successful blog.

Questions from Penny

1.  What is your most favorite movie and why? I’ve definitely mentioned this movie a few times before, but it’s The Darjeeling Limited. Firstly, I love Wes Anderson’s movies in general, but this one in particular is so well acted and well written. I love the subtle humor and the witty dialogue. It’s just all around a great movie!

2.  What do you hope to achieve within the next year? First and foremost, I want to achieve a healthy (and uneventful) pregnancy and once the babies have arrived, I hope to become a successful parent and eventually establish a schedule for us and the babies.

3.  What is one healthy food you absolutely can not live without? That would have to be QUINOA! It’s such a versatile food – you can eat it hot, you can eat it cold, you can eat it as a savory dish, you can eat it as a sweet dish – the list goes on and on. In fact, check out these recipes for Red Pepper and Black Bean Quinoa Salad and Winter Vegetable Quinoa (I’d totally still make this in the summer, so long as I could find butternut squash).

Winter Vegetable Quinoa24.  What is your strongest desire in this life? I have a few and they’re all very simple – to be healthy, to be happy, to enjoy life, to love my family, to live simply and appreciate the little things.

5.  You are on a stranded island and can only take three things. What are they? Hmmm…well, I’m going to try and think of some useful things that I’ll need as opposed to my EOS lip balm, flat iron and moisturizer. ;-) Okay, lets be serious now…I’ll take a knife, some rope and matches. Now that sounds more practical, doesn’t it!?!

Alright friends, now it’s your turn – pick as many questions as you’d like and answer them!

KEEP IN TOUCH!

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Bloglovin’

33 thoughts on “It’s a Liebster Kind of Day

  1. Congratulations! Love quinoa and must try those lip balms…they look yummy ;)

  2. Yeah, I can’t live without quinoa either! :) It really does go with everything and can pick up the flavor of everything around it! :) I want to go to Italy next year SO BADLY. I swear, I’m going to make it a reality ASAP!

  3. I love your blogging tip- that is SO important and something which we should all strive to be ;)

    We have the same lip balm. Kidding, but when I was 5, I ate my cousins coca cola lipsmacker.

  4. Yes, being real and relatable are so important, I agree! And your mom was born in Italy? Wow, that means you could get dual citizenship if you wanted to, right? (I know it’s a long process, but wow!). I love Italy :) Hope you had a good weekend, Holly!

  5. The first action I took after reading this post: search for ways of finding EOS lip balm over here. If it’s something you can’t live without I as a fellow chapstick addict shouldn’t really either, right?! (: Plus it seems like I need to order more than one…?
    Where I want to travel? Many places but right up on top are the US and preferably not just for a month but to work there. A girl can and should have dreams (:.

  6. I totally see the Italian in you from your photos. That’d be a neat place to visit; my dream vacation is a Mediterranean cruise wherein we go to Italy, Greece, and some of the smaller islands around there.

  7. Italy is definitely high on my list of places to visit – I’ve never been to Europe, but when I do Italy will most definitely be a stop ;-)

  8. LOVE eos lip balm! I can’t live without my Tervis at work…it makes me drink so much more water throughout the day! I would love to go to Australia for a month to live – I feel like it’s a place you normally would never get a chance to go!

  9. I love posts like this! My absolute favorite movie is Father of the Bride. It’s such a classic, and to me it never gets old!

  10. i haven’t made quinoa in too long – you’re right, itz SO versatile!

  11. I love the EOS balms! But then again, I love chap stick in general. Seriously… I think I probably have about 15 different ones and they’re literally everywhere. Hand cream too. A little much, but there’s just something about dry skin/lips that gives me the heebie jeebies!

  12. Italy is beautiful – David and I went to Florence and surrounding Tuscany – can’t wait to go back one day!

    Favourite movie – The Blues Brothers – I know all the words, love the songs and have learned many lessons from the movie – I.e. It’s perfectly acceptable to wear your shades in the dark!

  13. I would love to go to Italy too! Will you take me with you when you go? I’ll help you with the babies. :)

  14. I just jumped on to the EOS bandwagon too! I am enjoying their summer fruit flavor! Honestly, I wish I could eat these things!

    I definitely want to travel to Italy! I went there when I was in high school but there is a bike tour that I want to do now. It will most definitely have to wait until at least next year though!

    If I had some extra cash I would support the arts. As a society we spend so much money on sports and other products, I would really try to promote the arts more.

    • I bike tour in Italy sounds amazing! What a great way to see and experience the landscape!

      Love your idea of promoting the arts! That’s definitely something that’s been thrown to the wayside these days.

  15. Oh I love those lip balms too! I have one at work, my purse and my car as well haha! I just had to tell you that my family is originally from Italy too! I am totally dying to go there one day as well !

  16. Ok your island answer is way smarter than anything I would’ve come up with… ummmm my laptop lol HELPFUL.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,276 other followers