Crazy for Honey

17 Comments

Honey is one of my most favorite foods!  My dad used to have beehives years ago and would process his own honey.  Unfortunately, I was too little to really remember or appreciate it, but I would totally love to learn how to do it one day (and maybe have my own hive!).  This fabulous liquid gold comes from bees…mother nature is truly amazing!?!

Honey

I love honey in smoothies, on cereal, in oatmeal, on toast, in tea, as a sugar replacement in baked goods…I could go on forever, but I don’t want to bore you! :)  Essentially…I use it all the time, for everything!  It’s a delicious and a healthier alternative to white sugar.  Here are some of the benefits:

  • Raw honey acts as an anti-bacterial, anti-viral and anti-fungal substance.
  • It can help relieve a cough.
  • It may promote better blood sugar control.
  • It boosts immunity.
  • It’s a good energy source.
  • It can help heal wounds (I’ve also used it to relieve itchy bug bites).
  • It’s a good source of antioxidents.
  • It can be helpful for those with high cholesterol and type 2 diabetes.

BTW…I’ve also used raw honey on my face to help keep my skin free from blemishes (leave on for 20 minutes a few times a week).  This stuff is so versatile and tastes great…it’s amazing!

Reference: Honey by the World’s Healthiest Foods

17 thoughts on “Crazy for Honey

  1. They say local honey is also good for thwarting allergies. Apparently the local bees have already been in touch with all the pollen and plants in the area so eating the local honey builds up an immunity to the local pollens. Have a great weekend.

  2. Honey is amazing, isn’t it? I think I saw that skin tip awhile ago somewhere else, but thanks for reminding me!

  3. I love honey too! And I also heard the same as what Meghan wrote, that it helps with allergies.
    I’ve read that you have to be careful what kind of honey you are buying though because the U.S. has imported some that might have illegal antibiotics in it (originating from China). I actually read that in Women’s Health several months ago.

  4. I LOVE honey! Just bought an enormous jar of local honey. Maybe I’ll try it as a face mask soon!

  5. I’m the same way, Holly! I’d love to have my own beehive. We had “dressers” up on the mountain side of our property growing up. Ah, the good old days! I love using honey for a lot of things. Great post!

  6. Holly, I always daydream about having my own hives for bees. Looks intimidating, but so rewarding too. So glad to have found your great site!

  7. I love honey! Sometimes I eat it by the spoonful!

  8. Pingback: 10 Holistic Cold Remedies |

  9. Pingback: My Pantry Staples Part 1 |

  10. Pingback: WIAW #39 – What’s in My Work Snack Drawer? |

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,139 other followers