Our Weekend in PA Dutch Country – Day 3 and 4

6 Comments

Okay…so I was really bad about taking pics of breakfast!  I’m ashamed to say I didn’t get any, but I can at least tell you what we had.  It was all amazing and we loved every bit of it!

Day 3 breakfast included fresh fruit, eggs florentine (so delicious!), fresh blueberry muffins and mini cranberry muffins.

After breakfast Justin and I went to the Wolf Sanctuary of PA, which was only about 5 minutes away from the B & B.  They were having a festival that included some crafters, food and a band, and of course, we got to see the wolves.

Wolf Collage

A little bit about the wolf sanctuary…The wolves our housed among approximately 20 acres of natural woodland (it’s quite secluded).  The sanctuary originally started as a private rescue, but now also serves as an educational facility.  They offer refuge to wolves who have found themselves without a place in the natural world, and are provided with food, shelter and veterinary care.  The wolves seemed well-cared for, and their handlers seemed attached to them, as much as the wolves were attached to the handlers.

There wasn’t much choice for food while at the sanctuary, but I was happy when I stumbled upon the tent for vegetable soup and a hand-rolled pretzel.  Surprisingly, the soup was pretty tasty and the pretzel was yummy too!

Lunch

By the p.m., the weather started to turn and it started to get cool and rainy, so Justin and I decided to go see the new Star Trek movie!  It was awesome!  If you haven’t already seen it, I would highly recommend it!

ticket

After the movie we decided to go Asian for dinner and ate at Mojo Lancaster.  We didn’t know much about this restaurant, but it turned out to be really good!

I started off with the green salad and miso soup.  We also got the crispy Thai rolls as an appetizer.  These rolls were amazing and we gobbled them up pretty quickly!

Appetizer

For dinner, Justin got the Thai Roast Duck, which was slices of five spice flavored duck, stir fried with basil in a spicy sauce.  This was the first time Justin ate duck, but he liked it quite a bit.

JH Dinner

I, of course, got sushi rolls.  I got an avocado and peanut roll.  I can’t remember the name of the 2nd roll, but it had tempura shrimp, avocado and caviar and strawberry sauce drizzled over the top.  This roll was absolutely amazing…I loved it!  The presentation, as always, was beautiful…

Rolls

When we got back to the B & B, we were excited (more like I was excited!) to find two pieces of the PB chocolate cake left from the night before.  A perfect end to our great meal!

Day 4 breakfast included fresh fruit, baked strawberry and rhubarb oatmeal (we loved this!) and scrambled eggs, bacon and potatoes.

After breakfast, we packed our things and headed home.  It was a very rainy and dreary Sunday, but the weather didn’t stop us from getting home at a decent hour.

Justin and I had a wonderful time in Lancaster County, but we both agreed…it was nice to be home.  Plus, I was having major smoothie and Zumba withdrawal!  Now this week, I need to get back on track and get back to my healthy eating plan! ;-)

6 thoughts on “Our Weekend in PA Dutch Country – Day 3 and 4

  1. That pretzel looks awesome!! I LOVE salty snacks :)

  2. Wolves are my absolute favorite animals, and seeing those pictures makes me think of the time I visited a wolf sanctuary up here in Golden, BC. It was great to be able to see them up close, especially because they seemed to be so comfortable and happy in their environment. And as hard as it can be to get back to routine after a vacation, there’s always a big part of me that’s happy to be home… especially when it comes to being able to use my own bathroom and bed!

  3. That pretzel looks delicious!!! I would have loved to have seen those wolves .. what a great trip!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,139 other followers