Power Foods Friday

38 Comments

Friday’s here again!  Woohoo!!!

Since summer is officially here, I think it’s fitting to talk about coconut!  I love raw coconut, I love coconut flakes, I love coconut butter, I love coconut milk and water, I love coconut scented anything.  I don’t know…can you tell I’m a coconut fanatic!?! ;-)  Oh yes, and I love coconut oil…the focus of today’s Power Foods Friday!

Coconut Collage

Coconut oil is amazingly versatile, and has some absolutely wonderful health AND beauty benefits/uses.  Take a look…

Benefits of Coconut Oil{image source}

Are these benefits/uses amazing or what!?!  Well, this certainly justifies my love for coconut oil! ;-)

My favorite way to use coconut oil are in my baking and cooking, I add it to my smoothies and I use it as a moisturizer for my face and body.

This is my favorite brand of coconut oil:

Coconut Oil

For even more coconut oil tips, check out this website.

Are you a coconut fan?

What are your favorite ways to use coconut oil?

38 thoughts on “Power Foods Friday

  1. Whoa you read my mind- I’ve actually been wondering what’s the best brand of coconut oil! Alright, problem solved, I’m going to buy that kind. and i had no idea about some of the health benefits listed on that chart. bug repellent? awesome! I’m obsessed with coconut flakes- they’re my favorite thing to put on froyo.

  2. Yes! Ever since I started buying coconut oil a few months ago, it’s hard to imagine my life without it. Seriously- moisturizer, veggie fryer, great in cookies, quick breads, salads…so many possibilities.
    And yes, I am wild about coconut scented anything!
    Happy Friday :)

  3. Good to know all those benefits! I mainly use it for moisturizing. I occasionally get eczema and it helps with that. Never really used it much in cooking though! My favorite brand is Trader Joe’s- it’s only about 5 bucks there.

  4. I loooooove coconut oil. My favorite way to use it is making homemade chocolate! It’s so easy – I just stir melted coconut oil with a little cocoa powder and powdered sugar and pop it in the fridge. MHM!

  5. Well who know coconut oil was so good for you!!! We use it pretty often but I hadnt’ seen so many stats on it!

  6. Coconut is definitely one of my favourite foods/flavours. I use coconut oil in alot of my granola bar recipes but you are now reminding me that I just ran out and need to replenish my stash.

  7. I LOVE all things coconut. It’s like my favorite food of all time. Which makes me happy when studies come out that coconut oil is good for us;) I think I use it in just aout everything.

  8. I am obsessed with coconut. Seriously, my fiance hates it and I add it to everything! It’s a power struggle..

  9. I’ve been using coconut on a regular basis for a few years now, and I -love- it. It’s so great to cook/bake with, and I love putting it on toast with some honey and cinnamon, or melt it over sweet potatoes. Other than that, I use it a lot in my beauty routine as well. It makes such a great moisturizer, and I’ll use it in my hair once a week before washing it for a really nice conditioning treatment :)

  10. I love coconut oil. I use it to brush my teeth and my mom uses it on her face. I’ve tried using it on my face but since I have acne it usually just makes it worse. That’s interesting about the keratosis pilaris though! I think I have a case of that on both my arms and legs so that would be awesome if the coconut oil could get rid of that. I’ll need to look more into it :)

  11. Coconut oil is amazing! I love it. Great chart too! I want to try to start baking with it more often too.

  12. I’ve just started getting into experimenting with coconut oil and I am definitely loving it so far. And now I have even more ways to use it : ) Happy Friday!!

  13. Coconuts are right up there with raspberries for me! Who knew coconut oil had so many health benefits?!

  14. Coconut everything is a must for me! I’ve heard coconut oil is AMAZING in granola bars! So healthy too!

  15. I love coconut, but have never tried coconut oil. I didn’t know it has so many health benefits. I bake and cook a lot and definitely will start incorporating it into my recipes.

  16. I love coconut! I like using coconut oil to make cookies or raw desserts. And I actually just started using it as a moisturizer this year – it’s fantastic!

  17. I tried a recipe with coconut oil this week and it failed, but I want to try again because it’s so good for you. Plus, it smells amazing. When I opened the jar, I was in heaven!

  18. I’m obsessed with coconut oil – more for the beauty aspects than for anything else though ;) I use it on my hair when I leave it curly and put it on my feet daily to keep my tootsies smooth in the summer months! I love it!

  19. Loved reading about all the awesome benefits of Coconut Oil. Thanks! I usually saute my vegetables in coconut oil, or I’ll add it to my smoothies. So good!

  20. Pingback: My Pantry Staples Part 1 |

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,139 other followers